18 Children's Books About Ninja

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Samurai Santa book
#1
Samurai Santa
Written and illustrated by Rubin Pingk
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

"Yukio wants to have a snowball fight but all the other ninjas want to stay good for Santa. So Yukio decides to sabotage Santa"--

Ninja Baby book
#2
Ninja Baby
Written by David Zeltser and illustrated by Diane Goode
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

From the day she was born, Nina was a ninja baby. She obliterated her applesauce. She concealed herself at bath time. And she was training herself in advanced infiltration (of movie night). Nina wants to do everything by herself, until the day her parents bring home a Kung Fu Master (a baby brother). Now with a sibling, Nina will face the one thing she cannot do alone: be part of a family. With verve and humor, David Zeltser and Diane Goode tell the story of an unusually gifted child, and the family that is more than a match for her.

Even Superheroes Use the Potty book
#3
Even Superheroes Use the Potty
Written by Sara Crow and illustrated by Adam Record
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

It’s potty time for superheroes, firefighters, ninjas, soldiers, and KIDS! Young ones will enjoy this funny, rhyming story that teaches great bathroom habits with the promise that all their heroes use the potty too. And the book comes with stickers and a bathroom reward chart, so good potty habits can be celebrated each time kids put the lid down, flush, and wash their hands! It’s a book-and-sticker package that will help parents achieve toilet-training harmony. And don’t miss the companion book—Even Superheroes Have to Sleep!—to help restless kids settle in at night.

Kick! Jump! Chop! book
#4
Kick! Jump! Chop!
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

In a tale reminiscent of The Gingerbread Man, Sensei bakes a Ninjabread Man to spice up the sparring in his dojo, and the new cookie is undefeated until a fox appears.

Black Belt Bunny book
#5
Black Belt Bunny
Written by Jacky Davis and illustrated by Jay Fleck
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

From the author of the bestselling Ladybug Girl series, this hilarious, empowering picture book about a little black-belt who faces a new challenge is perfect for fans of The Three Ninja Pigs, The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog, and I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato Black Belt Bunny is fast and strong and has seriously awesome moves—from front-kicks to back-flips to air-chops. Then he’s faced with something new, something every bunny must learn, something he might not be as good at: He has to make . . . a salad. Black Belt Bunny tries to escape. He even disguises himself with a fake mustache. But when he finally hops to it, he discovers that his seriously awesome moves come in pretty handy, and that—in a funny twist that puts the narrator in the hot seat—he isn’t the only one who has to try new things.

North Pole Ninjas: MISSION: Christmas! book
#6
North Pole Ninjas: MISSION: Christmas!
Written by Sarah Linden, Tyler Knott Gregson and illustrated by Piper Thibodeau
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

With accompanying "Santa's sensei" stuffed toy and envelope containing 10 perforated cards of Christmas missions.

10 Little Ninjas book
#7
10 Little Ninjas
Written by Miranda Paul and illustrated by Nate Wragg
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A charming bedtime counting book about ten sneaky little characters who aren’t ready to go to sleep… until daddy calls the sensei to send them back to bed. It may be bedtime, but these little ninjas aren’t tired. They’re sliding, swinging, and slipping out of bed! Can Daddy and the sensei ever tuck them in? Filled with mischievous fun, 10 Little Ninjas will take young readers from playtime to bedtime again and again. Kids will love the astronauts, tigers, cowboys, dragons and more!

Heart of a Ninja book
#8
Heart of a Ninja
Written and illustrated by Random House
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

On tabbed board pages, Splinter, April, and the brothers each name a thing that they love, including leading, battling bad guys, eating pizza, and hanging out with friends.

The Secrets of Ninja School book
#9
The Secrets of Ninja School
Written and illustrated by Deb Pilutti
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When Ruby's homesickness spreads to other students at Master Willow's School for Ninjas, she uses all of the skills she has learned to help them feel better. Includes instructions for making a dragon toy two different ways.

My Life as a Ninja book
#10
My Life as a Ninja
Written by Janet Tashjian and illustrated by Jake Tashjian, Janet Tashjian
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Book 6 in the bestselling My Life series! Derek Fallon has expanded his taste in cartoons to the world of manga and anime. Together with his friends Carly, Matt, and Umberto, Derek has fun learning about all the cool aspects of ninja culture. When someone starts vandalizing their school with graffiti of a mischievous troll-like figure, these ninjas-in-training are convinced they'll be able to crack the case. But it turns out that being a ninja is a lot more work than they thought, and this adventure brings about new opportunities for Derek to embarrass himself. For once, can he be the hero that saves the day? A Christy Ottaviano Book

Ninja! Attack of the Clan book
#11
Ninja! Attack of the Clan
Written and illustrated by Arree Chung
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Maxwell is a strong, courageous, silent ninja who wants somebody to play with, but it seems Mama, Papa, and little sister Cassy are all too busy.

