Best Children's Books About Tractor

23 Children's Books About Tractor

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Little Excavator book
#1
Little Excavator
Written and illustrated by Anna Dewdney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

From New York Times bestselling author-illustrator of the Llama Llama books comes a new character ready to dig his way into your heart! Here come the BIG RIGS rolling down the street. Thumpa-thumpa bumpa-bumpa BEEP! BEEP! BEEP! There’s Loader and Dump Truck, Backhoe and Crane. They’re ready to transform a vacant lot into a neighborhood park. And who wants to help most of all? Little Excavator! But are there any jobs for someone so small? Anna Dewdney’s signature rhyming text and inviting illustrations make this a perfect read aloud for for fans of things that go!

Tractor Mac Colors on the Farm book
#2
Tractor Mac Colors on the Farm
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-4

This new edition to the Tractor Mac series is a board book that teaches children about the different colors of the rainbow. Tractor Mac and his vehicle and animal friends, including Sibley the horse, Pete the pig, and Goat Walter, show kids around Stony Meadow Farm in order to observe the colors of various objects found on the farm.

Noisy Tractor Sound Book book
#3
Noisy Tractor Sound Book
Written and illustrated by Roger Priddy
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

There is lots of lift-the-flap fun to be had and four flashing sound buttons to press in Noisy Tractor, a brilliant book for tractor-mad kids. Each spread focuses on a different farm vehicle, with "chug-chug-chugging" and other noises to hear on the press of each button. Lift the flaps and read the simple text to learn about the unique features on each vehicle, and there's a simple matching activity for additional fun. Publishing alongside Noisy Fire Engine.

Tractor Mac Plane Jane's Journey book
#4
Tractor Mac Plane Jane's Journey
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Plane Jane soars over clouds and mountains in this original Tractor Mac board book.

Tractor Mac Builds a Barn book
#5
Tractor Mac Builds a Barn
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Tractor Mac and friends celebrate autumn festivals in this paperback edition which includes two pages of stickers!

Tractor Mac Worth the Wait book
#6
Tractor Mac Worth the Wait
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Tractor Mac: Worth the Wait stars the lovable pigs, Pete and Paul, as they learn the importance of patience when they try (unsuccessfully) to speed along the growth of Farmer Bill's prize watermelons.

Dig, Dig, Digger! book
#7
Dig, Dig, Digger!
Written by and illustrated by Gareth Lucas
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Welcome to the animal construction site! Dig, dig, dig...and dig some more with your favorite animal friends! In Dig, Dig Digger, children will be amused by the hilarious antics of the animals as they build an adventure playground. Young readers will delight in Gareth Lucas's artwork and in finding the sound button on every spread. Each turn of the page will bring humor and fun with hippos, bears, camels, and more on their day at the construction site. 2017 NAPPA Winner

Tractor Mac Plane Jane's Journey book
#8
Tractor Mac Plane Jane's Journey
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Plane Jane loves to take trips. She soars over mountains and above city skylines. But at the end of the day, no matter how far she has traveled, she's happy to come home and settle in with Tractor Mac and the other animals and vehicles of Stony Meadow Farm.

Construction Kitties book
#9
Construction Kitties
Written by Judy Sue Goodwin Sturges and illustrated by Shari Halpern
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Wearing their hats, Construction Kitties use heavy equipment to dig, move, push, and smooth the dirt.

Dalmatian in a Digger book
#10
Dalmatian in a Digger
Written and illustrated by Rebecca Elliott
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Construction Zoo book
#11
Construction Zoo
Written by Jennifer Thorne and illustrated by Susie Hammer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

It’s a quiet morning at the zoo, until some strange new creatures roll in—trucks and bulldozers and wrecking balls! They’re tumbling, digging, and roaring alongside the animals. Giraffe, rhino, the monkeys, and the tigers watch the new creatures and, soon, are playing with their new friends. It's party time at the Construction Zoo! But…what happens when the construction is over? Will the party be over, too? The clever rhyming text and simple, bold art will appeal to both kids and their parents.

Under Construction book
#12
Under Construction
Written by and illustrated by Heather Brown
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Five construction trucks are hard at work—what are they building? Find out as you move each truck along its track. Kids will love exploring the construction site with a bulldozer, dump truck, and other heavy equipment while learning what each machine does. Storytime is sure to be filled with a variety of beeps, booms, and crashes as kids imagine the busy trucks doing their jobs. On opening day a surprise pop-up is a great reward for all of their hard work!

