Best Children's Books About Construction

16 Amazing Books for Your Child Who Loves Construction

Updated Jan. 29, 2019

Construction lovers will delight in these playful (and also informative!) books about construction sites, workers and of course... trucks! This list will help you revisit a classic like Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site or discover a hidden gem like Old McDonald Had a Truck. Whatever you're looking for, get ready for some rough and tough construction play!

Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site book
#1
Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site
Written by Sherri Duskey Rinker and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The #1 New York Times bestseller As the sun sets behind the big construction site, all the hardworking trucks get ready to say goodnight. One by one, Crane Truck, Cement Mixer, Dump Truck, Bulldozer, and Excavator finish their work and lie down to rest—so they'll be ready for another day of rough and tough construction play! With irresistible artwork by best-selling illustrator Tom Lichtenheld and sweet, rhyming text, this book will have truck lovers of all ages begging for more.

The Construction Crew book
#2
The Construction Crew
Written by Finn Coyle and illustrated by Srimalie Bassani
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5
Thoughts from B is for Bookworm

Such a fun construction-themed book, with so many neat vehicles! The fact that it's a lift-the-flap book makes it so fun, because you get to guess what each vehicle does. I also think the illustrations in this book are very cute, and loved that there were vocabulary words for the parts on all of the machines.

There are countless machines that help out on a construction site. Everything from a bulldozer to a crane has a very special job. Do you know what it is? Lift the page to learn about what each machine does and discover what happens when they all work together!

Old MacDonald Had a Truck book
#3
Old MacDonald Had a Truck
Written by Steve Goetz and illustrated by Eda Kaban
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Thoughts from The Book Snob Mom

Super cute and original take on the classic Old MacDonald, jam packed with awesome trucks and other construction vehicles! Super fun to sing or just read out loud and adorable illustrations. I particularly enjoyed when the E-I-E-I-O transitioned throughout the book to different sounds and actions associated with each new truck (E-I-E-I-mow!) and the big reveal at the end of what Old MacDonald and all his helpers created.

Old MacDonald had a farm E-I-E-I-O. And on that farm he had a...TRUCK?! With a DIG DIG here and a SCOOP SCOOP there, this classic folk song just got revved up! Beloved machines—the excavator, dump truck, bulldozer, and more—will have the vehicle-obsessed of all ages reading and singing along.

Iggy Peck, Architect book
#4
Iggy Peck, Architect
Written by Andrea Beaty and illustrated by David Roberts
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9
Thoughts from The Book Snob Mom

A fun take on a little bit different side of construction... architecture! This spunky young architect has a penchant for designing and building, and even when he feels his dreams have been a little bit squashed he rises to the occasion when it presents itself. A great story about dreaming big, following your passion and believing in yourself. I also love how much fun it is to read aloud with the rhythm of the text.

This beloved New York Times bestselling picture book is a fun-filled, inspiring story about the power of teamwork and the importance of celebrating individual gifts and self-expression. And now you can follow Iggy’s further adventures—with his friends Rosie Revere and Ada Twist—in the instant New York Times bestseller Rosie Revere and the Raucous Riveters, an all-new chapter book starring The Questioneers! Some kids sculpt sand castles. Some make mud pies. Some construct great block towers. But none are better at building than Iggy Peck, who once erected a life-size replica of the Great Sphinx on his front lawn! It’s too bad that few people appreciate Iggy’s talent—certainly not his second-grade teacher, Miss Lila Greer. It looks as if Iggy will have to trade in his T square for a box of crayons . . . until a fateful field trip proves just how useful a mast builder can be.

B Is for Bulldozer book
#5
B Is for Bulldozer
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3
Thoughts from B is for Bookworm

This is the perfect alphabet book for little construction lovers! What I really liked about this book is that it has more of a story rather than just showing different construction vehicles.

As children watch over the course of a year, builders construct a rollercoaster using tools and materials that begin with each letter of the alphabet.

Mighty, Mighty Construction Site book
#6
Mighty, Mighty Construction Site
Written by Sherri Duskey Rinker and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6
Thoughts from Mr. Stacatto

Not as cute as the original Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site, but still a great read if you've got a little one that likes construction vehicles. This sequel introduces 5 additional construction workers and focuses on teamwork between the original and new trucks. It ends with the trucks bedding down for the night and a fun throwback to the original book.

At last—here from the team behind the beloved international bestseller comes a companion to Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site. All of our favorite trucks are back on the construction site—this time with a focus on team-building, friendship, and working together to make a big task seem small! Down in the big construction site, the crew faces their biggest job yet, and will need the help of new construction friends to get it done. Working as a team, there's nothing they can't do! The millions of fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site are in for a mighty good time!

