The Forgetful Knight

Written by Michelle Robinson and illustrated by Fred Blunt

1234567
4.0

This hilarious, Monty Python–style sendup of the classic knight-and-dragon story comes with jaunty rhymes and a fabulous twist ending Mischief! Mishaps! Dragons! Here’s the story of an intrepid knight, only our narrator can’t quite remember the details. Did that knight carry a sandwich, or a sword? Was he supposed to fight a cat, or a dragon? A hilarious and unpredictable adventure ensues, building through laugh-out-loud rhymes until, at last, the narrator remembers his own role at the center of all the marvelous madness. Fans of Jon Scieszka’s The Stinky Cheese Man, David Ezra Stein’s Interrupting Chicken, all of Patrick McDonnell’s and Mac Barnett’s picture books will love this zany read-aloud adventure.

The Dragon and the Nibblesome Knight

Written by Elli Woollard and illustrated by Benji Davies

A case of mistaken identity allows two sworn enemies—a young dragon and knight—to become friends. But what will they do when they discover the truth? A funny, rhyming read-aloud picture book illustrated by Benji Davies, of The Storm Whale. - GODWIN BOOKS -

Code Your Own Adventure

Written and illustrated by Max Wainewright

Bring a space, pirate, jungle, and knight adventure to life through drawing central characters, animating plot lines, and creating games. With easy-to-follow, illustrated step-by step instructions, this book introduces key coding concepts through simple and practical tasks—from drawing shapes and giving instructions in code, to building games and much more!

The Wall in the Middle of the Book

Written and illustrated by Jon Agee

A knight who feels secure on his side of the wall that divides his book discovers that his side is not as safe as he thought, and the other side is not as threatening.

The Night Knights

Written by Gideon Sterer and illustrated by Cory Godbey

Nighttime can be scary. Every bump, thump, or scratch could be a monster lurking under the bed or in a closet. But if that’s the case, then why haven’t we ever seen a monster? You might think that’s because monsters don’t exist. But maybe monsters do exist . . . but so do something else: The Night Knights. And when night falls, they take their place, protecting us all from the terrors lurking in the dark. With a lyrical text reminiscent of the bestseller Dream Animals, The Night Knights introduces reluctant sleepers to the many fantastical warriors who will protect them while they slumber, from the Guardians of the Gates to the Midnight Flock.

How to Become a Knight (in Ten Easy Lessons)

Written by Todd Tarpley and illustrated by Jenn Harney

Prepare the shining armor: the king needs a knight! Sir Simpleton has a week to train young Sam for the job--but he gets everything wrong, fighting a bored cow instead of a fiery dragon and seeking wisdom from a bearded goat . . . instead of a wizard. Will Sam succeed in spite of his "teacher"? Kids will love the wildly funny illustrations and watching a wily child outsmart a delightfully silly adult.

Prince & Knight

Written by Daniel Haack and illustrated by Stevie Lewis

Once upon a time, in a kingdom far from here, there was a prince in line to take the throne, so his parents set out to find him a kind and worthy bride. The three of them traveled the land far and wide, but the prince didn't quite find what he was looking for in the princesses they met. While they were away, a terrible dragon threatened their land, and all the soldiers fled. The prince rushed back to save his kingdom from the perilous beast and was met by a brave knight in a suit of brightly shining armor. Together they fought the dragon and discovered that special something the prince was looking for all along. This book is published in partnership with GLAAD to accelerate LGBTQ inclusivity and acceptance.

The Storybook Knight

Written by Helen Docherty and illustrated by Thomas Docherty

Even dragons love a good story... Leo was a gentle knight in thought and word and deed. While other knights liked fighting, Leo liked to sit and read... When Leo's mom and dad pack him off to fight a dragon, he takes a shield, a sword―and a pile of his favorite books. But can a story be as mighty as a sword?

Under the Southern Cross

Written and illustrated by Frané Lessac

Night-time in Australia, animals are waking, people are exploring, discoveries are being made – under the Southern Cross. What makes ribbons of colour swirl in the sky? What are the spooky balls of light that bounce across the outback? What animal lays eggs that look like squishy ping-pong balls? Where can you watch a movie with bats circling overhead? Discover the answers to these questions and more in this factastic picture book tour of Australia after dark.

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More