8 Children's Books About Scared

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats book
#1
Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats
Written by Alicia Potter and illustrated by Birgitta Sif
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

A tale with many tails, perfect for cat lovers everywhere! Miss Hazeltine is opening a very special school for shy and fearful cats. They come from all over, and Miss Hazeltine gives them lessons in everything, from “Bird Basics” to “How Not to Fear the Broom.” The most timid of all is Crumb. He cowers in a corner. Miss Hazeltine doesn’t mind. But when she gets in trouble and only Crumb knows where she is, will he find his inner courage and lead a daring rescue? Filled with adorable illustrations and ideal for fans of Disappearing Desmond and The Invisible Boy, Miss Hazeltine’s Home for Shy and Fearful Cats is a story that’s perfect for shy and fearful children as it both helps them face scary situations and accepts them just as they are.

Wemberly Worried book
#2
Wemberly Worried
Written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Wemberly worried about everything. Big things. Little things. And things in between. Then it was time for school to start.And Wemberly worried even more. If you ever worry (or know someone who does), this is the book for you.

What's Following Us? book
#3
What's Following Us?
Written by Brandy Cooke and illustrated by John Reasoner, Charles Reasoner
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-4

Something scary and strange is following Scaredy Snake and his pals through the jungle. What could it be? As the "SWISH"-ing and "SWOOSH"-ing draws closer, Scaredy and his animal friends realize that what's been chasing them may not be as scary as they originally feared.

The Wildest Cowboy book
#4
The Wildest Cowboy
Written by Garth Jennings and illustrated by Sara Ogilvie
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Saddle up for a funny and uplifting adventure story in which fun wins out over fear. Way out in the West there’s a town they call Fear And only the roughest and toughest live here . . . When cheerful salesman Bingo B. Brown rolls his wagon full of Wild West goodies into town, he’s met with a stony silence. This is clearly no place for novelty bow ties and elastic lassos. Not even Bingo’s dancing dog can raise a smile! But this town is not just joyless, it’s dangerous. And as Bingo soon discovers, the people of the town are not just scary, they’re also scared. It isn’t long before Bingo and his dog discover why, as they come face to face with the Wildest Cowboy in the West! Featuring a dramatic train chase, rattlesnake socks and a dancing dog.

When I'm Feeling Scared book
#5
When I'm Feeling Scared
Written and illustrated by Trace Moroney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

The Feelings Series are beautifully produced picture books that cover different emotional concepts for young children. These fully refreshed editions of the classic The Feeling series are especially designed to help children better understand their feelings and how to identify, manage and express those feelings in an appropriate and acceptable way - both to themselves and others. These books provide an invaluable tool to help build confidence, self-esteem and contribute to a healthy emotional foundation upon which children can thrive.

Campfire Stories book
#6
Campfire Stories
Written by Andres Miedoso and illustrated by Victor Rivas
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Desmond Cole goes camping and tells some scary campfire stories in the eighth book of the Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol series! Camping with Desmond Cole is a lot of fun, until he starts telling ghost stories around the campfire. Most kids tell creepy stories that are totally fake, but Desmond tells totally true stories that will give you goosebumps. So, settle in while Desmond, Andres, and their ghost-friend, Zax, take turns trying to tell the scariest story of all. With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol chapter books are perfect for emerging readers.

Hide and Peek (Animal Time: Time to Read, Level 1) book
#7
Hide and Peek (Animal Time: Time to Read, Level 1)
Written by Lori Haskins Houran and illustrated by Alex Willmore
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Every time Bird hears a noise, she says eek! and hides her head in the sand. And every time, the noise turns out to be one of her friends playing nearby. Can Elephant convince her that there's nothing to be scared of?

When the Moon Came Down book
#8
When the Moon Came Down
Written and illustrated by Feridun Oral
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

A magical bedtime story about friendship that eases nighttime fears Little Bunny just can't sleep. He's hungry, but too scared of the dark to go looking for food. Then he sees a bright light nearby--what can it be? Can it really be the Moon, come down from the sky to see him? A surprising friendship is celebrated with delicate and charming pictures by a prizewinning illustrator.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!