17 Children's Books About Punny

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Chicken Lily book
#1
Chicken Lily
Written by Lori Mortensen and illustrated by Nina Victor Crittenden
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

"Through puns and poetry, Chicken Lily overcomes her fears and reads a poem onstage at her school poetry jam"--

Happy Birthday, Cupcake! book
#2
Happy Birthday, Cupcake!
Written and illustrated by Terry Border
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

From the creator of Peanut Butter & Cupcake comes a birthday book starring everyone’s favorite dessert! What’s a cupcake to do when she needs to plan her birthday party? In this hilarious, kid-friendly homage to food and birthdays, Cupcake runs through tons of ideas while her best friend, Blueberry Muffin, finds reasons why they won’t work: Soup gets seasick; Donut melts in the sun; someome might get squashed during musical chairs; and Cupcake is not very good at limbo (her icing might get sliced off!). Just as Cupcake is ready to crumble, Blueberry Muffin has one last idea that just might save the day. With laugh-out-loud visual gags (like a band made up of beans–the musical fruit, of course), this book is sure to put a birthday smile on any kid’s face (and on adult faces as well).

Ice Cream Summer book
#3
Ice Cream Summer
Written and illustrated by Peter Sis
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A little boy writes a letter to his grandfather about all the reading and studying he is doing this summer--but all his activities revolve around ice cream.

Milk Goes to School book
#4
Milk Goes to School
Written and illustrated by Terry Border
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

"First days of school are tough, and making new friends is even tougher. Milk's dad gave her a sparkly new backpack and told her that she was the creme de la creme, but most of the other kids don't seem to agree. In fact, some of her new classmates think Milk is just little a bit spoiled. . . . In this latest hilarious picture book from Terry Border, our food friends go to school and learn that it's not just Milk that's the creme de la creme. Some other food can be just as sweet."

Kick! Jump! Chop! book
#5
Kick! Jump! Chop!
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

In a tale reminiscent of The Gingerbread Man, Sensei bakes a Ninjabread Man to spice up the sparring in his dojo, and the new cookie is undefeated until a fox appears.

Wild Bios: Frida Catlo book
#6
Wild Bios: Frida Catlo
Written by Maggie Fischer, Courtney Acampora and illustrated by Lindsay Dale-Scott
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Frida Catlo was one purr-fect painter! Meet one of history’s greatest figures in this adorable board book with an animal twist! Famous Meowxican painter Frida Catlo was a pioneer for female artists. She always painted from the heart, even in the face of health problems and personal struggles. With hilarious puns and colorful illustrations, this book brings Frida’s legacy to life for babies and parents alike!

Peanut Butter's Yummy Numbers book
#7
Peanut Butter's Yummy Numbers
Written and illustrated by Terry Border
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Peanuts you can count on (literally). From the creator of Peanut Butter & Cupcake! Terry Border uses his funny food characters to create a a counting story perfect for his youngest fans. His Peanut People will dazzle kids with their group stunts as they go from 1 to 10. Readers young, old, and everywhere in between will fall head over heels for this hilarious board book starring Terry Border’s beloved punny characters.

Peanut Butter's Delicious Colors book
#8
Peanut Butter's Delicious Colors
Written and illustrated by Terry Border
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

What better way to learn colors than from food! Blue carrots? Purple eggs? Kids will laugh out loud at this new offering from the creator of Peanut Butter & Cupcake. Milk wants to give bows to all of her friends, and she wants them to match! She gives Carrot a blue bow, but that’s not right—Carrot is orange! She gives Lime a yellow bow, but that’s not right either—Lime is green! And when it comes to sprinkle-covered Cupcake, what is Milk supposed to do? She knows—Cupcake gets a Rainbow bow! In this latest addition to Terry Border’s fun, funny, and punny concept board books, colors get their time to shine.

ABCs of Engineering book
#9
ABCs of Engineering
Written and illustrated by Chris Ferrie
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

A new book in the bestselling series with simple explanations of complex ideas for your future genius! It only takes a small spark to ignite a child's mind! The ABCs of Engineering introduces babies (and grown-ups!) to a new engineering concept for every letter of the alphabet - including entries for various aspects of engineering like mechanical, architectural, and beyond. With a tongue-in-cheek approach that adults will love, this installment of the Baby University board book series is the perfect way to introduce basic concepts to even the youngest mathematicians.

