Best Children's Books About Talents

16 Children's Books About Talents

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Spoon book
#1
Spoon
Written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and illustrated by Scott Magoon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

Thinking that Fork, Knife, and Chopstick have it better than he, Spoon begins to feel down about his status in the utensil world, but when others take the time to show him just how important he is, Spoon quickly comes to realize that being a spoon is the best thing to be after all!

The Dot book
#2
The Dot
Written and illustrated by Peter H Reynolds
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-10

Vashti believes that she cannot draw, but her art teacher's encouragement leads her to change her mind.

Hiding Heidi book
#3
Hiding Heidi
Written and illustrated by Fiona Woodcock
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A beautiful and enchanting story by exciting new talent Fiona Woodcock, about a little girl with an amazing gift for concealing herself. Meet Heidi—if you can find her, that is! Heidi is the best at hiding: in school, at the playground, or in the park. Heidi’s friends know how much she loves hiding, so they always let her play and win. But Heidi learns the importance of sharing the limelight with other people when being too good at hiding makes her miss all the other fun her friends are having—and how much more fun it can be when you appreciate what your friends are good at too! She learns Freddie is great at bouncing on hippity-hops, Katie is sensational at roller-skating, and Lizzie is incredible at climbing. Heidi then realizes that she has fun doing the activities her friends like, even if she isn't the best.

The Jellybeans and the Big Dance book
#4
The Jellybeans and the Big Dance
Written by Nate Evans, Laura Numeroff and illustrated by Lynn Munsinger
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Friendship comes in many flavors in the launch of a charming new series by a bestselling author and illustrator team! Laura Numeroff, Nate Evans, and Lynn Munsinger bring readers a fun new group of sweet friends. Just as jellybeans are different colors and flavors, each character in this heartwarming friendship story has a personality and pizzazz that young readers will love. Emily loves to dance and can’t wait to meet the other girls in her class, who are sure to be just like her. But instead she meets Nicole, a tomboy who would rather be playing soccer; Bitsy, who loves arts and crafts; and Anna, a shy bookworm who has no interest at all in dancing. Realizing that they have to work together to make their dance recital a success, the girls learn to love each other’s differences and strengths as they band together and name their group the Jellybeans! The latest picture book by beloved bestselling authors Laura Numeroff and Nate Evans is as sweet as sugar and features four adorable characters that all children will relate to. With joyful illustrations by Lynn Munsinger that dance off the page, The Jellybeans and the Big Dance will inspire readers to dance, prance, and boogie-woogie to the beat of their own drum.

The Mud Fairy book
#5
The Mud Fairy
Written and illustrated by Amy Young
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Wearing pink and tiptoing through the dewdrops is for wimps! Emmelina would rather play with her friends, the frogs. But can a fairy with an independent streak earn her wings if she goes against the fairy code? Warm, humorous, and with just the right amount of pink (and mud), here's a book that will capture the hearts of girly-girls and tomboys alike.

Music book
#6
Music
Written and illustrated by Carol Thompson
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

We are amazing! We can sing, dance, dress up, and make music. There’s nobody like us! Enjoy the antics of this inclusive and diverse group of friends, as they celebrate the natural and boundless creativity to be found in every child. ¡Somos sorprendentes! Cantamos, bailamos, nos disfrazamos y tocamos música. ¡Somos únicos y especiales! Disfruta de las travesuras de este diverso y simpático grupo de amigos mientras celebran la infinita y espontánea creatividad que hay en cada niño.

Dressing Up book
#7
Dressing Up
Written and illustrated by Carol Thompson
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

We are amazing! We can sing, dance, dress up, and make music. There’s nobody like us! Enjoy the antics of this inclusive and diverse group of friends, as they celebrate the natural and boundless creativity to be found in every child. ¡Somos sorprendentes! Cantamos, bailamos, nos disfrazamos y tocamos música. ¡Somos únicos y especiales! Disfruta de las travesuras de este diverso y simpático grupo de amigos mientras celebran la infinita y espontánea creatividad que hay en cada niño.

Princess Academy book
#8
Princess Academy
Written by Shannon Hale
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

While attending a strict academy for potential princesses with the other girls from her mountain village, fourteen-year-old Miri discovers unexpected talents and connections to her homeland.

