Alone Together

Written and illustrated by Clayton Junior

Alone Together looks at opposites and contrasts through unusual and humorous examples in the animal world. This charming picture book will spark conversations between adult and child and is a great introduction to a key early years concept. Its bold, colorful illustrations are perfect for parents and young children to explore together and to pour over time and again.

Stop, Go, Yes, No!

Written and illustrated by Mike Twohy

From the creator of the Geisel Honor winner Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! comes another irresistible tale that perfectly illustrates the humor of opposites. A cat stops. The dog goes. Dog says yes! Cat… no. In the vein of Tom and Jerry, Road Runner, Bugs Bunny, and other classic cartoons, Stop, Go, Yes, No! features an adorably enthusiastic dog and a less-enthusiastic cat on a chase full of silly and exciting turns, with a heartwarming twist. Don't miss this funny picture book about opposites from celebrated New Yorker cartoonist Mike Twohy.

Hippopposites

Written and illustrated by Janik Coat

Describes opposite aspects of a hippopotamus. On board pages.

Fun, Fun, Fun!

Written and illustrated by Derek Anderson

Croc is grumpy. Ally is happy. Croc sees a problem. Ally finds a solution. The best friends overcome their differences as they go for a swim, shop for hats, and deal with a big bug

Animal Opposites

Written and illustrated by Petr Horacek

Celebrated illustrator Petr Horácek offers a pop-up introduction to opposites with the help of a variety of creatures. Turn the pages, lift the flaps, and see animals of all shapes and sizes bring the world of opposites to life. From slow snail to fast cheetah, heavy hippo to light butterfly, smooth frog to prickly porcupine, Petr Horácek’s brightly colored pop-up animals and interactive flaps make early learning irresistible and fun.

We Love You, Rosie!

Written by Cynthia Rylant and illustrated by Linda Davick

Beloved author Cynthia Rylant offers a sweet story about a day in the life of a family dog as she explores the concept of opposites. Rosie is a very busy little dog. Sometimes she’s good, and sometimes she’s bad. Sometimes she wants to go out, and other times she wants to stay in. But no matter what, Rosie’s family loves her! With adorable illustrations and fun, snappy text, this cozy picture book is the perfect way to introduce young readers to the world of opposites.

Square

Written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen

The beguiling second entry in the innovative shape trilogy by multi-award-winning, New York Times best-selling duo Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen. This book is about Square. Square spends every day taking blocks from a pile below the ground to a pile above the ground. This book is also about Square's friend Circle. Circle thinks Square is an artistic genius. But is he really? With the second story in a trilogy of tales about Triangle, Square, and Circle, Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen nudge readers toward a more well-rounded way of looking at things. Understated and striking in its simplicity, this funny, thoughtful offering from two of today's most talented picture-book creators emphasizes the importance of keeping your eyes -- and your mind -- open to wonder where others see only rubble and rocks.

Triangle

Written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen

Meet Triangle. He is going to play a sneaky trick on his friend, Square. Or so Triangle thinks. . . . With this first tale in a new trilogy, partners in crime Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen will have readers wondering just who they can trust in a richly imagined world of shapes. Visually stunning and full of wry humor, here is a perfectly paced treat that could come only from the minds of two of today’s most irreverent — and talented — picture book creators.

When Andy Met Sandy

Written and illustrated by Tomie dePaola

Andy is small. Sandy is tall. Andy is quiet. Sandy is LOUD. But when these two seemingly opposites meet at a playground one day, it might just be the beginning of a beautiful friendship. Written in simple words and short, declarative sentences, this book is perfect for little ones just learning to read on their own.

Andy & Sandy's Anything Adventure

Written and illustrated by Tomie dePaola

Andy is small. Sandy is tall. Andy is quiet. Sandy is LOUD. Andy and Sandy may be opposites, but they’re best friends. And when they get together to play dress up, anything can happen. Written in simple words and short, declarative sentences, this book is perfect for little ones just learning to read on their own.

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More