Best Kids Books About Robots

17 Kids Books About Robots

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Norton and Alpha book
#1
Norton and Alpha
Written and illustrated by Kristyna Litten
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-7

Battered wheels, rusty cogs, broken springs: Norton, an adorable robot, collects this junk and uses it to create amazing inventions. But one day he and his dog Alpha find something they ve never seen before: a flower! At first, they re baffled . . . but when a seed blossoms into a flowery field, the two discover the true magic of nature. Includes a big, stunning gatefold!"

Night Air book
#2
Night Air
Written and illustrated by Ben Sears
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Plus Man is a roguish knave without equal, an antihero in his own mind. His coolheaded robot, however, knows better. This odd couple has just been given a break: a tip on a score of valuable alloy. The catch? The alloy is in a haunted castle. One really haunted castle.

Robo-Sauce book
#3
Robo-Sauce
Written by Adam Rubin and illustrated by Daniel Salmieri
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Fans of the best-selling Dragons Love Tacos will devour Adam Rubin and Daniel Salmieri’s newest story, a hilarious picture book about robots that magically transforms into a super shiny metal ROBO-BOOK. FACT: Robots are awesome. They have lasers for eyes, rockets for feet, and supercomputers for brains! Plus, robots never have to eat steamed beans or take baths, or go to bed. If only there were some sort of magical “Robo-Sauce” that turned squishy little humans into giant awesome robots… Well, now there is. Giggle at the irreverent humor, gasp at the ingenious fold-out surprise ending, and gather the whole family to enjoy a unique story about the power of imagination. It’s picture book technology the likes of which humanity has never seen!

Raybot and Weebot book
#4
Raybot and Weebot
Written and illustrated by Adam F. Watkins
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Watch out, Raybot, there’s a new robot in the junkyard! Weebot is cute, precocious, and looking for trouble. Raybot now has two friends, and he’s never been happier. That is, until Weebot arrives at the junkyard. At first, Raybot enjoys being Weebot’s big brother, but he soon sees that the little robot is noisy, messy, and always breaking Raybot’s toys. Can Raybot learn to embrace the chaos caused by this adorable little robot, or will Weebot’s excitability and endless energy become too much for Raybot to handle? Adam F. Watkins has crafted a new and hilarious tale of friendship and family in his third robot-themed picture book, Raybot and Weebot.

Raybot book
#5
Raybot
Written and illustrated by Adam F. Watkins
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

When an inquisitive robot named Raybot begins to explore Earth, he knows he is supposed to find the thing that goes “bark.” But try as he might, all he can find are things that go “roar” and “oink” and “moo.” Still, Raybot keeps searching, and on the way, he discovers that Earth is full of interesting, friendly creatures. Children will relate to Raybot’s wonder as he discovers new sounds and animals in the world, and adults will appreciate the detail and beauty in the hand-painted illustrations.

Goodnight, Little Bot book
#6
Goodnight, Little Bot
Written by Karen Kaufman Orloff and illustrated by Kim Smith
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Even little robots need their rest--and their parents tuck them in just as human mommies and daddies do. It doesn't matter if young bots slip on their pjs over power packs and snack on batteries; just like children, they love bedtime stories, hugs, a cuddly toy, and lullabies. This sweet goodnight story is perfect for winding kids (and robots) down for the night.

Bitty Bot's Big Beach Getaway book
#7
Bitty Bot's Big Beach Getaway
Written by Tim McCanna and illustrated by Tad Carpenter
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The world’s cutest robot goes on a rhyming, deep-sea adventure with two new friends in this sweet and silly companion to Bitty Bot.

Bitty Bot book
#8
Bitty Bot
Written by Tim McCanna and illustrated by Tad Carpenter
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

"All of the bots in Botsburg are powering down for the night...but Bitty Bot isn't tired! Bitty decides to build a rocket and go on a space adventure instead of going to sleep"--

Little Robot Alone book
#9
Little Robot Alone
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Little Robot’s life is peaceful—yet maybe it’s a little too peaceful. But wait! He has an idea. With a little hard work, perseverance, and resourceful thinking, can Little Robot build his way to the perfect cure for loneliness?

Curiosity book
#10
Curiosity
Written and illustrated by Markus Motum
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Maybe you remember when a little robotic spacecraft landed on a far-off planet. On August 6, 2012, the rover Curiosity touched down on the rocky surface of Mars—and now she’s ready to guide you through her journey firsthand. From idea to creation and beyond, this fact-filled, stylish book introduces readers to Curiosity and her mission: to discover more about the red planet and search for evidence of life. How did Curiosity get her name? What tools does she use to carry out her tasks? In her own voice, the popular NASA rover tells how and why she traveled more than 350,000,000 miles to explore a planet no human has ever visited . . . and what she’s been doing there. In his debut picture book, Markus Motum brings Curiosity’s story to life in vivid color: the deep blues of space set off the warm, rusted hues of Mars’s dusty red surface, marking this lovable rover and her mission as something special—truly a world apart.

