Discover

Company

Quests and Rescue: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about quests is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life! From Oakwing to The Great Pasta Escape there's something here for everyone's tastes. Do you have a favorite book about quests? Let us know!

Oakwing book
#1
Oakwing
Written and illustrated by EJ Clarke
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-11

After Rowan is mysteriously transformed into a tiny fairy, she is thrust into a world of fairy clans and talking robins where, she discovers, her long-missing mother is also trapped.

Stinkbomb and Ketchup-Face and the Quest for the Magic Porcupine book
#2
Stinkbomb and Ketchup-Face and the Quest for the Magic Porcupine
Written by John Dougherty and illustrated by Sam Ricks
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

The BADgers are back in Stinkbomb and Ketchup-Face’s second adventure, perfect for fans of The Stinky Cheese Man and Pseudonymous Bosch. The villainous badgers have escaped from prison, and it’s up to Stinkbomb and Ketchup-Face to find them and put them back! Only someone who knows about stories can point them in the right direction, so they consult Miss Butterworth, the Ninja Librarian. After referring to a copy of Stinkbomb and Ketchup-Face and the Quest for the Magic Porcupine, Miss Butterworth sends them on their quest. Along the way they encounter raccoons who are definitely NOT badgers in disguise, a really REALLY long traffic light, a rabbit in a prickly coat, and a banana-eating hammerhead shark, all leading to a showdown with the badgers. Can the kids think fast enough to save the king from being shot out of the biggest water rocket in the world? We don’t know. But we’re going to read it and find out!

The Wishbreaker book
#3
The Wishbreaker
Written by Tyler Whitesides
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Ace and Ridge are back to save their friend—and the world—in this sequel to The Wishmakers. Being a Wishmaker may be more trouble than it’s worth. Sure, you get a genie who can grant an unlimited number of wishes, but for each one you make you have to accept an awful consequence in return. Not to mention that you’re also given an impossible quest and only seven days to fulfill it! Despite all that, Ace and his genie, Ridge, managed to complete their last mission—but they couldn’t save their friend Tina from being abducted by a rogue genie who’s bent on using his limitless power to rule the world. To rescue her, Ace must reunite with Ridge to become a Wishmaker once more, and they’ll need to team up with the unlikeliest of new allies. It’s not every day you get a second chance to save the world, so Ace is determined to learn from his past mistakes and wish for the best, literally. Perfect for fans of Max Brailler, Adam Gidwitz, and Dan Gutman, this middle grade series is a wonderful mix of unpredictable magic, zany humor, and daring adventure. “An ingenious premise” raved Kirkus in a starred review!

Quest book
#4
Quest
Written and illustrated by Aaron Becker
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A king emerges from a hidden door in a city park, startling two children sheltering from the rain. No sooner does he push a map and some strange objects into their hands than he is captured by hostile forces that whisk him back through the enchanted door. Just like that, the children are caught up in a quest to rescue the king and his kingdom from darkness, while illuminating the farthest reaches of their imagination. Colored markers in hand, they make their own way through the portal, under the sea, through a tropical paradise, over a perilous bridge, and high in the air with the help of a winged friend. Journey lovers will be thrilled to follow its characters on a new adventure threaded with familiar elements, while new fans will be swept into a visually captivating story that is even richer and more exhilarating than the first.

Daughters of Steel book
#5
Daughters of Steel
Written and illustrated by Naomi Cyprus
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Halan was once a powerless princess. Now she’s taken her rightful place as queen of the Magi Kingdom—but she wonders if she’ll ever be the ruler her people deserve. And Nalah used to be a powerful pauper. Now she’s the Queen’s Sword—but the more Nalah’s powers grow, the more unruly they become. One vision changes everything. Nalah embarks on a quest across the desert to harness her powers, while Halan must travel through the Transcendent Mirror to help the Thaumas of New Hadar. As a dark threat draws closer, can Nalah and Halan reunite to save both worlds—and the future of magic?

  1. A Fairy's Courage - Being a fairy is a lot more dangerous than you think… Ever since Rowan was transformed into a fairy, her life has been filled with perilous adventure. And when her mom is kidnapped by an evil fairy called Vulpes and his army of foxes, Rowan sets off on her most dangerous mission yet. With the help of her fairy friends—plus a tiger released from London Zoo!—she’s sure she can rescue her mom and save the fairy realms. But Vulpes is cunning and sly. And he’s luring Rowan right into a trap.

