Discover

Company

Spiders: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about spiders is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life! From Bear Out There to Spinderella there's something here for everyone's tastes. Do you have a favorite book about spiders? Let us know!

Bear Out There book
#1
Bear Out There
Written and illustrated by Jacob Grant
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Bear and Spider are back in another charming odd-couple friendship story, perfect for fans of Peter Brown and Greg Pizzoli. Bear's favorite place is inside. He loves sharing his tidy home with his friend Spider. Spider loves the outdoors! When Spider's kite flies away, Bear must venture out and into the messy forest to help his friend. As their quest in the forest goes from bad to worse, Bear and Spider show readers that being a friend means being there for each other, no matter what.

Bear's Scare book
#2
Bear's Scare
Written and illustrated by Jacob Grant
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

This adorable, quirky board book features a charming odd-couple friendship and is perfect for fans of Peter Brown and Greg Pizzoli. Bear likes to keep his house clean and tidy. In fact, the only thing Bear loves more than cleaning is taking care of his small stuffed friend, Ursa. Then Bear sees a sticky spiderweb . . . and where there's a web there is certainly a spider! The messy guest must be found, but what Bear and Ursa finally discover might just be an unlikely friend.

The Hugely-Wugely Spider book
#3
The Hugely-Wugely Spider
Written by Ethan T. Berlin and illustrated by Karl Newsom Edwards
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

This funny and clever picture book, great for spring displays, is a twist on the classic Itsy-Bitsy Spider nursery rhyme.

We're Going on a Bear Hunt: Let's Discover Bugs book
#4
We're Going on a Bear Hunt: Let's Discover Bugs
Written and illustrated by Andrea Cascardi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Enticing and educational guides to our feathered friends and all things creepy-crawly, featuring artwork from the We're Going On a Bear Hunt animated special. Ants, spiders, and butterflies, oh my! Readers will learn about all sorts of bugs and insects in this guide for eager young entomologists. Whether the plan is to scour the house for crawling critters or venture out on a big bug hunt, this book is teeming with information on where to search for bugs, how to plan an excursion, and more -- including buggy activities and stickers.

The Very Busy Spider book
#5
The Very Busy Spider
Written and illustrated by Eric Carle
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

A spider, blown by the wind to a fence post near a farm yard, begins to build her web and cannot be distracted from the task at hand–not by the horse, cow, sheep, goat, or dog. But when the rooster asks if she wants to catch a pesky fly, the busy spider is able to catch it in her web immediately!

  1. The Spider and the Fly - "'Will you walk into my parlor,' said the Spider to the Fly..." is easily one of the most recognized and quoted first lines in all of English verse. But do you have any idea how the age-old tale of the Spider and the Fly ends? Join celebrated artist Tony DiTerlizzi as he -- drawing inspiration from one of his loves, the classic Hollywood horror movies of the 1920s and 1930s -- shines a cinematic spotlight on Mary Howitt's warning, written to her own children about those who use sweet words to hide their not-so-sweet intentions.

  2. I'm Trying to Love Spiders - You don't have to love or even like spiders to love this book. In fact, if you really don't like spiders, you'll have a lot in common with the book's narrator, who despite his/her best intentions, cannot help smooshing them! This fresh and very funny non-fiction picture book shares lots of fascinating facts about spiders-like a single spider can eat 50 pounds of bugs in a year!-and in an entirely captivating way. If I'm Trying to Love Spiders doesn't cure your spider phobia, it'll at least make you appreciate how amazing they are...and laugh a lot as you learn about them.

  3. The Itsy Bitsy Spider - In this expanded version of a popular song, the itsy-bitsy spider's climbing is interrupted by a fan, a mouse, a cat, and some dew before she makes her way to the top of a tree to spin her web.

  4. Uugghh! - A slug who believes he is ugly meets a spider who teaches him that beauty is subjective by introducing him to people and animals who have different ideas of what is beautiful.

Spinderella book
#10
Spinderella
Written by Julia Donaldson and illustrated by Sebastien Braun
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

A fantastic new picture book all about a football-playing spider, written by Julia Donaldson, author of The Gruffalo, with glorious full colour illustrations from the talented Sebastian Braun and a sparkling, glittery foiled cover. Spinderella the spider has a passion for football! She tries to play a match with her brothers and sisters but she doesn't know how many spiders should be on each team. Even worse, she can't count the goals! Luckily for Spinderella, her Hairy Godmother has a plan . . . Julia Donaldson does it again in this hugely engaging and funny story all about football, spiders and counting - what's not to love! The perfect picture book for children of all ages - boys and girls alike. Julia Donaldson is the internationally renowned author of the best-loved picture books in the world, including The Gruffalo, What the Ladybird Heard, Sugarlump and the Unicorn and Night Monkey, Day Monkey. Julia Donaldson's collaborations with Axel Scheffler have sold millions of copies, and Room on the Broom is now an Academy Award-nominated short film. Sebastian Braun studied fine and applied arts at Strasbourg University. He moved to London in 2000 and since then has been working exclusively on children's picture books, having been published by Orchard, Walker, Campbell, HarperCollins and Puffin.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!