Best Kids Books About Ninja

11 Kids Books About Ninja

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Samurai Santa book
#1
Samurai Santa
Written and illustrated by Rubin Pingk
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

"Yukio wants to have a snowball fight but all the other ninjas want to stay good for Santa. So Yukio decides to sabotage Santa"--

Ninja Baby book
#2
Ninja Baby
Written by David Zeltser and illustrated by Diane Goode
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

From the day she was born, Nina was a ninja baby. She obliterated her applesauce. She concealed herself at bath time. And she was training herself in advanced infiltration (of movie night). Nina wants to do everything by herself, until the day her parents bring home a Kung Fu Master (a baby brother). Now with a sibling, Nina will face the one thing she cannot do alone: be part of a family. With verve and humor, David Zeltser and Diane Goode tell the story of an unusually gifted child, and the family that is more than a match for her.

Even Superheroes Use the Potty book
#3
Even Superheroes Use the Potty
Written by Sara Crow and illustrated by Adam Record
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

It’s potty time for superheroes, firefighters, ninjas, soldiers, and KIDS! Young ones will enjoy this funny, rhyming story that teaches great bathroom habits with the promise that all their heroes use the potty too. And the book comes with stickers and a bathroom reward chart, so good potty habits can be celebrated each time kids put the lid down, flush, and wash their hands! It’s a book-and-sticker package that will help parents achieve toilet-training harmony. And don’t miss the companion book—Even Superheroes Have to Sleep!—to help restless kids settle in at night.

Kick! Jump! Chop! book
#4
Kick! Jump! Chop!
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

In a tale reminiscent of The Gingerbread Man, Sensei bakes a Ninjabread Man to spice up the sparring in his dojo, and the new cookie is undefeated until a fox appears.

Black Belt Bunny book
#5
Black Belt Bunny
Written by Jacky Davis and illustrated by Jay Fleck
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

From the author of the bestselling Ladybug Girl series, this hilarious, empowering picture book about a little black-belt who faces a new challenge is perfect for fans of The Three Ninja Pigs, The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog, and I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato Black Belt Bunny is fast and strong and has seriously awesome moves—from front-kicks to back-flips to air-chops. Then he’s faced with something new, something every bunny must learn, something he might not be as good at: He has to make . . . a salad. Black Belt Bunny tries to escape. He even disguises himself with a fake mustache. But when he finally hops to it, he discovers that his seriously awesome moves come in pretty handy, and that—in a funny twist that puts the narrator in the hot seat—he isn’t the only one who has to try new things.

The Three Ninja Pigs book
#6
The Three Ninja Pigs
Written by Corey Rosen Schwartz and illustrated by Dan Santat
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Practice makes perfect in this kick-butt fractured fairy tale. Why does this wolf think he can come to town and blow all the houses down? These three little pigs just aren’t going to take it from that bully anymore! The first starts aikido lessons—he’ll make mincemeat out of that wolf! His brother learns a little jujitsu–he’ll chop that guy to pieces! But when the wolf actually appears, it turs out these two pigs aren’t quite ready after all. Good thing their sister has been training every day to master some serious karate moves that save the day. KIYA! Corey Rosen Schwartz serves up a fun combination of smart-aleck dialogue and tongue-in-cheek rhymes that’ll have kids howling, and rising star Dan Santat’s spunky illustrations are sure to pack a punch!

The Secrets of Ninja School book
#7
The Secrets of Ninja School
Written and illustrated by Deb Pilutti
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When Ruby's homesickness spreads to other students at Master Willow's School for Ninjas, she uses all of the skills she has learned to help them feel better. Includes instructions for making a dragon toy two different ways.

Ninja! Attack of the Clan book
#8
Ninja! Attack of the Clan
Written and illustrated by Arree Chung
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Maxwell is a strong, courageous, silent ninja who wants somebody to play with, but it seems Mama, Papa, and little sister Cassy are all too busy.

Ninja Claus! book
#9
Ninja Claus!
Written and illustrated by Arree Chung
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

"In this third book in the Ninja! series, Maxwell pits his ninja skills against Santa Claus"--

North Pole Ninjas: MISSION: Christmas! book
#10
North Pole Ninjas: MISSION: Christmas!
Written by Sarah Linden, Tyler Knott Gregson and illustrated by Piper Thibodeau
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

With accompanying "Santa's sensei" stuffed toy and envelope containing 10 perforated cards of Christmas missions.

Pedro the Ninja book
#11
Pedro the Ninja
Written by Fran Manushkin and illustrated by Tammy Lyon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

After watching a ninja cartoon, Pedro dreams of being a ninja himself. Luckily, his dad gets him karate lessons. With hard work and a little practice, maybe Pedro can become ninja star, just like the ones he sees in the movies! A glossary and reading questions make this title a black-belt level book.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.