Construction book
#7
Construction
Written by Sally Sutton and illustrated by Brian Lovelock
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Thoughts from The Book Snob Mom

This is a super cute construction book, filled with onomatopoeia and rhymes that click off the tongue. I love how many different aspects of construction they show, including interior finishing work, and that they're building a library!

Big machines and their drivers work together to build a library.

Roadwork book
#8
Roadwork
Written by Sally Sutton and illustrated by Brian Lovelock
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Big machines and their drivers work together to build a road.

Dive In! book
#9
Dive In!
Written by April Jones Prince and illustrated by Michelle Berg
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3
Thoughts from The Book Snob Mom

At first glance you may see a bunch of mice doing construction in a watery arena and think... weird. It turns out, however, that my toddler loves this book and now I do too. It's interactive with sturdy tabs to pull, slider bars, and wheels to turn and the rhyming text is cute and different. It starts as a construction book and builds into a bath book, which is unexpected (at least the first time) and enjoyable.

It’s a busy day on the construction site, and these industrious mice are up to something big! But what are they working on? Bold, colorful illustrations and recognizable vehicles with moving parts add to the fun, with hidden clues for the careful observer. Is that red paint . . . or red sauce? Is that a construction pit . . . or a drain? Children will delight in guessing their way to the end, when the final spread reveals a carefully constructed surprise. It’s favorite vehicles meet lunchtime and bathtime in these novelty board books with interactive mechanisms.

Little Excavator book
#10
Little Excavator
Written and illustrated by Anna Dewdney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5
Thoughts from B is for Bookworm

I liked that this book about the Little Excavator is something little ones can relate to--they may not be old enough to do all of the big jobs, but they can do specific jobs really well and help in ways no one else can. This book goes through the names of some of the construction vehicles, has sounds to accompany it, and shows the process of a specific building project completed at the end.

From New York Times bestselling author-illustrator of the Llama Llama books comes a new character ready to dig his way into your heart! Here come the BIG RIGS rolling down the street. Thumpa-thumpa bumpa-bumpa BEEP! BEEP! BEEP! There’s Loader and Dump Truck, Backhoe and Crane. They’re ready to transform a vacant lot into a neighborhood park. And who wants to help most of all? Little Excavator! But are there any jobs for someone so small? Anna Dewdney’s signature rhyming text and inviting illustrations make this a perfect read aloud for for fans of things that go!

The Little Dump Truck book
#11
The Little Dump Truck
Written by Margery Cuyler and illustrated by Bob Kolar
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A happy little dump truck, driven by Hard Hat Pete, hauls stones, rocks, and debris from a construction site to a landfill.

Who Made this Cake? book
#12
Who Made this Cake?
Written by Chihiro Nakagawa and illustrated by Junji Koyose
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Little people use BIG machines to make a GIANT birthday cake! Imagine an industrialized Lilliput. Imagine today. Imagine an enormous construction site. Imagine a birthday cake like no other. What if the people you order your next birthday cake from are tiny, and what if they build cakes the way we build buildings? Tractor-trailers and giant cranes, catwalks, and helicopters. Hundreds of workers. Never have you seen such a construction site in this Horn Book Fanfare Award winner!

Building a House book
#13
Building a House
Written and illustrated by Byron Barton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Byron Barton, the celebrated creator of numerous picture books for very young children, including Trucks, My Bus, and My Car, builds a house, step by step, right before your eyes! A machine digs a big hole. A cement mixer pours cement. Carpenters put up walls. Bricklayers, electricians, plumbers, and painters do their part. Through brilliantly simple words and pictures a house is built.

I Am a Backhoe book
#14
I Am a Backhoe
Written and illustrated by Anna Grossnickle Hines
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

"Dig, dig, dig. Lift, turn, tip. I am . . .a backhoe." In spare text and vibrant illustrations, a little boy pretends to be a bulldozer, a crane, a dump truck, and a roller. And finally, he parks on the couch with his father for a quiet moment.

Construction book
#15
Construction
Written and illustrated by Cocoretto
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Digging, pushing, mixing and tipping! Lift the flap to see each vehicle busy at work.

Backhoe Joe book
#16
Backhoe Joe
Written by Lori Alexander and illustrated by Craig Cameron
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night? by Brianna Caplan Sayres, and Kate McMullan will be thrilled by this celebrated and endearing picture book about a young boy with a dream of owning the perfect pet. When Nolan finds a stray backhoe in the street, he can't wait to adopt it. But this backhoe is not very well behaved. As Nolan tries to train his new pet truck, he learns that maybe this backhoe already has a home… This delightful story of a boy and his construction vehicle is brought to life with Craig Cameron's vibrant illustrations, making this the perfect addition to every young reader's library.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.