Best Kids Books About Rocks

9 Kids Books About Rocks

Updated Jan. 18, 2019
Charlotte and the Rock book
#1
Charlotte and the Rock
Written by Stephen W. Martin and illustrated by Samantha Cotterill
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

An unexpected friendship forms between a girl and her pet rock in this charming story that’s perfect for fans of What Pet Should I Get? Charlotte has always really wanted a pet, so when her parents present her with one for her birthday she expects a cat, dog, or maybe a bird. Instead, she receives a rock. Rocks can’t cuddle, fetch, or even help her eat her vegetables, but that doesn’t stop Charlotte from loving her rock as if he were real. If only he could love her back…or can he?

The Little Dump Truck book
#2
The Little Dump Truck
Written by Margery Cuyler and illustrated by Bob Kolar
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A happy little dump truck, driven by Hard Hat Pete, hauls stones, rocks, and debris from a construction site to a landfill.

Barnum's Bones book
#3
Barnum's Bones
Written by Tracey Fern and illustrated by Boris Kulikov
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Documents the work of an early 20th-century paleontologist, named after the famous circus icon by his ambitious parents, who grew up to work for the American Museum of Natural History and discovered the first documented skeletons of the Tyrannosaurus Rex and other noteworthy species. By the author of Pippo the Fool.

Construction Kitties book
#4
Construction Kitties
Written by Judy Sue Goodwin Sturges and illustrated by Shari Halpern
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Wearing their hats, Construction Kitties use heavy equipment to dig, move, push, and smooth the dirt.

The Big Red Rock book
#5
The Big Red Rock
Written and illustrated by Jess Stockham
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

When Bif finds a big red rock blocking his way, he decides it has to go. But how? Nothing he tries will move it. Bif's friend Bop knows some monsters who might be able to help. When none of their ingenious methods work, they all have to decide what to do next - with surprising results! A simple and comic tale about teamwork and problem solving.

Dalmatian in a Digger book
#6
Dalmatian in a Digger
Written and illustrated by Rebecca Elliott
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

A Chip Off the Old Block book
#7
A Chip Off the Old Block
Written by Jody Jensen Shaffer and illustrated by Daniel Miyares
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

A plucky pebble shows true grit as he travels the country trying to find out if he fits in with any of his famous rock-formation relatives. Rocky comes from a long line of rock stars! Uncle Gibraltar, Aunt Etna, and Great-Grandma Half Dome are just some of the legendary rock formations he calls family. It's no wonder he wants to matter in a big way too--but it's not easy trying to get a foothold. Rocky gets tossed by The Wave and driven away at Devil's Tower--but he's determined not to allow these pitfalls to chip away at his confidence. Rather than feeling crushed, he keeps on rolling, hoping to become the rock-star he knows he's meant to be.

The Thunder Egg book
#8
The Thunder Egg
Written by Tim J Myers and illustrated by Winfield Coleman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Stands-by-Herself lives with her grandmother in a buffalo-hide tipi among their Cheyenne people on the Great Plains. Other children make fun of her because she is always by herself dreaming. One day she finds a strange egg-shaped rock and senses there is something special about it. Taking it home, she cares for it as if it were a child, even though the other children mock her. When a terrible drought threatens to wipe out her people, could Stands-by-Herself’s rock hold the key to their survival? The Thunder Egg is the story of a girl’s coming of age, when she realizes that life can require us to think of others before ourselves and to follow what our hearts tell us. Featuring an author’s note, informative notes on the illustrations, and a bibliography, the book is filled with vibrant images of Plains Indian life in the unspoiled West. Carefully crafted text and paintings bring a true authenticity to the time, place, and people of the story.

The Blue Pebble book
#9
The Blue Pebble
Written by Anne-Gaelle Balpe and illustrated by Eve Tharlet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Under a daisy Oli finds a pebble. Everyone he shows it to tells him to throw it away. But Oli just knows he'll find a use for it one day. At last he meets a very sad girl and finds he was right all along. His pebble is special after all.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.