Best Kids Books About Opposites

20 Kids Books About Opposites

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Triangle book
#1
Triangle
Written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Meet Triangle. He is going to play a sneaky trick on his friend, Square. Or so Triangle thinks. . . . With this first tale in a new trilogy, partners in crime Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen will have readers wondering just who they can trust in a richly imagined world of shapes. Visually stunning and full of wry humor, here is a perfectly paced treat that could come only from the minds of two of today’s most irreverent — and talented — picture book creators.

Les & Ronnie Step Out book
#2
Les & Ronnie Step Out
Written and illustrated by Andrew Kolb
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Meet a left and right foot who are a pair of complete opposites! Full of clever, giggle-inducing details, this lively odd-couple tale celebrates what makes us all unique, as well as the power of friendship to bring us together despite our differences. Feet come in twos, so they need to step out together. But Les and Ronnie often find it hard to cooperate. Les likes having a clean sock and being responsible. Ronnie is fine with a dirty sock and loves letting loose. Les is straight-laced while Ronnie doesn’t even care about laces. What’s a duo to do?

Niblet & Ralph book
#3
Niblet & Ralph
Written and illustrated by Zachariah OHora
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Niblet and Ralph may look a lot alike, but they are very different. Niblet loves noshing on crunchy potato chips. Ralph loves putting on headphones and jamming to his favorite records. But both cats have one thing in common: They love being friends and waving to each other from their windows across the courtyard of the apartment building they live in. One day, Niblet and Ralph decide it’s time to meet in person (or in cat?). But when they mistakenly end up at each other’s apartments, their owners think that Niblet is Ralph, and Ralph is Niblet! Will Niblet and Ralph be able to switch back to their proper homes, or will they be stuck listening to music (ugh) and eating chips (gross) forever? Better still, will they be able to bring their lovable (if not very observant) human families together?

Fun, Fun, Fun! book
#4
Fun, Fun, Fun!
Written and illustrated by Derek Anderson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Croc is grumpy. Ally is happy. Croc sees a problem. Ally finds a solution. The best friends overcome their differences as they go for a swim, shop for hats, and deal with a big bug

Animal Opposites book
#5
Animal Opposites
Written and illustrated by Petr Horacek
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Celebrated illustrator Petr Horácek offers a pop-up introduction to opposites with the help of a variety of creatures. Turn the pages, lift the flaps, and see animals of all shapes and sizes bring the world of opposites to life. From slow snail to fast cheetah, heavy hippo to light butterfly, smooth frog to prickly porcupine, Petr Horácek’s brightly colored pop-up animals and interactive flaps make early learning irresistible and fun.

We Love You, Rosie! book
#6
We Love You, Rosie!
Written by Cynthia Rylant and illustrated by Linda Davick
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Beloved author Cynthia Rylant offers a sweet story about a day in the life of a family dog as she explores the concept of opposites. Rosie is a very busy little dog. Sometimes she’s good, and sometimes she’s bad. Sometimes she wants to go out, and other times she wants to stay in. But no matter what, Rosie’s family loves her! With adorable illustrations and fun, snappy text, this cozy picture book is the perfect way to introduce young readers to the world of opposites.

Square book
#7
Square
Written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

The beguiling second entry in the innovative shape trilogy by multi-award-winning, New York Times best-selling duo Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen. This book is about Square. Square spends every day taking blocks from a pile below the ground to a pile above the ground. This book is also about Square's friend Circle. Circle thinks Square is an artistic genius. But is he really? With the second story in a trilogy of tales about Triangle, Square, and Circle, Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen nudge readers toward a more well-rounded way of looking at things. Understated and striking in its simplicity, this funny, thoughtful offering from two of today's most talented picture-book creators emphasizes the importance of keeping your eyes -- and your mind -- open to wonder where others see only rubble and rocks.

When Andy Met Sandy book
#8
When Andy Met Sandy
Written and illustrated by Tomie dePaola
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Andy is small. Sandy is tall. Andy is quiet. Sandy is LOUD. But when these two seemingly opposites meet at a playground one day, it might just be the beginning of a beautiful friendship. Written in simple words and short, declarative sentences, this book is perfect for little ones just learning to read on their own.