  2. Gertie Milk and the Great Keeper Rescue - Ever since Gertie Milk arrived on the mysterious island of Skuldark, she's felt like something was missing. According to Kolt, her mentor and fellow Keeper of Lost Things, the island used to be filled with other Keepers. But now Gertie and Kolt are the only two people left (or two and a half, if you count Robot Rabbit Boy, their bumbling but lovable Series 7 Artificial Intelligence Forever Friend) who can return misplaced items throughout time. So when Gertie learns that the missing Keepers have been imprisoned by the Losers, their very evil adversaries, she knows she must make it her mission to rescue the kidnapped Keepers and return them to Skuldark. But that proves more difficult than she'd imagined, since her time-travel missions don't seem to be taking her anywhere near the missing Keepers. And it doesn't help that the Losers have an evil master plan worse than their last evil master plan, and this time the entire future of the universe is at stake. Fueled by more than a few delicious cakes and plenty of Skuldarkian seawater, Gertie, Kolt, and Robot Rabbit Boy must travel through time (and space!) to save their island home and rescue the Keepers who've been lost to history before the Losers manage to capture them all.

  3. Blueberry Pancakes Forever: Finding Serendipity Book Three - In this third middle-grade adventure from the author of Finding Serendipity, Tuesday McGillycuddy must grapple with a new villain in the Land of Story. After an unthinkable loss, time seems to freeze for Tuesday and her mother, the famous author Serendipity Smith. In the land of story, Vivienne Small's world is frozen too—a perpetual winter has fallen. When a terrible villain takes Vivienne hostage, it's up to Tuesday to save her friend—and herself. On her quest, she'll discover what lies at the bottom of her heart, and at the heart of her writing. Beautifully told with warmth and joy, this great adventure is a celebration of life—and love. Don't miss this heartwarming conclusion to the Finding Serendipity series!

  4. Of Mice and Magic - "Princess Harriet has absolutely no interest in brushing her hair, singing duets with woodland animals, or any other typical princess activities. So when a fairy tells a very bored Harriet about twelve mice princesses who are cursed to dance all night long, she happily accepts the quest and sets off with a poncho of invisibility and her trusty battle quail. But when she arrives at the Mouse Kingdom, she discovers there's more to the curse than meets the eye, and trying to help is dangerous business . . . even for a tough princess like Harriet.

Cucumber Quest: The Melody Kingdom book
#10
Cucumber Quest: The Melody Kingdom
Written and illustrated by Gigi D G
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Now with Princess Nautilus as part of their entourage, Cucumber and Almond travel to Trebleopolis to warn Princess Piano that Noisemaster, second of the Nightmare Knight's minions, might be after her! Unfortunately, they arrive just in time for Queen Cymbal's birthday and the Queen refuses to stop the festivities . . . that is until Noisemaster succeeds in capturing Princess Piano and threatens to destroy the city. Adapted from the popular webcomic series of the same name, Cucumber Quest: The Melody Kingdom is the third book of a clever, adorable, and hilarious four-volume heroic adventure that is sure to make you hungry for sweets and action.

The Nameless City book
#11
The Nameless City
Written and illustrated by Faith Erin Hicks
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Every time it is invaded the City gets a new name, but to the natives in is the Nameless City, and they survive by not letting themselves get involved--but now the fate of the City rests in the hands of Rat, a native, and Kaidu, one of the Dao, the latest occupiers, and the two must somehow work together if the City is to survive.

Worse, Worser, Wurst book
#12
Worse, Worser, Wurst
Written by Nancy Krulik and illustrated by Ben Balistreri
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

There's trouble in the kingdom of Salamistonia! Lester the jester has been kidnapped by an evil wizard. Now Princess Pulverizer has the perfect opportunity to complete the next good deed on her Quest of Kindness: a rescue mission! Illustrations.

Lost and Found (Witherwood Reform School Series #2) book
#13
Lost and Found (Witherwood Reform School Series #2)
Written by Obert Skye and illustrated by Keith Thompson
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Lost & Found by Obert Skye, the thrilling second installment of the Witherwood Reform School series, is an unforgettable story full of dark humor and adventure. Tobias and Charlotte Eggers are not on vacation. Well, I suppose they are on a vacation from everything they once knew. Locked within the walls of Witherwood, high upon a mysterious mesa, they are still looking for a way out. There are distractions, however. The very ground is shaking, and the creatures that protect the school are revolting. When one of their only friends goes missing it leads to a devastating secret. But there is hope. There are other students who have clear minds and are also fighting to get out. Luckily for everyone, Tobias has a plan. It's a dangerous one, but if it works, it could forever change their fate and Witherwood's future.

The Great Pasta Escape book
#14
The Great Pasta Escape
Written by Miranda Paul and illustrated by Javier Joaquin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Join a ragtag group of pasta as they complete the greatest escape of their lives in this hilarious new book by Miranda Paul! Since the beginning of their lives (which was earlier that morning), the pasta at the factory followed the rules. They stuck to their own kind. They stayed still in their packaging. And they never spoke to humans. That is, until they discover what it really means to be pasta: they will eventually be eaten by humans! Fettuccine is scared, Ramen is outraged, and Mac is just trying to keep the peace among all the pasta. Will they be able to work together to use their noodles and concoct a great escape?

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!