Best Kids Books About Technology

18 Kids Books About Technology

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
When Charlie McButton Lost Power book
#1
When Charlie McButton Lost Power
Written by Suzanne Collins and illustrated by Mike Lester
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Charlie McButton likes computer games so much, he never plays with anything else. When a thunderstorm knocks out the electricity, his tech empire comes tumbling down, and his whole world loses power. Charlie needs batteries?FAST! But the only triple- A?s he can find are in his little sister?s talking doll. Will he resort to desperate measures and cause his sister to have a meltdown of her own? Or will he snap out of his computer craze long enough to realize his sister might be fun, even if she doesn?t come with batteries? Collins and Lester team up for a hilarious and timely tale that will crack up young computer addicts and those who love them!

Selfie Sebastian book
#2
Selfie Sebastian
Written by Sarah Glenn Marsh and illustrated by Florence Weiser
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Sebastian is one handsome fox. So why can't he take the perfect selfie? In his quest to get the shot of his dreams, he sets off on an elaborate journey from the Grand Canyon all the way to the moon. But nothing works. Could it be that the secret to his special selfie is right where he started--at home with his friends?

Believe book
#3
Believe
Written and illustrated by Robert Sabuda
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Consummate pop-up master Robert Sabuda offers an elegant ode to possibility that will inspire anyone setting off on a new life chapter. All of life's possibilities are just a page turn away in this beautiful pop-up book from renowned paper artist Robert Sabuda. Throughout, phrases and images evoking potential (an acorn, an egg, a paper airplane) are answered by a glorious 3-D image on the following spread (a towering tree, a flock of birds, a rocket soaring upward). An ideal gift for graduates from kindergarten to college and beyond, Believe is the perfect way to celebrate life's passages and look forward to new horizons.

Lost Book book
#4
Lost Book
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A rabbit who prefers real-life adventures to stories finds a lost book that takes him on an exciting journey in this charming picture book about the power of tales to inspire children and bring them together. Everyone in Rabbit Town loves to read. Well, everyone except for Henry, who would much prefer to play outside. Then Henry finds a lost book, and when he tries to track down the owner, he stumbles into the human world. There, the adults are all absorbed in their phones and tablets, and everyone ignores Henry until he befriends a young girl. They have so much fun together that Henry gives her the lost book, knowing it will be in good hands. Henry learns that books can contain adventures all their own, and when he returns to Rabbit Town, for the first time it is Henry who tells the bedtime story.

Mr. Monkey Takes A Hike book
#5
Mr. Monkey Takes A Hike
Written and illustrated by Jeff Mack
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Curious George meets Mr. Bean in the third adorable picture book from author-illustrator Jeff Mack that follows the loveable Mr. Monkey on his wacky adventures. Mr. Monkey loves playing his video game. He wants to beat the ultimate level! But now he must go outside and find his stolen controller. What could possibly go wrong?

Samuel Morse, That's Who! book
#6
Samuel Morse, That's Who!
Written by Tracy Nelson Maurer and illustrated by El Primo Ramón
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Back in the 1800s, information traveled slowly. Who would dream of instant messages? Samuel Morse, that’s who! Who traveled to France, where the famous telegraph towers relayed 10,000 possible codes for messages depending on the signal arm positions—only if the weather was clear? Who imagined a system that would use electric pulses to instantly carry coded messages between two machines, rain or shine? Long before the first telephone, who changed communication forever? Samuel Morse, that’s who! This dynamic and subtsantive biography celebrates an early technology pioneer. Perfect for fans of Gene Barretta's popular inventor series.

A Dream of Flight book
#7
A Dream of Flight
Written by Jef Polivka-Searle, Rob Polivka and illustrated by Rob Polivka
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Years before the invention of the modern airplane, Alberto Santos-Dumont dreamed of flying. As a boy, he was mesmerized by the machinery on his father's coffee plantation in Brazil and went on to study science and engineering in France. Soon his groundbreaking—and sometimes silly—inventions became the talk of Paris, especially after he set his sights on building an airship that could bring the world's people together. His small stature and big ideas earned him the nickname “Le Petite Santos.” This is the story of Santos's successful race for the Deutsche Prize, and his many failures along the way. Chock-full of cool diagrams, charming Parisian scenes, and graphic novel-style spot illustrations, A Dream of Flight will have young readers looking to the sky and scheming up their own aerial inventions.

Gabi's If/Then Garden book
#8
Gabi's If/Then Garden
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Gabi's garden needs some help. Where to begin? Gabi and her best friend Adi use if/then statements to decide what to plant, what to water, and what to pick! These scientific thinkers find ways every day to use computer coding concepts to make work and play more fun!