Andy & Sandy's Anything Adventure book
#9
Andy & Sandy's Anything Adventure
Written and illustrated by Tomie dePaola
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Andy is small. Sandy is tall. Andy is quiet. Sandy is LOUD. Andy and Sandy may be opposites, but they’re best friends. And when they get together to play dress up, anything can happen. Written in simple words and short, declarative sentences, this book is perfect for little ones just learning to read on their own.

Big Bear, Small Mouse book
#10
Big Bear, Small Mouse
Written by Karma Wilson and illustrated by Jane Chapman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

"A big bear and a small mouse discover all of the opposites between their animal friends"--

Water Land book
#11
Water Land
Written and illustrated by Christy Hale
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

This unique information book for the very young switches between bodies of water and corresponding land masses with the simple turn of a page. Full color.

Marta! Big & Small book
#12
Marta! Big & Small
Written by Jen Arena and illustrated by Angela Dominguez
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

In this story that incorporates Spanish words, Marta explores the world of opposites and animals.

Russell and the Lost Treasure book
#13
Russell and the Lost Treasure
Written and illustrated by Rob Scotton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Russell the sheep is determined to find the Lost Treasure of Frogsbottom. Equipped with his Super-Duper Treasure Seeker, Russell searches high and low, up and down, and in and out. Nothing! Finally, Russell finds an old chest! Could it be? Discover how Russell finds the most valuable treasure of all.

The North Wind and the Sun book
#14
The North Wind and the Sun
Written by Marilyn Helmer and illustrated by Sue Todd
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-8

When the North Wind brags about his strength, the Sun challenges him to a contest. Who will win?

Muddle & Mo's Worm Surprise book
#15
Muddle & Mo's Worm Surprise
Written and illustrated by Nikki Slade Robinson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Muddle is planning an extra-special picnic for best friend Mo. Muddle loves worms. Mo does not. Will Mo like Muddle's worm surprise picnic?

On the Playground book
#16
On the Playground
Written by Jillian Roberts and illustrated by Jane Heinrichs
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

On the Playground: Our First Talk About Prejudice focuses on introducing children to the complex topic of prejudice. Crafted around a narrative between a gradeschool-aged child and an adult, this inquiry-focused book will help children shape their understanding of diversity so they are better prepared to understand, and question, prejudice witnessed around them in their day-to-day lives and in the media. Dr. Jillian Roberts discusses types of discrimination children notice, what prejudice means, why it’s not okay, how to stand up against it and how kids can spread a message of inclusion and acceptance in the world around them.

Alone Together book
#17
Alone Together
Written and illustrated by Clayton Junior
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-6

Alone Together looks at opposites and contrasts through unusual and humorous examples in the animal world. This charming picture book will spark conversations between adult and child and is a great introduction to a key early years concept. Its bold, colorful illustrations are perfect for parents and young children to explore together and to pour over time and again.

Inside Outside book
#18
Inside Outside
Written by Anne-Margot Ramstein and illustrated by Matthias Aregui
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the creators of Before After comes another striking book of opposites, this time exploring the concepts of within and without with bright, bold graphics. Safe inside its shell, a baby bird prepares to brave the world. A spelunker descends into a wide and glittering cavern while fellow explorers cluster around a crack in the earth. Fire-red ants march busily around their anthill, oblivious of a hungry anteater waiting above. Smart and stylish, this oversize art book takes a unique approach to the concept of inside and outside, offering clever and unexpected examples that will delight readers and spark conversations about context and perspective. Inside Outside is sure to find a place in collections, on coffee tables, in classrooms, and anywhere curious minds can be found.

Stop, Go, Yes, No! book
#19
Stop, Go, Yes, No!
Written and illustrated by Mike Twohy
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the creator of the Geisel Honor winner Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! comes another irresistible tale that perfectly illustrates the humor of opposites. A cat stops. The dog goes. Dog says yes! Cat… no. In the vein of Tom and Jerry, Road Runner, Bugs Bunny, and other classic cartoons, Stop, Go, Yes, No! features an adorably enthusiastic dog and a less-enthusiastic cat on a chase full of silly and exciting turns, with a heartwarming twist. Don't miss this funny picture book about opposites from celebrated New Yorker cartoonist Mike Twohy.

Hippopposites book
#20
Hippopposites
Written and illustrated by Janik Coat
picture book
Recommend Ages: 1-3

Describes opposite aspects of a hippopotamus. On board pages.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.