Best Kids Books About Library

12 Kids Books About Library

Updated Jan. 18, 2019
Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré book
#1
Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré
Written by Anika Denise and illustrated by Paola Escobar
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

An inspiring picture book biography of storyteller, puppeteer, and New York City’s first Puerto Rican librarian, who championed bilingual literature. When she came to America in 1921, Pura Belpré carried the cuentos folklóricos of her Puerto Rican homeland. Finding a new home at the New York Public Library as a bilingual assistant, she turned her popular retellings into libros and spread story seeds across the land. Today, these seeds have grown into a lush landscape as generations of children and storytellers continue to share her tales and celebrate Pura’s legacy. Brought to colorful life by Paola Escobar’s elegant and exuberant illustrations and Anika Aldamuy Denise’s lyrical text, this gorgeous book is perfect for the pioneers in your life. Informative backmatter and suggested further reading included.

Construction book
#2
Construction
Written by Sally Sutton and illustrated by Brian Lovelock
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Big machines and their drivers work together to build a library.

Do Not Bring Your Dragon to the Library book
#3
Do Not Bring Your Dragon to the Library
Written by Julie Gassman and illustrated by Andy Elkerton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

A child brings a dragon to the library and learns a valuable lesson--libraries and dragons do not mix.

The Not So Quiet Library book
#4
The Not So Quiet Library
Written and illustrated by Zachariah OHora
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

It’s Saturday, which means Oskar and Theodore get to go to the library with their dad! It means donuts for breakfast! And it means endless quiet hours lost in stories. But on this not so quiet Saturday, Oskar and Teddy get a rude surprise when they’re interrupted by a five-headed, hangry monster! Will Oskar ever get to finish his book in peace? Will Teddy ever get to gorge on his donuts? Or might both of them hold the secret weapons to taming the beast?

Lost in the Library book
#5
Lost in the Library
Written by Josh Funk and illustrated by Stevie Lewis
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Steadfast Fortitude and curious Patience are waiting every morning to greet visitors of the Library. That is until, one early morning, when Fortitude finds Patience is missing. The city is about to awake, and the lions absolutely must be in their places before the sun rises. Now, Fortitude must abandon his own post to find his best friend in the Library’s labyrinthine halls. With Josh Funk's clever rhymes and Stevie Lewis' vibrant art, Lost in the Library introduces young readers to a pair of unforgettable lions, as well as the famed New York Public Library, and includes bonus material loaded with facts about Patience, Fortitude, and the NYPL's history.

The New LiBEARian book
#6
The New LiBEARian
Written by Alison Donald and illustrated by Alex Willmore
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

It's storytime at the library but Miss Merryweather, the librarian, is missing! Dee and her friends go in search of her but instead find a rather hairy, new librarian! This debut book by Alison Donald and Alex Willmore is a fantastic mix of nostalgic and modern at the same time. With a little bit of magic thrown in, this book is sure to please both book and bear lovers!

Schomburg: the Man Who Built a Library book
#7
Schomburg: the Man Who Built a Library
Written by Carole Boston Weatherford and illustrated by Eric Velasquez
picture book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

In luminous paintings and arresting poems, two of children’s literature’s top African-American scholars track Arturo Schomburg’s quest to correct history. Where is our historian to give us our side? Arturo asked. Amid the scholars, poets, authors, and artists of the Harlem Renaissance stood an Afro–Puerto Rican named Arturo Schomburg. This law clerk’s life’s passion was to collect books, letters, music, and art from Africa and the African diaspora and bring to light the achievements of people of African descent through the ages. When Schomburg’s collection became so big it began to overflow his house (and his wife threatened to mutiny), he turned to the New York Public Library, where he created and curated a collection that was the cornerstone of a new Negro Division. A century later, his groundbreaking collection, known as the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, has become a beacon to scholars all over the world.

Waiting for the BiblioBurro book
#8
Waiting for the BiblioBurro
Written by Monica Brown and illustrated by John Parra
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Ana loves stories. She often makes them up to help her little brother fall asleep. But in her small village there are only a few books and she has read them all. One morning, Ana wakes up to the clip-clop of hooves, and there before her, is the most wonderful sight: a traveling library resting on the backs of two burros‑all the books a little girl could dream of, with enough stories to encourage her to create one of her own. Inspired by the heroic efforts of real-life librarian Luis Soriano, award-winning picture book creators Monica Brown and John Parra introduce readers to the mobile library that journeys over mountains and through valleys to bring literacy and culture to rural Colombia, and to the children who wait for the BiblioBurro. A portion of the proceeds from sales of this book was donated to Luis Soriano's BiblioBurro program.

I Will Be Fierce book
#9
I Will Be Fierce
Written by Bea Birdsong and illustrated by Nidhi Chanani
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Today, I will be fierce! It's a brand new day, and a young girl decides to take on the world like a brave explorer heading off on an epic fairytale quest. From home to school and back again, our hero conquers the Mountain of Knowledge (the library), forges new bridges (friendships), and leads the victorious charge home on her steed (the school bus). Written by Bea Birdsong and illustrated by Nidhi Chanani, I Will Be Fierce is a powerful picture book about courage, confidence, kindness, and finding the extraordinary in everyday moments.

This Is My School book
#10
This Is My School
Written by Mark Andrew Weakland and illustrated by Nina de Polonia-Nill
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

How do I find my way around school? This Is My School gives young readers the grand tour through all the rooms and special areas that make up an elementary-school building. Featuring playful illustrations and led by a 1st-person student narrator, the tour takes kids to the front office, the library, the gym ... even the very mysterious teachers' lounge!

Chicken Story Time book
#11
Chicken Story Time
Written by Sandy Asher and illustrated by Mark Fearing
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

A wonderfully silly take on library story time that’s perfect for children, chickens, and everyone in between Why did the chicken cross the road? To get to story time at the library, of course! The children like the chicken, the chicken likes the children, and everyone loves story time. So it’s no surprise that more children (and more chickens!) get in on the fun until there are more kids and critters than the librarian knows what to do with. Luckily, she comes up with a creative solution and manages to find little R & R for herself. Fans of Bats in the Library and Library Lion will fall in love and story time will never be the same!

The Night Library book
#12
The Night Library
Written by David Zeltser and illustrated by Raul Colon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

The Polar Express meets The Night at the Museum in this fantastical picture-book adventure about the magic of books and libraries, perfect for book lovers of all ages! After a young boy goes to sleep upset that he's getting a book for his birthday, he's visited in the night by Patience and Fortitude, the two stone lions who guard the New York Public Library. Soon, he's magically whisked away from his cozy home in the Bronx, and the two mighty lions show him the wonder of the library. There, the inquisitive Latino boy discovers the power of books and their role not only in his own life, but also in the lives of the people he loves. Raul Colon's gorgeous, rich art creates an immersive world in this book about books, which is sure to capture the imaginations of kids and adults and inspire them to grab their library cards and dive into the worlds of stories.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.