Down by the River

Written by Andrew Weiner and illustrated by April Chu

One beautiful autumn day, Art sets out with his mother and grandfather for a fishing trip. Fishing days are Art’s favorite. He loves learning the ropes from Grandpa—the different kinds of flies and tackle and the trout that frequent their favorite river. Art especially appreciates Grandpa’s stories. But, this time, hearing the story about Mom’s big catch on her first cast ever makes Art feel insecure about his own fishing skills. But, as Art hooks a beautiful brown trout, he finds reassurance in Grandpa’s stories and marvels in the sport and a day spent with family, promising to continue the tradition with his own grandkids generations later.

Splotch

Written and illustrated by Gianna Marino

An unsuspecting boy, his dead pet fish, and his well-intentioned mother make this a must-read for fans of The Bear Ate Your Sandwich and I Want My Hat Back. Splotch was meant to be in his bowl when his boy got home from school–but he isn’t there! There’s only one conclusion: he must have run away. But when he mysteriously returns, all is well again. Except…Splotch’s distinctive spot has moved and the only explanation is that he has been CHANGED BY ALIENS! When the spot moves yet again, it’s clear something fishy is going on. This hilarious story poses the question that, when it comes to this family, who is protecting whom? Spot-on kid-humor and splashy illustrations are a signature of Gianna Marino’s work. The perfect follow-up to I Am the Mountain Mouse and Night Animals, Splotch! will not disappoint!

Prince and Pirate

Written by Charlotte Gunnufson and illustrated by Mike Lowery

When two little fish with big personalities have to share the same tank, there are rough seas ahead! Prince and Pirate are proud masters of their very own fishbowls, and life goes along swimmingly—until they’re scooped up and plopped into shared waters. Prince is horrified to find this cheeky cod trespassing in his kingdom. Pirate is sure this scurvy sea slug has come to plunder his treasure. Thus, a battle of regal sneers, seaworthy stink-eyes, and off-the-hook insults begins. Prince and Pirate’s hilarious duel for territory will elicit gales of giggles, hearty guffaws, and heartfelt smiles. Just when it seems their struggle might end in a silly stalemate, a little surprise convinces them to find a way to get along—swimmingly.

Flash the Fish

Written and illustrated by Paul Kor

For fans of Rainbow Fish and Leo Lionni, this lively, sweet picture book about newfound friendship features shiny silver foil on every page. Little Flash’s family travels as one big group of shimmering silver fish all over the ocean, but Flash likes to strike out on his own to explore. When Flash comes across a big black thing in the water, he’s not sure what to make of it. Could it be a mountain? But mountains don’t have eyes, and they don’t have teeth, and they certainly don’t talk. No, this is not a mountain at all; it’s a baby whale—and she’s lost in the vast ocean! Can Flash and his family help the whale find her mama and papa? This story truly sparkles: Each little fish is made of shiny silver foil throughout the book, bringing some extra brightness to the charming, colorful illustrations.

Charlie's Boat

Written and illustrated by Kit Chase

Best friends really are the best when they use their imaginations to help each other. Charlie, Oliver, and Lulu love to play outside together. One fine day they all go fishing, but Charlie doesn’t have much fun—all he can catch are sticks. Next, they build little boats and have a race, but, once again, things don’t go very well. Charlie’s boat comes in last. Things seem pretty gloomy until Oliver comes up with a plan. They build a special boat they can all play on, together! Kit Chase offers a sweet ode to friendship in this tale of three best friends who can count on each other to always make play time fun.

The Great Googly Moogly

Written and illustrated by Courtney Dicmas

Nobody has ever been able to catch The Great Googly Moogly – a giant and terrifying fish of legend. But Stella aims to do just that. Armed with fishing gear and differing baits, she sets out every day to realise her dream, whatever the weather. But what will she do if she succeeds?Courtney Dicmas’s latest book features a strong and spirited character determined to achieve her goal, but it also reflects our responsibilities to other creatures, and our place in the natural world.

Sardines of Love

Written and illustrated by Zuriñe Aguirre

"Grandmother Lola hates sardines, but Grandfather Lolo loves them. He eats them every day. When she runs out of sardines one day, Lola can't bear to think of Lolo going hungry. She decides to go fishing --with unexpected results. What on earth will Lola eat when she discovers that sardines are the only food on offer? And what will Lolo do when he finds out that his beloved Lola is missing?"--Dust jacket flap.

Mr. Wishing Went Fishing

Written by Irma Wilde and illustrated by George Wilde

Discover a treasure trove of beautifully illustrated books with our new series, G&D Vintage! Featuring books from our Wonder Books line originally published in the 1940s, 50s, and 60s, there's something for every reader in these timeless stories accompanied by classic illustrations. Mr. Wishing decides to go fishing for a pet fish and finds Skipper, a perfect companion. But Skipper needs a friend! Mr. Wishing goes on another rowboat jaunt, but all he manages to catch are a starfish and a crab, which are not the ideal fish bowl companions for Skipper. Finally, Mr. Wishing brings home another fish, Flipper, and Skipper is happy as can be!

Fish Are Not Afraid of Doctors

Written and illustrated by J E Morris

Maud the koala knows a visit to the doctor will help keep her healthy–so why is she so scared? Maud gets nervous waiting at the doctor’s office for a checkup, so she looks to the fish tank in the waiting room for comfort. Fish don’t have to go to the doctor–she wishes she could be a fish. So when Maud has to get a shot, she shuts her eyes and pretends exactly that: She becomes an aquatic version of herself and pretends to swim through the sea, blowing bubbles and meeting other marine life, until she hears the doctor telling her it’s all done!

What I Think About When I Think About ... Swimming

Written by Eleanor Levenson and illustrated by Katie O’Hagan

A small fish with a big imagination, Eleanor Levenson's goldfish thinks about things like falling in love, getting old and climate change. But there is one thing that he thinks about every day.

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More