Adi Sorts with Variables book
#9
Adi Sorts with Variables
Written by Caroline Karanja and illustrated by Ben William Whitehouse
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

It's time to clean Adi's room! If only a computer could do it for her! That gives Adi and her best friend Gabi an idea-think like a coder! These scientific thinkers put on their computer coding caps and make cleaning up a snap by sorting with variables!

Adi's Perfect Patterns and Loops book
#10
Adi's Perfect Patterns and Loops
Written by Caroline Karanja and illustrated by Ben William Whitehouse
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Best friends Adi and Gabi love to play with Adi's toy train. Round and round it goes-choo choo! Watching it loop the track gives the girls an idea. These scientific thinkers use their computer coding knowledge to put the train to work!

Gabi's Fabulous Functions book
#11
Gabi's Fabulous Functions
Written by Caroline Karanja and illustrated by Ben William Whitehouse
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Computer coding in the kitchen? Yes! Best friends Gabi and Adi are baking a special birthday treat-and making a recipe is a lot like creating a function in a computer code. These scientifically minded junior programmers are always on the lookout for ways to work coding concepts into their day with Code Play!

Move on Up That Beanstalk, Jack! book
#12
Move on Up That Beanstalk, Jack!
Written by Thomas Kingsley Troupe and illustrated by Jomike Tejido
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

When times are tough, you pull yourself up and push yourself to the top ... of a beanstalk ... where you might get schooled in forces and motion by a STEM-loving giant named Dennis. At least that's what happens to Jack in this delicious twist on a classic fairy tale, supported by critical thinking questions and a glossary of key physics terms.

Keep It Simple, Rapunzel!: The Fairy-Tale Physics of Simple Machines book
#13
Keep It Simple, Rapunzel!: The Fairy-Tale Physics of Simple Machines
Written by Thomas Kingsley Troupe and illustrated by Jomike Tejido
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Escaping from a tall tower using one's hair is SO fairy-tale old school. THIS STEM-smart Rapunzel uses the brain beneath her hair to educate her prince (and readers) on the ways the science of simple machines can save the day. A glossary and critical thinking questions reinforce the story's key physics concepts.

What's That Sound, Cinderella?: The Fairy-Tale Physics of Sound book
#14
What's That Sound, Cinderella?: The Fairy-Tale Physics of Sound
Written by Thomas Kingsley Troupe and illustrated by Jomike Tejido
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

The stepsisters yell. The fairy godmother sings. The pineapple-turned-monster-truck burns rubber on its way to the ball. For Cinderella, this evening is an enchanted STEM adventure through the science of sound. For readers, it's a treat of a fractured fairy tale, complete with an ear diagram, a key-term glossary, critical thinking questions, and a sweet pair of glass high-top sneakers.

What's the Matter with the Three Little Pigs? book
#15
What's the Matter with the Three Little Pigs?
Written by Thomas Kingsley Troupe and illustrated by Jomike Tejido
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

What's the matter with the three little pigs? They're being tormented by a hungry wolf! And no matter what kind of matter they use to build their homes, it doesn't matter. The STEM-savvy, rhyme-loving wolf in this fractured fairy tale always seems to spoil the day. A glossary and critical thinking questions support the story's physics content.

When Bill Gates Memorized an Encyclopedia book
#16
When Bill Gates Memorized an Encyclopedia
Written by Mark Andrew Weakland and illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

Bill Gates is known as the richest man in the world. But do you know what he was like as a child? From selling peanuts to memorizing entire encyclopedias, Bill used his brain. This playful story of his childhood will help young readers connect with a historic figure and will inspire them to want to achieve greatness.

Goldilocks book
#17
Goldilocks
Written by Jeanne Willis and illustrated by Tony Ross
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-8

Everyone loves Goldilocks' hilarious online videos, but in her quest to get more likes, more laughs and more hits, she tries something a little more daring: stealing porridge #pipinghot, breaking chairs #fun, and using someone else's bed #sleep. What will Daddy Bear do when he sees that online? A hilarious cautionary tale for a new generation of internet-users from the prize-winning partnership of Jeanne Willis and Tony Ross.

Inventions book
#18
Inventions
Written and illustrated by Steffi Cavell-Clarke
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-11

With this series, you will be able to impress your friends with extreme facts on all things science. Discover mind-blowing statistics and hair-raising truths that will leave your friends and family gob-smacked!

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.