Best Kids Books About Spring

Our Favorite 14 Books to Read With Your Kids About Spring

Updated Feb. 26, 2019

Isn't it refreshing after a winter of white to see the little buds of new leaves on a tree? Spring is a magical time of year. It seems to bring life to all of us as we find a new surge of energy for the next part of our journey! We hope you will find that same joy as you read these books about Spring!

Room for Bear book
#1
Room for Bear
Written and illustrated by Ciara Gavin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A huggable picture-book debut about a bear who doesn’t quite fit—perfect for fans of Karma Wilson’s Bear Snores On and Philip C. Snead & Erin Stead’s Bear Has a Story to Tell. When Bear wakes up one spring, he goes in search of a new home. And he thinks he’s found the perfect place. Unfortunately, things are a bit . . . snug. Can five little ducks find room for one big bear in their home—and in their hearts? Ciara Gavin’s luminous picture-book debut explores the unconditional love of families in all their colors, shapes, and sizes.

Plant the Tiny Seed book
#2
Plant the Tiny Seed
Written and illustrated by Christie Matheson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

There is magic in every tiny seed. The seeds that come in little paper packets and those that fall from flowers and plants. In every garden and every flowerpot, magic can grow. With a little sunlight, a little water, and a little help from birds and worms and bees, a tiny seed sprouts, a plant grows, and a beautiful f lower blooms. There is magic in every tiny seed. And in this book, you become the magician. How? Press the seed into the ground, wiggle your fingers to add water, clap to bring the sun. And then . . .turn the page. What can grow from one tiny seed? Press, tap, wiggle, and jiggle to start the magic! Press the seed—don’t be shy! Wiggle your fingers to add some water. Clap your hands to bring the sun. Wow! A beautiful flower!

Sleepover with Beatrice & Bear book
#3
Sleepover with Beatrice & Bear
Written and illustrated by Monica Carnesi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Thoughts from B is for Bookworm

This book about best friends bunny and bear is a perfect example of a great friendship! There's some humor involved, as well as beautiful illustrations that really add to the story. I love that bunny doesn't despair when she realized she'll have to spend the winter without bear, but she instead focuses on spending her time alone creating something fun for them to enjoy together once bear wakes up. :)

Beatrice & Bear meet one spring day and become best buddies. They play together through summer and fall. Then winter comes and Beatrice can't find Bear anywhere. She hears he's gone to hibernate -- but where on earth is that? When Beatrice learns that hibernation is not a place and that Bear will be sleeping all winter long, she fears it will be a lonely season...unless she can come up with a brilliant plan. This delightful story of an irrepressible bunny will engage readers on many levels as it celebrates creativity, making the best of circumstances, and the joy of the changing seasons.

Bloom book
#4
Bloom
Written by Deborah Diesen and illustrated by Mary Lundquist
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6
Thoughts from Mr. Stacatto

This book isn't really about the flowers, but instead a mother spending time with her daughter and watching her bloom.

A mother and child plant flower bulbs in the fall, wait through the winter, and see them bloom in the spring.

When Spring Comes book
#5
When Spring Comes
Written by Kevin Henkes and illustrated by Laura Dronzek
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7
Thoughts from The Goodfather

This is a cute, whimsical story about spring. The text is simple and matches the simple thrills of spring: the weather turning warmer, colorful flowers appearing, new green buds on trees and in gardens. These simple joys are often set against colorful illustrations, a combination that helps highlight the joy we feel as we see new life appear as winter turns to spring.

The award-winning, bestselling husband-and-wife team of Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek collaborate for the first time since their acclaimed picture book Birds. Before spring comes, the trees are dark sticks, the grass is brown, and the ground is covered in snow. But if you wait, leaves unfurl and flowers blossom, the grass turns green, and the mounds of snow shrink and shrink. Spring brings baby birds, sprouting seeds, rain and mud, and puddles. You can feel it and smell it and hear it—and you can read it! Kevin Henkes uses striking imagery, repetition, and alliteration to introduce basic concepts of language and the changing of the seasons. And Laura Dronzek’s gorgeous, lush paintings show the transformation from quiet, cold winter to the joyful newborn spring. Watch the world transform when spring comes!

The Hugely-Wugely Spider book
#6
The Hugely-Wugely Spider
Written by Ethan T. Berlin and illustrated by Karl Newsom Edwards
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

This funny and clever picture book, great for spring displays, is a twist on the classic Itsy-Bitsy Spider nursery rhyme.

