Discover

Company

Foxes and Friendship: Books For Kids

Foxes are known to by sly, cunning, and sneaky creatures. These characteristics come to light in many of these favorite children's books about foxes through their adventurous, funny, and witty stories. Maybe don't trust a fox, but you can definitely trust that these fox stories are going to be a hit at reading time!

And Away We Go! book
#1
And Away We Go!
Written and illustrated by Migy England
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Thoughts from Lemony Snickers

And Away We Go! is a delightful book that shows the importance of being inviting and inclusive. Mr. Fox is more happy to share his hot air balloon with anyone who asks, and he doesn't even bat an eye when the ride goes south, literally. This is a great book for teaching the importance of sharing and choosing to focus on the positive.

Mr. Fox is going to the moon! Away he goes in his hot air balloon. . . . But wait! Can Elephant come too? Sure! Let's bring along some pizza. What about Giraffe? And Squirrel? Everyone is welcome in Mr. Fox's balloon, but look out--will everyone fit? In the tradition of classic cumulative tales like Mr. Gumpy's Outing, Migy's And Away We Go! is an unforgettable debut picture book from an exciting new talent.

Scary Stories for Young Foxes book
#2
Scary Stories for Young Foxes
Written by Christian McKay Heidicker and illustrated by Junyi Wu
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship. The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe. When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention. Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

Daddy Honk Honk! book
#3
Daddy Honk Honk!
Written and illustrated by Rosalinde Bonnet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

An arctic fox adopts a baby goose in this heartwarming read-aloud perfect for dads and their little ones When Aput the fox finds an abandoned goose egg, he has no idea what’s in store for him. He doesn’t know anything about babies and he certainly doesn’t know what to do when the gosling hatches and mistakes him for its daddy. So he decides to find the gosling a home. But with each page turn, Aput learns more about caring for a baby and, with a little help from his friends, he discovers what a baby needs most is love.

A Mouse Called Julian book
#4
A Mouse Called Julian
Written and illustrated by Joe Todd-Stanton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Julian is a mouse who is perfectly happy avoiding other animals. They seem to just get in the way, and sometimes even try to eat him! But one day, Julian has an unexpected dinner guest... When the fox tries to sneak into Julian's burrow for a tasty bite of mouse, it finds itself stuck headfirst in Julian's front door! At first alarmed and wary, they soon find themselves having a lovely dinner together, and it's not long before each realizes that they have found in the other a lifelong friend.

The Antlered Ship book
#5
The Antlered Ship
Written by Dashka Slater and illustrated by Eric Fan, Terry Fan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

An inquisitive fox named Marco and a bored flock of pigeons join the crew of deer Captain Sylvia, setting sail in her antlered ship in search of a wonderful island and finding friendship on the way.

Selfie Sebastian book
#6
Selfie Sebastian
Written by Sarah Glenn Marsh and illustrated by Florence Weiser
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Sebastian is one handsome fox. So why can't he take the perfect selfie? In his quest to get the shot of his dreams, he sets off on an elaborate journey from the Grand Canyon all the way to the moon. But nothing works. Could it be that the secret to his special selfie is right where he started--at home with his friends?

The Fox on the Swing book
#7
The Fox on the Swing
Written by Evelina Daciutè and illustrated by Ausra Kiudulaite
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Once upon a time a boy called Paul lived in a treehouse with his mother and father. One day a fox appeared in Paul's life - and when a fox comes into your life, Anything can happen. This sensitive story about friendship, dreams and happiness was written by Evelina Daciute and illustrated by Ausra Kiudulaite. It tells the story of Paul and the fox, whom he encounters one day when out buying bread for the family, and how their relationship begins, develops and shifts as life forces change on them both. The book's themes are friendship, change, loss and the importance of seeking happiness in the little things of life

Look & See: Friends Are Fun! book
#8
Look & See: Friends Are Fun!
Written and illustrated by Antonella Abbatiello, Emanuela Bussolati
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Come spend the day with fox and his friends! Fox has lots of fun playing hide-and-seek with a chameleon; snuggling in the soft mane of a big, strong lion; lunching with a bunny; watching a butterfly take flight, and meeting bats, elephants, bears, and birds. Two die-cut eyes on the cover go throughout the book, getting smaller and smaller to fit each creature we see.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected].com!