Wild Bios: Neil Armswan book
#10
Wild Bios: Neil Armswan
Written by Courtney Acampora and illustrated by Zoe Persico
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Walk on the Moon with Neil Armswan! Meet one of history’s greatest figures in this adorable board book with an animal twist! With wings to the future and beak held high, Neil Armswan was a model astronaut and pioneer in space travel, leaving webbed footprints on the moon. With hilarious puns and colorful illustrations, this book brings his legacy and the Apollo 11 mission to life!

Sweet Success book
#11
Sweet Success
Written and illustrated by Jimmy Reed, Liz Reed
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Fans of Terry Border and Drew Daywalt will devour this punny and clay-ful picture book from the husband-and-wife duo behind the “Cuddles and Rage” webcomic. Nothing makes Scoops happier than starting a sweet new project. She just isn’t the best at completing them. So when she realizes that the Cherry twins’ surprise birthday bash is today and that she never finished making their special present, she waffles about whether to go. Scoops quickly throws something together and heads to the party—only to find that her gift doesn’t quite measure up. Will Scoops play it cool and figure something out . . . or will she have a complete meltdown?

Wild Bios: Amelia Harehart book
#12
Wild Bios: Amelia Harehart
Written by Courtney Acampora and illustrated by Bonnie Pang
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Amelia Harehart never let any hopstacles get in her way! Meet one of history’s greatest figures in this adorable board book with an animalistic twist! Dive into the life of the brave pilot Amelia Harehart, and the glass ceilings she flew through. Breaking records and always setting new goals to achieve, Amelia Harehart was an inspiration. With hilarious puns and colorful illustrations, this clever board book brings her legacy to life for babies and parents alike!

Noodlephant book
#13
Noodlephant
Written by Jacob Kramer and illustrated by K-Fai Steele
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Famous for her pasta parties, Noodlephant is shocked when the law-loving kangaroos decide noodles are only for them! Noodlephant won't let this stand--Noodlephants can't survive on sticks and branches, after all. Determined to do something to push back against an unjust law, she and her friends invent a machine that transforms pens into penne, pillows into ravioli, and radiators into radiatori. With that, the pasta parties are back! But that very night, the kangaroos come bounding through the door... ready to enforce their unjust laws. A zany tale of full of pasta puns, friendship, and one Phantastic Noodler, Noodlephant, written by Jacob Kramer and illustrated by K-Fai Steele, explores a community's response to injustice.

Breaking News: Bear Alert book
#14
Breaking News: Bear Alert
Written and illustrated by David Biedrzycki
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

We interrupt your day for this breaking news. . . Two bears awaken from hibernation and go to town—literally. During their visit, they eat at a diner, dress up at a department store, and stop a couple of bank robbers, all the while mistaking the townspeople’s terror for friendliness. The news-reporting-style of storytelling puts readers in the action and on the edge of their seats. Illustrations jam-packed with puns, clues, and jokes will have the whole family or classroom laughing out loud and eager to find out what happens next—will the bears terrorize the town? Will the cat burglars be caught? Will the city come to a grinding halt? Tune in to find out. We now return you to your regularly scheduled day.

Baby to Big book
#15
Baby to Big
Written and illustrated by Rajiv Fernandez
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Baby to Big is a high concept board book that translates familiar objects and ideas from a baby's world to that of their hip millennial adult counterparts, through bold, iconic images. A series debut, Baby to Big humorously compares the perspectives of babies and adults through vibrant illustrations. After creating a book of pictograms for his toddler nephew, designer and architect Rajiv Fernandez developed an idea of using iconic images to translate concepts between kids and grown ups. Coupling his trademark graphic style with his love for puns, Baby to Big takes cues from the millennial lexicon and pop culture to unite hip parents with growing little minds.

Mice Skating book
#16
Mice Skating
Written by Annie Silvestro and illustrated by Teagan White
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

For most field mice, winter means burrowing down and snuggling in. But not for Lucy! She loves snow crunching under her paws and wearing a fluffy wool hat. But most of all, Lucy loves to skate. The other mice just don’t understand. Can Lucy find a way to make her friends come out and “mice skate” too? A funny, punny, warmhearted love song to winter—and to one brave, bold mouse.

Peanut Butter's Tasty Opposites book
#17
Peanut Butter's Tasty Opposites
Written and illustrated by Terry Border
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Is Peanut Butter the opposite of Jelly? From the creator of Peanut Butter & Cupcake! With this book of delicious opposites, Terry Border creates a story perfect for his youngest fans. This time, his funny food characters show the differences between big and small, stop and go, up and down, and many other kid-friendly word pairs. One thing remains the same, though: Children and their parents will delight in this hilarious board book starring Terry Border’s beloved punny characters.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!