Best Children's Books About Rocks

16 Children's Books About Rocks

Updated Jan. 18, 2019
Stick and Stone (Board Book) book
#1
Stick and Stone (Board Book)
Written by Beth Ferry and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-0

Stick and Stone are sticking together in this hilarious and heart-warming board book that proves once and for all why best friends ROCK!

The Little Dump Truck book
#2
The Little Dump Truck
Written by Margery Cuyler and illustrated by Bob Kolar
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A happy little dump truck, driven by Hard Hat Pete, hauls stones, rocks, and debris from a construction site to a landfill.

Barnum's Bones book
#3
Barnum's Bones
Written by Tracey Fern and illustrated by Boris Kulikov
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Documents the work of an early 20th-century paleontologist, named after the famous circus icon by his ambitious parents, who grew up to work for the American Museum of Natural History and discovered the first documented skeletons of the Tyrannosaurus Rex and other noteworthy species. By the author of Pippo the Fool.

Construction Kitties book
#4
Construction Kitties
Written by Judy Sue Goodwin Sturges and illustrated by Shari Halpern
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Wearing their hats, Construction Kitties use heavy equipment to dig, move, push, and smooth the dirt.

Dalmatian in a Digger book
#5
Dalmatian in a Digger
Written and illustrated by Rebecca Elliott
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Dig to Disaster: A Miss Mallard Mystery book
#6
Dig to Disaster: A Miss Mallard Mystery
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

World-famous duck-tective Miss Mallard must discover who is terrorizing an archaeological expedition in this mystery that launches QUIX, a new line of fun-to-read short chapter books that are perfect for emerging readers. A terrifying headless demon threatens an archaeological expedition in the jungles of South America in this Miss Mallard Mystery. Bestselling author Robert Quackenbush’s super-sleuth, Miss Mallard, is on the case to find the true villain!

Charlotte and the Rock book
#7
Charlotte and the Rock
Written by Stephen W. Martin and illustrated by Samantha Cotterill
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

An unexpected friendship forms between a girl and her pet rock in this charming story that’s perfect for fans of What Pet Should I Get? Charlotte has always really wanted a pet, so when her parents present her with one for her birthday she expects a cat, dog, or maybe a bird. Instead, she receives a rock. Rocks can’t cuddle, fetch, or even help her eat her vegetables, but that doesn’t stop Charlotte from loving her rock as if he were real. If only he could love her back…or can he?

The Thunder Egg book
#8
The Thunder Egg
Written by Tim J Myers and illustrated by Winfield Coleman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Stands-by-Herself lives with her grandmother in a buffalo-hide tipi among their Cheyenne people on the Great Plains. Other children make fun of her because she is always by herself dreaming. One day she finds a strange egg-shaped rock and senses there is something special about it. Taking it home, she cares for it as if it were a child, even though the other children mock her. When a terrible drought threatens to wipe out her people, could Stands-by-Herself’s rock hold the key to their survival? The Thunder Egg is the story of a girl’s coming of age, when she realizes that life can require us to think of others before ourselves and to follow what our hearts tell us. Featuring an author’s note, informative notes on the illustrations, and a bibliography, the book is filled with vibrant images of Plains Indian life in the unspoiled West. Carefully crafted text and paintings bring a true authenticity to the time, place, and people of the story.

Rocks book
#9
Rocks
Written by Carol Lawrence and illustrated by Francesco Zito
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

What are rocks? How are rocks formed? Why do some of them glitter? Baby Explorer encourages little ones to explore the world around them, through their five senses of seeing, touching, hearing, smelling, or tasting.

The Case of Windy Lake book
#10
The Case of Windy Lake
Written and illustrated by Michael Hutchinson
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Sam, Otter, Atim and Chickadee are four cousins growing up on the Windy Lake First Nation. They are inseparable. Nicknamed the Mighty Muskrats for their habit of laughing, fighting and adventuring together, the cousins find that each new exploit adds to their reputation. When a visiting archeologist goes missing, the cousins decide to solve the mystery of his disappearance. In the midst of community conflict, family concerns and environmental protests, the four get busy following every lead. From their base of operations in a fort made out of an old school bus, the Mighty Muskrats won’t let anything stop them from solving their case!

Bone Beds of the Badlands  book
#11
Bone Beds of the Badlands
Written and illustrated by Shane Peacock
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Bone Beds of the Badlands transports readers to the heart of dinosaur country in the most gripping and terrifying Dylan Maples Adventure yet! Dylan and his best friends, Terry, Rhett and the Bomb, have won first place in the National Science Fair for their amazing mechanical T. rex. The prize: a parent-free trip to the badlands of Alberta. Unfortunately, the area is the scene of a manhunt for a desperate killer. When the boys get separated from their guided tour of Dinosaur Provincial Park, they may be lost, but they’re not alone…

Dave's Rock book
#12
Dave's Rock
Written and illustrated by Frann Preston-Gannon
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Dave loves his rock. Jon loves his rock, too. The two buddies compete over whose rock is biggest, fastest, prettiest, and tallest. But their woodland friends have other ideas for how to use these circles with holes in the middle. Anyone up for a ride?

The Blue Pebble book
#13
The Blue Pebble
Written by Anne-Gaelle Balpe and illustrated by Eve Tharlet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Under a daisy Oli finds a pebble. Everyone he shows it to tells him to throw it away. But Oli just knows he'll find a use for it one day. At last he meets a very sad girl and finds he was right all along. His pebble is special after all.

A Chip Off the Old Block book
#14
A Chip Off the Old Block
Written by Jody Jensen Shaffer and illustrated by Daniel Miyares
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

A plucky pebble shows true grit as he travels the country trying to find out if he fits in with any of his famous rock-formation relatives. Rocky comes from a long line of rock stars! Uncle Gibraltar, Aunt Etna, and Great-Grandma Half Dome are just some of the legendary rock formations he calls family. It's no wonder he wants to matter in a big way too--but it's not easy trying to get a foothold. Rocky gets tossed by The Wave and driven away at Devil's Tower--but he's determined not to allow these pitfalls to chip away at his confidence. Rather than feeling crushed, he keeps on rolling, hoping to become the rock-star he knows he's meant to be.

The Big Red Rock book
#15
The Big Red Rock
Written and illustrated by Jess Stockham
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

When Bif finds a big red rock blocking his way, he decides it has to go. But how? Nothing he tries will move it. Bif's friend Bop knows some monsters who might be able to help. When none of their ingenious methods work, they all have to decide what to do next - with surprising results! A simple and comic tale about teamwork and problem solving.

Construction Alphabet book
#16
Construction Alphabet
Written by Jerry Pallotta and illustrated by Rob Bolster, Jerry Pallotta
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

For fans of all things that go this noisy alphabet book explores construction equipment from A to Z. Find out about these construction machines and more, from a huge saw that cuts through roads to a massive vacuum that sucks up boulders. You’ll even learn a quick and easy recipe for concrete. Rock crushers, jackhammers, and wrecking balls will delight the youngest of readers learning their ABCs. Jerry Pallotta’s trademark humor punctuates the informative text. Vibrant oil paintings bring to life a busy construction site.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.