Robot in Love book
#11
Robot in Love
Written and illustrated by T. L. McBeth
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When a shiny, beautiful stranger catches Robot's eye, he knows she's the one. He thinks about her all the time. He even makes her a gift. But will he be able to keep his circuits from overheating and work up the courage to talk to her? T. L. McBeth spins a funny and heartwarming story of love—perfect for sharing at Valentine's!

Rusty The Squeaky Robot book
#12
Rusty The Squeaky Robot
Written and illustrated by Neil Clark
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Rusty is a friendly robot, but not a very happy one; he’s feeling down about the way that he sounds. The other robots on Planet Robotone – Belle, Twango, Hoot and Boom-Bot – show Rusty that being a little bit different is the best way to be, and together make a raucous song and dance that celebrates their differences. This charming story about friendship, self-discovery and the strength of pooling everyone's talents together has a strong, empowering message of acceptance and embracing individuality. With wonderful, contemporary illustrations that will appeal to young children and parents alike, the story will provoke thought – and conversation – about being different, and how we should all embrace our characteristics and be comfortable and confident in ourselves.

The Runaway Robot book
#13
The Runaway Robot
Written by Rachel Ruiz and illustrated by Steve May
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Harry's latest invention--a Superhero Robot programmed to do chores--malfunctions, and the robot goes out of control, creating chaos at school.

Poof! A Bot! book
#14
Poof! A Bot!
Written and illustrated by David Milgrim
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Zip the unlucky magician gets into another hilarious (and sticky) situation in the second book in the Adventures of Zip Ready-to-Go! series from author-illustrator David Milgrim, who was awarded a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor for his Ready-to-Read, Go, Otto, Go! Zip has zapped a bot. Zip tells the bot what to do. Will the bot listen? (Spoiler alert: The bot does not listen and Zip learns an important lesson, complete with a pie being thrown in his face!) Perfect for kids at the beginning of their reading journeys, Poof! A Bot! was written for children who have learned the alphabet and are ready to start reading! And what better way to get kids excited than with a hilarious out-of-this-world adventure featuring words they can actually read and starring a zany magician? Each Ready-to-Go! Ready-to-Read includes a note to parents explaining what their child can expect, a guide at the beginning for readers to become familiar with the words they will encounter in the story, and reading comprehension questions at the end. Each Ready-to-Go! story contains no more than 100 words and features sight words, rhyming words, and repetition to help children reinforce their new reading skills. In this book, readers will learn thirty-five sight words and six words from one word family. So come on and get reading with Zip!

Love, Z book
#15
Love, Z
Written and illustrated by Jessie Sima
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the creator of Not Quite Narwhal comes the story of a young robot trying to find the meaning of “love.” When a small robot named Z discovers a message in a bottle signed “Love, Beatrice,” they decide to find out what “love” means. Unable to get an answer from the other robots, they leave to embark on an adventure that will lead them to Beatrice—and back home again, where love was hiding all along.

Brobot Bedtime book
#16
Brobot Bedtime
Written by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and illustrated by Scott Campbell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

The Brobots have had a long day, and it is time to recharge and enter sleep mode. Buzz and Crash have no problem falling asleep, but Beep s got a case of the flick-ups. Luckily, Buzz knows just the trick: scare Beep with a monster mask! Does it work? Affirmative. No more flick-ups. But Beep still can t sleep. He s afraid of monsters! Plan of action: turn on the lights. Problem solved? Negative. Now it s too bright. Block the light with blankets? Too hot. Add a fan? Too loud. Can the Brobots power down before Beep has a breakdown? This hilarious bedtime romp explores the universal experience of siblings settling in for the night with a clever robot twist. "

My Teacher Is a Robot book
#17
My Teacher Is a Robot
Written and illustrated by Jeffrey Brown
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes an imaginative picture book about a kid whose creative outlook has everyone at school seeing the world through new eyes. Perfect for fans of The Adventures of Beekle and The Most Magnificent Thing. Fred does not want to go to school because it's boring. Especially since he thinks his teacher is a robot. If only Fred could imagine a way for his day to be more exciting... An inventively funny picture book that celebrates the boundlessness of a child's imagination and celebrates the teachers, families, and friends who get wrapped up in their fantastic worlds.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.