Best Children's Books About Respect

9 Children's Books About Respect

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Goldi Rocks and the Three Bears book
#1
Goldi Rocks and the Three Bears
Written by Beth Coulton, Corey Rosen Schwartz and illustrated by Nate Wragg
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Papa Bear, Mama Bear, and Baby Bear know how to rock! But they need a new singer, so they audition everyone—the Three Pigs, Little Red Riding Hood, and more. To their dismay, no one seems just right. Could the perfect lead singer be the mysterious girl sleeping on Baby Bear’s keyboard? This mash up of Goldilocks and the Three Bears and The Voice is a surefire storytime hit.

The Boy & the Book book
#2
The Boy & the Book
Written by David Michael Slater and illustrated by Bob Kolar
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-4

In this wordless story, a little boy finds a book that he loves at the library. It’s a match made in kid lit heaven. But not for the book. Sometimes the little boy’s excitement gets the better of him and the book suffers from possibly too much love: bent pages, tears, hugs, tossing, and shaking. The poor book requires first aid from his friends. Every time the boy comes to the library, the books hide and plan escape routes. But when the book gets away from imminent danger in the boy’s hands, the look of loss in the boy’s eyes is enough to turn a tragic tale into a love story. The boy soon learns that the book is not just an object and is so much more on the inside. He loves the story the book gives him more than the fun he had playing with it. Bob Kolar’s charming and hilarious illustrations show how sometimes our love for a good book can be too much, but with a more gentle touch, books can give us much comfort and joy.

The Capybara Conspiracy book
#3
The Capybara Conspiracy
Written and illustrated by Erica S Perl
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

Fans of Tim Federle and Louis Sachar will love this hilarious story of what happens when the non-jocks kidnap their sports-obsessed school's beloved mascot. Seventh-grade playwright Olive Henry is frustrated by her middle school's lack of appreciation for anything but sports. While the principal drones on and on during morning announcements about the sports teams' victories, all non-athletic club meetings are relegated to the school basement, never to be mentioned on the loudspeaker. So Olive and her best friend, Reynaldo, hatch a plan to kidnap the school's capybara mascot, planning to return it, heroically, just in time for the school's pep rally and claim a reward: permission for their drama club to practice in the auditorium. And, hopefully, some overdue respect for the school's non-athletes. But when an animal-rights student activist and an undercover athlete with murky motivations join in the conspiracy, their plans--along with Cappy the capybara--veer wildly out of Olive's control.

Ally-Saurus and the Very Bossy Monster book
#4
Ally-Saurus and the Very Bossy Monster
Written and illustrated by Richard Torrey
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

What happens when a bossy new girl tries to make everyone play by her rules? Ally-saurus is back--and ROARING louder than ever! Ally-saurus and her friends always have lots of fun playing pretend. They stomp, they roar, they dance, each in their own way. But new girl Maddie wants everyone to play by HER rules. "Monsters can't be dinosaurs or dancers," she insists. Worst of all, she won't let little Petee have his teddy bear! Can Ally-saurus help Maddie understand that bossiness is no fun at all? With charm and humor, Richard Torrey teaches a gentle lesson in respecting each other's differences . . . and playing nice.

Rescue and Jessica book
#5
Rescue and Jessica
Written by Patrick Downes, Jessica Kensky and illustrated by Scott Magoon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Based on a real-life partnership, the heartening story of the love and teamwork between a girl and her service dog will illuminate and inspire. Rescue thought he'd grow up to be a Seeing Eye dog -- it's the family business, after all. When he gets the news that he's better suited to being a service dog, he's worried that he's not up to the task. Then he meets Jessica, a girl whose life is turning out differently than the way she'd imagined it, too. Now Jessica needs Rescue by her side to help her accomplish everyday tasks. And it turns out that Rescue can help Jessica see after all: a way forward, together, one step at a time. An endnote from the authors tells more about the training and extraordinary abilities of service dogs, particularly their real-life best friend and black lab, Rescue.

The Fourth Ruby book
#6
The Fourth Ruby
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Jack and Gwen are back in this dynamic follow-up to The Lost Property Office. It’s been a year since Jack Buckles discovered the Keep beneath Baker Street, an underground tower no Section Thirteen was ever supposed to see; a year since his dad fell into a coma. Nothing has been the same since. Jack’s tracker abilities are on the fritz, Gwen’s not speaking to him and, what’s worse, there’s a pounding voice in his head calling for “the flame.” Then, Jack and Gwen are framed for the theft of a historic crown jewel—the Black Prince’s Ruby, one of three cursed rubies said to bring knowledge, loyalty, and the command of nations to whomever wields them all. Now, they must retrieve the other jewels before the true thief does, or risk unleashing a reign of terror unlike anything history’s ever seen.

I'll Save You Bobo! book
#7
I'll Save You Bobo!
Written by Eileen Rosenthal and illustrated by Marc Rosenthal
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Willy writes a storybook starring Bobo in order to act out his revenge fantasies on Earl, who retaliates by continually wrecking Willy's stories until the duo realizes that they both have something in common.

Saving Marty book
#8
Saving Marty
Written by Paul Griffin
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

From the award-winning author of "Ten Mile River" and "When Friendship Followed Me Home" comes a warm and heart-wrenching story of the friendship between a boy and a pig that thinks it's a dog.

Monkey Truck book
#9
Monkey Truck
Written and illustrated by Michael Slack
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-4

Monkey Truck comes racing to the rescue anytime there is trouble in the jungle--such as when chameleons need to be rescued, or snakes untangled or hippos pulled free--in a playful preschool title with extra sturdy pages.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.