Fish in a Tree book
#9
Fish in a Tree
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-16

"Ally's greatest fear is that everyone will find out she is as dumb as they think she is because she still doesn't know how to read"--

Penny & Jelly: The School Show book
#10
Penny & Jelly: The School Show
Written by Maria Gianferrari and illustrated by Thyra Heder
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

This young and funny picture book introduces the soon-to-be star of her school talent show: Penny. Despite her desire to knock everyone's socks off, Penny's having a tough time deciding on what talent she might have. With a little help from her dog, Jelly, Penny tries out various talents—from dancing to unicycling, fashion designing to snake charming—with disastrous results. That is, until she realizes that she and Jelly have a talent to share that's unlike any other. Readers of Pinkalicious and Ladybug Girl will swoon over the talent of Penny & Jelly.

Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo book
#11
Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo
Written by Laura James and illustrated by Emily Fox
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

This hilarious, brightly illustrated chapter book starring Fabio the flamingo detective and his sidekick Gilbert the giraffe is perfect for fans of CatStronauts and The Bad Guys. In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives the world's greatest flamingo detective. His name is Fabio. He's not tall or strong, but slight and pink. And he's very, very clever. When Fabio and his giraffe associate Gilbert drop in to the Hotel Royale for a relaxing glass of lemonade (pink, naturally), Fabio is persuaded to judge the hotel's talent contest. But when the most promising contestant--Julia the jazz-singing hippopotamus--goes missing, Fabio must put his thinking cap back on and solve the mystery! Don't miss these other books from Laura James! The Pug series Captain Pug Cowboy Pug Safari Pug

Dance book
#12
Dance
Written and illustrated by Carol Thompson
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

We are amazing! We can sing, dance, dress up, and make music. There’s nobody like us! Enjoy the antics of this inclusive and diverse group of friends, as they celebrate the natural and boundless creativity to be found in every child. ¡Somos sorprendentes! Cantamos, bailamos, nos disfrazamos y tocamos música. ¡Somos únicos y especiales! Disfruta de las travesuras de este diverso y simpático grupo de amigos mientras celebran la infinita y espontánea creatividad que hay en cada niño.

Sing book
#13
Sing
Written and illustrated by Carol Thompson
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

We are amazing! We can sing, dance, dress up, and make music. There’s nobody like us! Enjoy the antics of this inclusive and diverse group of friends, as they celebrate the natural and boundless creativity to be found in every child. ¡Somos sorprendentes! Cantamos, bailamos, nos disfrazamos y tocamos música. ¡Somos únicos y especiales! Disfruta de las travesuras de este diverso y simpático grupo de amigos mientras celebran la infinita y espontánea creatividad que hay en cada niño.

Epic Athletes: Stephen Curry book
#14
Epic Athletes: Stephen Curry
Written by Dan Wetzel and illustrated by Zeke Pena
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

Acclaimed journalist and bestselling author Dan Wetzel tells the electric story of NBA superstar Steph Curry, beginning a new series of sports biographies for young readers! When you think of Stephen Curry, one word comes to mind: greatness. From shooting three-pointers with laser precision to his clutch ability to hit buzzer-beaters time and again, he has established himself as one of the best players in the pro basketball. But greatness was never a guarantee for Steph. The son of a talented NBA player, he dreamed of one day playing professionally just like his dad. Yet Steph, who was always smaller and weaker than the competition, was told over and over that he would never be talented enough to be a college star or NBA player--let alone the MVP of the entire league. Through tenacity and hard work, he proved them all wrong and went on to dismantle the record books. With the high energy of a TV commentator, and featuring dynamic comic-style illustrations, this engaging biography tells the story of an NBA All-Star and the path he took to achieve his dreams.

The Three Things book
#15
The Three Things
Written and illustrated by Annie Ruygt
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

The Nothing, the Something, and the Everything invite you to read their story.... they are always comparing their creative abilities. Who's way is best? After testing their talents, will they discover the winner, or will they learn a lesson they did not expect would surface?

Hanazuki: Dazzle and Dance book
#16
Hanazuki: Dazzle and Dance
Written by Stacy Davidowitz and illustrated by Victoria Ying
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Calling all Moonflowers! When Hanazuki and her friends hear about a talent competition on Celebrity Moon, they all want to win the grand prize. Each Moonflower pulls together a team to show off their best talents, and they practice, practice, practice! But Hanazuki’s team is cracking under the pressure. With a little help from Lavender Hemka, she’s going to show them that all they need is a little inspiration! Then Team Hanazuki will be ready to take on Celebrity Moon and the whole galaxy.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.