A Year with the Wind book
#7
A Year with the Wind
Written and illustrated by Hanna Konola
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Charming illustrations and fun, engaging rhymes will enchant toddlers as they learn about the wind; holding kites high in the spring, pushing sailboats in the summer, tossing leaves around in the fall, and making snowflakes dance in the winter. Hanna Konola's illustrations are popular the world over.

Tree book
#8
Tree
Written and illustrated by Britta Teckentrup
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Through a hole in the book’s cover, an owl invites you inside to meet a majestic tree and all its forest inhabitants during the changing seasons. With clever peekaboo holes throughout, each page reveals a new set of animals playing and living in the tree—baby bears frolicking in the spring, bees buzzing around apples in the summer, squirrels storing nuts in the fall, and finally the lone owl keeping warm during the winter chill—until another year begins… . Children will love seeing a new set of animals appear and then disappear as each page is turned, and along the way they’ll learn about the seasons and how a forest and its inhabitants change throughout the year.

Four Seasons in One Day book
#9
Four Seasons in One Day
Written and illustrated by Jessica Courtney-Tickle
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Follow a little girl called Isabelle and her dog, Pickle, as they travel through the four seasons in one day. Accompanied by pieces from Vivaldi's Four Seasons, this first title in a series of sound books that bring classical music to life for young children.

When the Wind Blows book
#10
When the Wind Blows
Written by Linda Booth Sweeney and illustrated by Jana Christy
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5
Thoughts from Lemony Snickers

When the Wind Blows is a cute rhyming book about all the different sounds and scenes that come along with the wind. The author uses strong verbs to paint beautiful imagery: kites fly, ties flip, trees dance. The two-word sentences carry through nearly every page of the book, so it goes by fast, just like the windy day it tells of.

Spring weather can be exciting! When wind chimes start singing and clouds race across the sky, one little guy knows just what to do—grab his kite! But as the kite soars, the wind picks up even more, and soon he and his grandma are chasing the runaway kite into town. As they pass swirling leaves, bobbing boats, and flapping scarves, breezes become gusts and the sky darkens. Rain is on the way! Can they squeeze in one more adventure before the downpour? Scenes rich with springtime details for little eyes to follow and lyrical verse that captures the changeable mood of the weather make this perfect for spring story times.

Bloom Boom! book
#11
Bloom Boom!
Written and illustrated by April Pulley Sayre
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

Discover the magic—and the science—behind spring flower blooms with this companion to the celebrated Raindrops Roll, Best in Snow, and Full of Fall. When spring arrives, flowers of all kinds sprout and grow buds and bloom. Sometimes, they bloom a few at a time. But other times, many will bloom at once in a colorful flower boom! This photographic exploration of flowers goes from the desert to the woodlands and beyond, celebrating their beautiful variety and the science behind these colorful displays.

My Spring Robin book
#12
My Spring Robin
Written by Anne Rockwell and illustrated by Harlow Rockwell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Celebrate the splendors of springtime in this delightful, updated classic from the author of Apples and Pumpkins. When spring arrives, a young girl looks everywhere for the robin who sang for her last year. She sees all the sights and sounds of the new season: a blooming crocus, a buzzing bee, a colorful magnolia tree, a brief rain shower…but where is the robin? This updated edition of a springtime favorite includes new jacket art from Lizzy Rockwell and refreshed interior art and design.

Pig and Goose and the First Day of Spring book
#13
Pig and Goose and the First Day of Spring
Written and illustrated by Rebecca Bond
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

In this early reader with five short chapters, emerging readers meet Pig and Goose. Pig is happy. She loves to dance. She loves to eat. But she cannot fly. And she cannot swim. Goose can fly like a bird. Goose can glide across the water beautifully. But he cannot tell stories or host a party like Pig can. Pig and Goose are very different. But what they do have in common is that they like each other. And they love springtime. Simple text and charming illustrations guide beginning readers throughout the story and encourage independent reading.

Abracadabra, It's Spring! book
#14
Abracadabra, It's Spring!
Written by Anne Sibley O'Brien and illustrated by Susan Gal
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Sun shines on a patch of snow. Hocus pocus! Where did it go? Winter turns to spring in this lyrical book that celebrates the magic of nature and the changing seasons. Eleven gatefolds open to re-create the excitement and surprise of spring's arrival, revealing what happens when snow melts, trees bud, flowers bloom, birds arrive, and eggs and cocoons hatch. Finally, it's warm enough to pack away winter clothes and go out and play!

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.