Dough Knights and Dragons

Written by Dee Leone and illustrated by George Ermos

1234567
6.3

In a mythical kingdom, a knight and a dragon cook up a delicious plan to save their friendship! In Dough Knights and Dragons, a curious knight and an amiable dragon meet serendipitously, and instantly bond over their shared love of baking. But the friends are filled with sadness when, according to the law, the two must duel one another. Can the unlikely pair find a way to evade the law, save their friendship, and spread good throughout the land? Kids will devour this scrumptiously clever tale!

The Worst Princess

Written by Anna Kemp and illustrated by Sara Ogilvie, Anna Kemp

1234567
5.3

Bored of your run-of-the-mill princesses? Tired of traditional princess-finds-her-prince tale? Looking for a princess with a bit more bite? Then this is the book for you. Forget about pretty dresses, fairytale wedding and grand balls, Princess Sue is all about adventure, mischief and making unusual friends. She really is the worst princess!

Do Not Bring Your Dragon to the Library

Written by Julie Gassman and illustrated by Andy Elkerton

1234567
4.6

A child brings a dragon to the library and learns a valuable lesson--libraries and dragons do not mix.

The Forgetful Knight

Written by Michelle Robinson and illustrated by Fred Blunt

1234567
4.0

This hilarious, Monty Python–style sendup of the classic knight-and-dragon story comes with jaunty rhymes and a fabulous twist ending Mischief! Mishaps! Dragons! Here’s the story of an intrepid knight, only our narrator can’t quite remember the details. Did that knight carry a sandwich, or a sword? Was he supposed to fight a cat, or a dragon? A hilarious and unpredictable adventure ensues, building through laugh-out-loud rhymes until, at last, the narrator remembers his own role at the center of all the marvelous madness. Fans of Jon Scieszka’s The Stinky Cheese Man, David Ezra Stein’s Interrupting Chicken, all of Patrick McDonnell’s and Mac Barnett’s picture books will love this zany read-aloud adventure.

Do Not Bring Your Dragon to Recess

Written by Julie Gassman and illustrated by Andy Elkerton

Told in rhyme, a child is cautioned about the problems his dragon is likely to cause at school recess, even if it does not mean to.

Do Not Take Your Dragon to Dinner

Written by Julie Gassman and illustrated by Andy Elkerton

A child discovers that when dining out, you really should not bring your fire-breathing dragon--far better to practice his dining etiquette at home.

The Boy Who Loved the Moon

Written and illustrated by Rino Alaimo

A young boy, desiring to win the love of the Moon, embarks on an adventure, swimming the deepest seas and slaying the mightiest dragons to bring her precious gifts.

The Night Dragon

Written and illustrated by Naomi Howarth

“I wish I could fly, and breathe fire, and fill the sky with great grey, sooty clouds,” Maud said to her friend, Mouse. Maud is picked on by the other dragons, so stays cooped up in her cave, sad and lonely. But when the chance comes, will her friend Mouse help her pluck up the courage to fly? A beautiful picture book about individuality and friendship from Naomi Howarth, whose first book The Crow's Tale was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize.

The Dragon's Hoard

Written by Lari Don and illustrated by Cate James

Eleven amazing stories from the Viking Sagas, packed with warriors and battles, heroes and heroines, Berserkers, monsters and zombies. AND LOTS OF MAGIC. Stories include: The Dragon's Hoard * The Swan Warrior * The Berserker's Baby * Tusker versus the Earl * The Bear in Chains * The Raven Banner * The Boy in the Bones * Sailing to America * The Zombie on the Roof * Hunting Magnus * Odin's Riddles

Dragons: Father and Son

Written by Alexandre Lacroix and illustrated by Ronan Badel

To prove to his father that he is a real dragon, young Drake is sent to the local village to cause some mischief and start a fire. But Drake has only ever breathed fire to roast a tasty caterpillar. How will be burn down a whole house? Or a school? Or even an old wooden shack? Has Drake got what it takes to make his father proud? Dragons: Father and Son is a funny and moving story about the bonds between fathers and children, with a positive, peaceful message – and all the magic and mayhem you’d hope for in a tale about dragons.

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More