Best Kids Books About Owls

9 Kids Books About Owls

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Brave Enough for Two book
#1
Brave Enough for Two
Written and illustrated by Jonathan D. Voss
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

In the spirit of "Goodnight Moon" and "The Night Gardener" comes a heartwarming picture book about a little girl, her stuffed-animal owl, and their loving friendship from debut author-illustrator Voss. Full color.

Owl Moon book
#2
Owl Moon
Written by Jane Yolen and illustrated by John Schoenherr
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Celebrating 30 years of the beloved classic Owl Moon from renowned children’s book author Jane Yolen and Caldecott Medal-winning illustrator John Schoenherr! Late one winter night a little girl and her father go owling. The trees stand still as statues and the world is silent as a dream. Whoo-whoo-whoo, the father calls to the mysterious nighttime bird. But there is no answer. Wordlessly the two companions walk along, for when you go owling you don’t need words. You don’t need anything but hope. Sometimes there isn’t an owl, but sometimes there is.

Little Owl Lost book
#3
Little Owl Lost
Written and illustrated by Chris Haughton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Uh-oh! Little Owl has fallen from his nest and landed with a whump on the ground. Now he is lost, and his mommy is nowhere to be seen! With the earnest help of his new friend Squirrel, Little Owl goes in search of animals that fit his description of Mommy Owl. But while some are big (like a bear) or have pointy ears (like a bunny) or prominent eyes (like a frog), none of them have all the features that make up his mommy. Where could she be? A cast of adorable forest critters in neon-bright hues will engage little readers right up to the story’s comforting, gently wry conclusion.

Little Owl's First Day book
#4
Little Owl's First Day
Written by Debi Gliori and illustrated by Alison Brown
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

It's a big day for Little Owl. His first day at school. Little Owl doesn't want a big day though. He'd rather stay at home and have fun with Mummy and Baby Owl. But at school he gets to build a rocket, learn to fly and even make a tiny new friend. Maybe big days spent with friends can be lots of fun after all! From the bestselling creators of Little Owl's Egg comes another gentle and comforting story about the lovable Little Owl. Perfect for any little one starting nursery or school.

Hidden City book
#5
Hidden City
Written by Sarah Grace Tuttle and illustrated by Amy Schimler-Safford
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A poetic book highlighting everyday nature The perfect blend of science and poetry, Hidden City demonstrates that nature can thrive anywhere, even in highly populated areas. In this graceful collection of poems, skyscrapers serve as perches for falcons, streetlights attract an insect buffet for hungry bats, and an overgrown urban lot offers shelter to both flora and fauna. Hidden City also includes engageing supplementary materials, which provide scientific information about the animals and plants featured in the book. Coupled with beautiful collage illustrations, the poems in Hidden City offer readers the perfect reminder to notice and care about their environment.

Imagine That book
#6
Imagine That
Written and illustrated by Jonathan D. Voss
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Beloved characters Hoot and Olive return in this beautiful picture book about imagination, rainy day adventures, and the spirit of friendship. Olive is a little girl with a big, bright imagination. Hoot is her stuffed-animal owl...and her best friend. The two love adventures of all sorts. But on the rainiest of days, there is only one thing to do: stay inside and imagine a whole new world. Just as they’re about to begin their adventure, Hoot makes a shocking discovery—his imagination is broken! Like the best of best friends, Olive comes up with some ideas to help him. But nothing is working: not the head unscrambler, the earmuffs, or the hypnosis. Just as the two are about to give up, Olive remembers the secret ingredient to imagination, and they give it one more try. Fans of Winnie-the-Pooh and Christopher Robin, George and Martha, and Frog and Toad are certain to fall in love with the next adventure in the Hoot & Olive series.

Little Owl's Snow book
#7
Little Owl's Snow
Written and illustrated by Divya Srinivasan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Little Owl experiences his first snow and first winter in this perfect follow-up to Little Owl’s Night and Little Owl’s Day! “Winter’s almost here!” says Little Owl, as he observes leaves falling, animal friends hibernating, and a chill from his feathers to his feet. And just as he and his friend racoon are watching their breath make fog in the cold air, it happens: Snow! Here is the perfect follow-up to Little Owl’s Night and Little Owl’s Day, and a wonderful introduction to the changing of the seasons!

A Song for Snow book
#8
A Song for Snow
Written and illustrated by Lita Judge
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

A young owl experiences the magic of a first snowfall—the quiet wintery wonder, the pristine beauty, and snowballs!—in this follow-up to the adorable Hoot and Peep It’s Peep’s first winter, and it’s going to snow very, very soon. Peep has so many questions for her older brother Hoot: Does snow drop, polppety splop, like the rain’s song? Does it scrinkle scrattle like falling leaves? But Hoot can’t remember snow very well. The one thing he knows for sure is that it is worth waiting for. But Peep doesn’t have his patience, and as she flies around the gorgeous Paris skies, she tries her best to make up her own snow song. But once those first snowflakes start to fall, Peep realizes just how wise her older brother really is for waiting…and just who she wants to cuddle up to when the snow starts to really sing. With all the wonder and the joy of a first snow day, and perfect for fans of The Quiet Book and Little Owl’s Night, this tender follow-up to Hoot and Peep is certainly worth waiting for, too.

Owl book
#9
Owl
Written and illustrated by Alex Brinded
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Here children can explore some of the most interesting and important life cycles in the animal kingdom. With engaging language and an innovative use of design, this series makes the science behind life cycles accessible to reluctant and confident readers alike.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.