Best Kids Books About Tigers

The Best 16 Books to Read With Your Kids About the Tigers

Updated Apr. 16, 2019

Tigers are such fearsome creatures! There are lots of great books about tigers. From cute little board books to great chapter books like the Life of Pi. We hope you enjoy this list of the best we've found.

Augustus and His Smile book
#1
Augustus and His Smile
Written and illustrated by Catherine Rayner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Thoughts from B is for Bookworm

I love this sweet, meaningful book about a tiger who finds that there is joy all around him and that he can find happiness just by choosing to be aware! Such a good reminder for the reader. He goes on a fun adventure to learn this lesson, and I love the illustrations of this book, too!

Augustus the tiger was sad. He had lost his smile. So he did a HUGE tigery stretch, and set off to find it. Stunning illustrations celebrate the beauty of the world and the simple happiness it brings to us. An imaginative book for children who love to explore the world around them.

The Tiger who Came to Tea book
#2
The Tiger who Came to Tea
Written and illustrated by Judith Kerr
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6
Thoughts from The Fun Uncle

I liked this book quite a bit! It's a simple "big animal came to the house and ate everything" story, so very predictable, but still fun! I thought Judith Kerr had a couple funny moments to the story, like when the Tiger drinks all the water from the tap, but there were also a few out-of-date aspects. It seemed a little old fashioned: The wife was supposed to have dinner ready for the husband when he came home and then had to explain why there wasn't any food, which seemed a little misogynistic, but there were some cute family themes. The illustrations were really retro, but in a fun way.

A tiger comes to tea at Sophie's house and eats and drinks everything in sight, so that there is nothing left for Daddy's supper.

Leo the Late Bloomer book
#3
Leo the Late Bloomer
Written by Robert Kraus and illustrated by Jose Aruego
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Thoughts from The Goodfather

Leo the Late Bloomer is a nice reminder to be patient, avoid comparing our children to others, and give children space to bloom in their own time.

Leo isn't reading, or writing, or drawing, or even speaking, and his father is concerned. But Leo's mother isn't. She knows her son will do all those things, and more, when he's ready. 'Reassuring for other late bloomers, this book is illustrated with beguiling pictures.' -- Saturday Review.

A Little Tiger Tale book
#4
A Little Tiger Tale
Written and illustrated by Steve Kveton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-6

Did you ever wonder what you were going to do when you grow up? Little Truman couldn't decide until he got some good advice from his teacher. This is a story about how Truman became the biggest cheerleader for MIZZOU.

Little Black Sambo book
#5
Little Black Sambo
Written by Helen Bannerman and illustrated by Florence White Williams
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-10

The Story of Little Black Sambo is a children's book written and illustrated by Helen Bannerman, and first published by Grant Richards in October 1899 as one in a series of small-format books called The Dumpy Books for Children. The story was a children's favorite for half a century until the word sambo was deemed a racial slur in some countries and the illustrations considered reminiscent of "darky iconography." Both text and illustrations have undergone considerable revision since. Sambo is a South Indian boy who lives with his father and mother, named Black Jumbo and Black Mambo, respectively. Sambo encounters four hungry tigers, and surrenders his colourful new clothes, shoes, and umbrella so they will not eat him. The tigers are vain and each thinks he is better dressed than the others. They chase each other around a tree until they are reduced to a pool of melted butter. Sambo then recovers his clothes and his mother, Black Mambo, makes pancakes out of the butter.

Night Night, Little Tiger book
#6
Night Night, Little Tiger
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Reading bedtime stories to her two-year-old son, Catherine felt there was one missing from their collection - a bedtime story about Clemson. So she and her sister Elizabeth wrote this book. A fun book for children and grandchildren of Clemson alumni, students, faculty, and fans! We hope you and your Little Tigers enjoy reading Night-Night, Little Tiger and make many Clemson memories!

There's a Tiger in the Garden book
#7
There's a Tiger in the Garden
Written and illustrated by Lizzy Stewart
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

A gorgeous and imaginative debut picture book by author/illustrator Lizzy Stewart, perfect for fans of Emily Hughes, Peter Brown, and Julie Morstad. There's nothing to do at Grandma's house and Nora refuses to believe any outlandish tales of dragonflies as big as birds, grumpy polar bears who like to fish, or a magnificent tiger all allegedly residing in Grandma's garden. Nora's too old for silly games. But this charming picture book proves you are never too young or too old to dream--and adventure can find you when you least expect it. When Grandma says she's seen a tiger in the garden, Nora doesn't believe her. She's too old to play Grandma's silly games! Everyone knows that tigers live in jungles, not gardens. So even when Nora sees dragonflies as big as birds, and plants that try to eat her toy giraffe, and a polar bear that likes fishing, she knows there's absolutely, DEFINITELY no way there could be a tiger in the garden . . . Could there?

Tiny Little Fly book
#8
Tiny Little Fly
Written by Michael Rosen and illustrated by Kevin Waldron
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

With a tramp and a roll and a swat, Great Big Elephant, Great Big Hippo, and Great Big Tiger try to capture Tiny Little Fly as he teases each one in turn.

Little Tiger book
#9
Little Tiger
Written by Julie Abery and illustrated by Suzie Mason
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Little Tiger goes on an adventure in the jungle, but mama is always close by her cub. Short rhyming lines in this illustrated board book tell a sweet story of youthful adventure and motherly love.

It's a Tiger! book
#10
It's a Tiger!
Written by David LaRochelle and illustrated by Jeremy Tankard
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A child imagines that he is in a story where he encounters a tiger at every turn.

Sleep Like a Tiger book
#11
Sleep Like a Tiger
Written by Mary Logue and illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

At bedtime a young girl asks "Does everything in the world go to sleep?"

The Tiger Prowls: A Pop-up Book of Wild Animals book
#12
The Tiger Prowls: A Pop-up Book of Wild Animals
Written by Maggie Bateson and illustrated by Sebastien Braun
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

This beautiful pop-up features a range of stunningly illustrated wild animals. With lyrical text, stylish images and inventive pop-ups, it will be a beautiful addition to any child's shelf and a gorgeous introduction to some of the world's most iconic creatures, featuring Maggie Bateson’s eye-catching paper engineering. Sebastien Braun’s rich and recognisable illustration introduces children to a zoo and a half’s worth of animals and, of course, the prowling tiger.

When I Grow Up, I'll Be a Tiger book
#13
When I Grow Up, I'll Be a Tiger
Written by Amy Hammond and illustrated by Charr Floyd
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Follow a young Tiger around the campus of Louisiana State University as he dreams about becoming a student at LSU. A book for LSU fans of all ages.

Tiger and Badger book
#14
Tiger and Badger
Written by Emily Jenkins and illustrated by Marie-Louise Gay
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Best friends Tiger and Badger work through their disagreements over a toy, a chair, and sharing.

Rumble in the Jungle book
#15
Rumble in the Jungle
Written and illustrated by Giles Andreae
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-4

Explores the world of jungle animals, including hippos, leopards, chimpanzees, in poetic expression. On board pages.

I Can Lick 30 Tigers Today! book
#16
I Can Lick 30 Tigers Today!
Written and illustrated by Dr. Seuss
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Three stories in verse: "I Can Lick 30 Tigers Today", "King Looie Katz", and "The Glunk That Got Thunk".

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.