Bunjitsu Bunny vs. Bunjitsu Bunny book
#12
Bunjitsu Bunny vs. Bunjitsu Bunny
Written by John Himmelman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

The further adventures of Isabel the Bunjitsu Bunny, packed with action and Zen-inspired wisdom—a fun chapter book with two color illustrations throughout Isabel is the best bunjitsu artist in her class. She can throw farther, kick higher, and hit harder than anybunny else. But her strongest weapon is her mind. Bunjitsu Bunny vs. Bunjitsu Bunny, the fourth book in this series by John Himmelman, follows Isabel as she makes friends, faces her fears, and fights her toughest opponent yet—herself! Read the whole Bunjitsu Bunny series: Tales of Bunjitsu Bunny Bunjitsu Bunny's Best Move Bunjitsu Bunny Jumps to the Moon Bunjitsu Bunny vs. Bunjitsu Bunny Praise for Bunjitsu Bunny Jumps to the Moon: "Isabel does a good job of approaching every challenge with spunk and determination, and manages to do the right things under the circumstances. . . . As part of the Bunjitsu Bunny series, this book is appropriate for children who are beginning to read chapter books, and the stories are fun to read aloud to younger children." —Childrens Literature Praise for Tales of Bunjitsu Bunny: "Cleverly wrapped in an entertaining package, the zen-type morals are edifying but not preachy and serve to genuinely enrich the stories." —The Horn Book, starred review "A series of Zen lessons touched with gentle humor." —Kirkus Reviews "Delightful . . . reminiscent of Arnold Lobel's Frog and Toad stories or Jon Muth's ever-popular Zen Shorts." —School Library Journal

Bunjitsu Bunny Jumps to the Moon book
#13
Bunjitsu Bunny Jumps to the Moon
Written by John Himmelman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Isabel is the best bunjitsu artist in her class. She can throw farther, kick higher, and hit harder than anybunny else. But her strongest weapon is her mind! This third Bunjitsu Bunny book follows Isabel as she makes friends, faces her fears, and more!

Ninja Claus! book
#14
Ninja Claus!
Written and illustrated by Arree Chung
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

"In this third book in the Ninja! series, Maxwell pits his ninja skills against Santa Claus"--

Hello Ninjas! book
#15
Hello Ninjas!
Written by Joan Holub and illustrated by Chris Dickason
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4

New from beloved author Joan Holub, Hello Ninjas! is a fun, playful board book about sneaky ninjas! Hello mask Hello boots Hello ninjas wearing suits Ninjas ten point to the sky A challenge from the samurai! Perfect for reading out loud, Joan Holub’s hilarious text and Chris Dickason’s lively illustrations will have little ones learning and laughing as they try to find all the sneaky ninjas hidden on each page. A clever, interactive approach to first concepts, this board book series also introduces important “next-step” concepts like counting in a hilariously engaging way.

The Three Ninja Pigs book
#16
The Three Ninja Pigs
Written by Corey Rosen Schwartz and illustrated by Dan Santat
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Practice makes perfect in this kick-butt fractured fairy tale. Why does this wolf think he can come to town and blow all the houses down? These three little pigs just aren’t going to take it from that bully anymore! The first starts aikido lessons—he’ll make mincemeat out of that wolf! His brother learns a little jujitsu–he’ll chop that guy to pieces! But when the wolf actually appears, it turs out these two pigs aren’t quite ready after all. Good thing their sister has been training every day to master some serious karate moves that save the day. KIYA! Corey Rosen Schwartz serves up a fun combination of smart-aleck dialogue and tongue-in-cheek rhymes that’ll have kids howling, and rising star Dan Santat’s spunky illustrations are sure to pack a punch!

Pedro the Ninja book
#17
Pedro the Ninja
Written by Fran Manushkin and illustrated by Tammy Lyon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

After watching a ninja cartoon, Pedro dreams of being a ninja himself. Luckily, his dad gets him karate lessons. With hard work and a little practice, maybe Pedro can become ninja star, just like the ones he sees in the movies! A glossary and reading questions make this title a black-belt level book.

Hensel and Gretel, Ninja Chicks book
#18
Hensel and Gretel, Ninja Chicks
Written by Rebecca Gomez, Corey Rosen Schwartz and illustrated by Dan Santat
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

New from the team behind The Three Ninja Pigs and Ninja Red Riding Hood These ninja chicks are anything but chicken! When Hensel and Gretel’s dad gets snatched by a fox, the sisters put their ninja skills to work to track him down before he can be stir-fried. But are these two little chicks ready to take on a dark tangled forest, a tricky house made of corn bread, and an even trickier fox? This plucky pair isn’t giving up without a fight! Kiya!

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!