How to Cheer Up Dad

Written and illustrated by Fred Koehler

1234567
6.0

A hilarious book about parent and child relationships for fans of Ian Falconer and Jon Agee–a perfect gift idea for Father’s Day and beyond! Little Jumbo just can’t understand why his dad is having such a bad day. It couldn’t be the raisins Little Jumbo spit out at the ceiling or the bath he refused to take–after all, Little Jumbo’s dad knew he hated raisins and had already taken a bath that week! Luckily, Little Jumbo is such a thoughtful elephant that he decides to turn his dad’s bad day around with some of his–ahem, his dad’s–favorite things. How to Cheer up Dad is a standout debut featuring a charmingly oblivious little elephant with serious pluck and staying power. It turns the parent-child roles upside down is a great book for dads and the kids who make them laugh.

It's Tough to Lose Your Balloon

Written and illustrated by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

1234567
4.3

Lost balloons. Melted ice cream. Babysitters. Life as a kid can be pretty daunting. But don’t let these troubles get you down. With the right attitude, a hurdle can become a hammock and an obstacle can become an opportunity! Veteran picture book creator Jarrett J. Krosoczka teaches kids to look on the bright side of things. With lively illustrations and spot-on humor, It’s Tough to Lose Your Balloon champions resilience and helps children navigate childhood indignities while making them laugh at the same time.

Melvin the Luckiest Monkey

Written and illustrated by Claudia Boldt

Melvin is certain he’s the unluckiest monkey in the world. He’s run out of bananas, thinks he has a terrible disease, and decides nobody can help, not even his best friend, Pete. What ensues is a tale of true friendship, devotion, and the importance of making your own luck. With wonderful line-drawn and color illustrations, Claudia Boldt creates a unique cast of characters in this humorous and sweet story.

The Wrong Side of the Bed

Written by Lisa Bakos and illustrated by Anna Raff

When you wake up on the wrong side of the bed, there’s just no getting around it: The porcupine under the covers will insist on snuggling (oww); penguins will make bubbles in your bath (eww); and a crocodile will probably need to borrow your toothbrush (no, thanks). It’s just going to be that sort of day. Unless, that is, you decide to do something about it. A whimsical assortment of havoc-wreaking critters is here to inspire Lucy—and readers—to turn their all-wrong days into all-right ones.

Pass It on

Written and illustrated by Sophy Henn

Here’s a fun idea: When you laugh or smile–pass it on! A story about giving, sharing, and joy. When you see something terrific, smile a smile and pass it on! If you chance upon a chuckle, hee hee hee and pass it on. Should you spot a thing of wonder, jump for joy and pass it on! So begins Sophy Henn’s ode to the excitement of sharing happiness with others. With a refrain that begs to be uttered before every turn of the page, children will eagerly read alongside their parents as they discover how wonderful–and fun!–it is to share the good things in life. After all, if you spread happiness to others, even on a gray, rainy day, when you least expect it, like a bolt out of the blue, a smile or a chuckle might be passed right back to you! This heartwarming, upbeat book is the perfect way to bring a warm ray of sunshine into every reader’s life.

Construction Cat

Written by Barbara Odanaka and illustrated by Sydney Hanson

Cats in hard hats make work seem like play in this cheery, rhyming picture book about building something and having a loving family to share your accomplishments with. Construction cat wakes up at dawn, grabs her boots and tugs them on… It’s time to build! Tail high, Construction Cat kisses her family goodbye and goes to work with the other cats on a construction site. They lug lumber and pound nails, they saw, sand, and sweep the dust, all to build a truly paw-some park that they can’t wait to share with friends and family! Sydney Hanson’s lively and lovable cats combined with Barbara Odanaka’s rhythmic story create a universal story that is a joy to read again and again.

The Pout-Pout Fish Look-and-Find Book

Written by Deborah Diesen and illustrated by Dan Hanna

An interactive seek-and-find book, starring the New York Times-bestselling Pout-Pout Fish and all his friends! The bestselling Pout-Pout Fish series now includes a seek-and-find book! Young guppies will delight in searching for Mr. Fish, his friends, and a playful collection of objects hidden in the pictures. Each page is packed with undersea artwork, and points out specific items or characters for readers to find. The Pout-Pout Fish Look-and-Find Book is sure to keep fans entertained for hours, and turn little pouts into big smiles!

Terrific

Written and illustrated by Jon Agee

When grumpy Eugene wins a free cruise to Bermuda, he thinks he knows just what to expect: a really nasty sunburn. But instead, after a shipwreck, he finds himself stranded on a tiny island with no one—except for a parrot with a busted wing. “Terrific,” says Eugene. “What good is a parrot?” It turns out a parrot is good for a lot, including planning a very elaborate escape. And when the castaways are rescued by a team of fishermen, it’s Eugene’s turn to be kind to his new friend.

The Pout-Pout Fish

Written by Deborah Diesen and illustrated by Dan Hanna

As the pout-pout fish swims along in the ocean, he discovers that being glum and spreading the "dreary wearies" isn't much fun anymore--especially when his true destiny is revealed!

A Day with Parkinson's

Written by A. Hultquist and illustrated by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff

Ever since Grandpa got Parkinson's, Noah has noticed he hasn't been the same. He doesn't have as much energy as he used to, and sometimes when he's excited or happy, he can't smile. Noah worries that Parkinson's is his fault, but Grandpa assures him it's not—and it won't stop him from having fun at the beach!

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More