Best Kids Books About Knights

13 Kids Books About Knights

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
The Storybook Knight book
#1
The Storybook Knight
Written by Helen Docherty and illustrated by Thomas Docherty
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Even dragons love a good story... Leo was a gentle knight in thought and word and deed. While other knights liked fighting, Leo liked to sit and read... When Leo's mom and dad pack him off to fight a dragon, he takes a shield, a sword―and a pile of his favorite books. But can a story be as mighty as a sword?

Cedric and the Dragon book
#2
Cedric and the Dragon
Written by Elizabeth Raum and illustrated by Nina Victor Crittenden
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Prince Cedric is slow to walk, has a tough time with reading and math, and fails miserably at dragon slaying school. But with kindness and bravery, and his love for hugs, Cedric saves the kingdom. This cheerful picture book teaches kids that there are many ways to solve a problem and reinforces the idea that everyone has something special to offer.

The Forgetful Knight book
#3
The Forgetful Knight
Written by Michelle Robinson and illustrated by Fred Blunt
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

This hilarious, Monty Python–style sendup of the classic knight-and-dragon story comes with jaunty rhymes and a fabulous twist ending Mischief! Mishaps! Dragons! Here’s the story of an intrepid knight, only our narrator can’t quite remember the details. Did that knight carry a sandwich, or a sword? Was he supposed to fight a cat, or a dragon? A hilarious and unpredictable adventure ensues, building through laugh-out-loud rhymes until, at last, the narrator remembers his own role at the center of all the marvelous madness. Fans of Jon Scieszka’s The Stinky Cheese Man, David Ezra Stein’s Interrupting Chicken, all of Patrick McDonnell’s and Mac Barnett’s picture books will love this zany read-aloud adventure.

The Dragon and the Nibblesome Knight book
#4
The Dragon and the Nibblesome Knight
Written by Elli Woollard and illustrated by Benji Davies
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A case of mistaken identity allows two sworn enemies—a young dragon and knight—to become friends. But what will they do when they discover the truth? A funny, rhyming read-aloud picture book illustrated by Benji Davies, of The Storm Whale. - GODWIN BOOKS -

Code Your Own Adventure book
#5
Code Your Own Adventure
Written and illustrated by Max Wainewright
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Bring a space, pirate, jungle, and knight adventure to life through drawing central characters, animating plot lines, and creating games. With easy-to-follow, illustrated step-by step instructions, this book introduces key coding concepts through simple and practical tasks—from drawing shapes and giving instructions in code, to building games and much more!

The Night Knights book
#6
The Night Knights
Written by Gideon Sterer and illustrated by Cory Godbey
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Nighttime can be scary. Every bump, thump, or scratch could be a monster lurking under the bed or in a closet. But if that’s the case, then why haven’t we ever seen a monster? You might think that’s because monsters don’t exist. But maybe monsters do exist . . . but so do something else: The Night Knights. And when night falls, they take their place, protecting us all from the terrors lurking in the dark. With a lyrical text reminiscent of the bestseller Dream Animals, The Night Knights introduces reluctant sleepers to the many fantastical warriors who will protect them while they slumber, from the Guardians of the Gates to the Midnight Flock.

Under the Southern Cross book
#7
Under the Southern Cross
Written and illustrated by Frané Lessac
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-12

Night-time in Australia, animals are waking, people are exploring, discoveries are being made – under the Southern Cross. What makes ribbons of colour swirl in the sky? What are the spooky balls of light that bounce across the outback? What animal lays eggs that look like squishy ping-pong balls? Where can you watch a movie with bats circling overhead? Discover the answers to these questions and more in this factastic picture book tour of Australia after dark.

The Princess Knight book
#8
The Princess Knight
Written by Cornelia Funke and illustrated by Kerstin Meyer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Envious of her brothers who are in training to become knights, young Violetta disguises herself as a boy in order to take part in the big jousting contest in the hopes of showing everyone that she is just as capable.

The Evil Princess Vs. the Brave Knight book
#9
The Evil Princess Vs. the Brave Knight
Written by Jennifer Holm and illustrated by Matthew Holm
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

For every parent tired of telling their kids to PLEASE JUST GET ALONG, this hilarious and imaginative new picture book--from the beloved creators of Babymouse--is here to help. Sort of. Meet the Evil Princess and the Brave Knight. She casts terrible spells, while he fights dragons. He rescues cats in distress, while she makes mischief. No wonder there isn't much peace in this kingdom! But is the Evil Princess really so evil? And is the Brave Knight truly as chivalrous as he seems? Children and parents will laugh at seeing familiar family dynamics play out in this charming and imaginative new story.

Dragon Night book
#10
Dragon Night
Written and illustrated by J. R. Krause
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Georgie is afraid of the night. It's too dark with the lights off. Too quiet with everyone asleep. And being alone makes everything worse. The dragon is afraid of the knight. After all, the knight carries a heavy sword, and he always wants to fight. The dragon knows just what to do to help Georgie overcome his fear, and the two set off on a unforgettable magical adventure. But when the morning comes, the dragon is still afraid of the knight. How can Georgie help his friend? With kindness and empathy--and a little creativity--maybe Georgie can work some magic of his own. J. R. Krause, an award-winning animator of The Simpsons and Futurama, has created a visually stunning story with incredible emotional depth, which addresses the needs of children to express their feelings and be received with kindness and empathy.

How to Become a Knight (in Ten Easy Lessons) book
#11
How to Become a Knight (in Ten Easy Lessons)
Written by Todd Tarpley and illustrated by Jenn Harney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Prepare the shining armor: the king needs a knight! Sir Simpleton has a week to train young Sam for the job--but he gets everything wrong, fighting a bored cow instead of a fiery dragon and seeking wisdom from a bearded goat . . . instead of a wizard. Will Sam succeed in spite of his "teacher"? Kids will love the wildly funny illustrations and watching a wily child outsmart a delightfully silly adult.

Prince & Knight book
#12
Prince & Knight
Written by Daniel Haack and illustrated by Stevie Lewis
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Once upon a time, in a kingdom far from here, there was a prince in line to take the throne, so his parents set out to find him a kind and worthy bride. The three of them traveled the land far and wide, but the prince didn't quite find what he was looking for in the princesses they met. While they were away, a terrible dragon threatened their land, and all the soldiers fled. The prince rushed back to save his kingdom from the perilous beast and was met by a brave knight in a suit of brightly shining armor. Together they fought the dragon and discovered that special something the prince was looking for all along. This book is published in partnership with GLAAD to accelerate LGBTQ inclusivity and acceptance.

The Wall in the Middle of the Book book
#13
The Wall in the Middle of the Book
Written and illustrated by Jon Agee
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A knight who feels secure on his side of the wall that divides his book discovers that his side is not as safe as he thought, and the other side is not as threatening.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.