Under Construction book
#13
Under Construction
Written by and illustrated by Heather Brown
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Construction zone ahead! With this rough and tumble board book, toddlers will experience the construction of a new building from the ground up. Under Construction lets kids experience construction from the ground up. This little book is packed to the rafters with all of the most recognizable construction equipment. Read along as bulldozers, diggers, and dump trucks all do their part in transforming a dusty pile of rubble into a shiny new toy store, introducing preschoolers to construction signs along the way.

I Dig Bathtime book
#14
I Dig Bathtime
Written by Brooke Jorden and illustrated by Ekaterina Ladatiko
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-3

When the dust has settled and the day is done, Excavator is ready for bathtime. It's so much fun! Trucks dig bathtime! Join Excavator and the other construction trucks as they scrub-a-dub-dub away the dust of the day with a well-earned bath. Adorable yet accurate illustrations will have kids peeking through the bubbles to identify Crane, Backhoe, Bulldozer, and more! You'll dig bathtime too!

Car, Car, Truck, Jeep book
#15
Car, Car, Truck, Jeep
Written by Katrina Charman and illustrated by Nick Sharratt
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

This book is bursting with cars, buses, planes, trains, trucks, diggers—and many more Things That Go. And with a text set to the tune of Baa, Baa, Black Sheep, vehicle-obsessed little ones will never want to put this book down!

Backhoe Joe book
#16
Backhoe Joe
Written by Lori Alexander and illustrated by Craig Cameron
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night? by Brianna Caplan Sayres, and Kate McMullan will be thrilled by this celebrated and endearing picture book about a young boy with a dream of owning the perfect pet. When Nolan finds a stray backhoe in the street, he can't wait to adopt it. But this backhoe is not very well behaved. As Nolan tries to train his new pet truck, he learns that maybe this backhoe already has a home… This delightful story of a boy and his construction vehicle is brought to life with Craig Cameron's vibrant illustrations, making this the perfect addition to every young reader's library.

Farmer John's Tractor book
#17
Farmer John's Tractor
Written by Sally Sutton and illustrated by Robyn Belton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

When the river floods and a family is trapped in their car, will Farmer John's rusty, trusty tractor save the day?

Construction Site on Christmas Night book
#18
Construction Site on Christmas Night
Written by Sherri Duskey Rinker and illustrated by A.G. Ford
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

VROOM and ZOOM into the holidays with this new Christmas classic from the author of the #1 New York Times bestsellers Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Mighty, Mighty, Construction Site! The trucks are gearing up for Christmas by building a special gift! But, there's a surprise waiting for each of them, too! Presents await for Excavator, Bulldozer, Crane, Dump Truck, and Cement Mixer as each finishes their part of this big, important job and rolls off to a sweet and sleepy goodnight. Playful rhyming text from the bestselling author of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and vibrant illustrations from the acclaimed artist AG Ford make this a perfect gift for construction fans everywhere.

Tractor Mac Teamwork book
#19
Tractor Mac Teamwork
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

All the vehicles and animals on Stonybrook Farm are enlisted to help build a new swimming hole for their town's residents. It is a big job, but Tractor Mac and his pals are willing to lend a hand. But a tractor named Deke thinks he can do it all by himself--and do it better than everyone else. He soon learns that a complex job is done best when each member of a team does his or her part.

Tractor Mac: Autumn Is Here book
#20
Tractor Mac: Autumn Is Here
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Tractor Mac and his vehicle and animal friends return in a jacketed hardcover about the seasonal changes of autumn. Fergie the calf does not like change, so when his pleasant routine on Stony Meadow Farm begins to change as summer turns to autumn. Fergie is not happy. Luckily his pals on the farm help him acclimate to, and even embrace, the change of seasons.

Bulldozer's Shapes book
#21
Bulldozer's Shapes
Written by Sherri Duskey Rinker and illustrated by Ethan Long
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Time for the construction site to SHAPE UP! Little construction fans will love learning their shapes by watching Bulldozer CIRCLE around, clearing away TRIANGLES of dirt until the perfect building spot has been SQUARED away. It's all in a day's work for the trucks of the bestselling Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site!

Tractor Mac Farm Days book
#22
Tractor Mac Farm Days
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Tractor Mac wakes up eager to start the day. Plow, plant, scoop, mow--there's always a new chore for him and his animal and vehicle friends to do at the farm. When the day is done, he washes up and goes to bed, excited to see what the next day will bring.

Excavator's 123 book
#23
Excavator's 123
Written by Sherri Duskey Rinker and illustrated by Ethan Long
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

The construction crew is counting on Excavator, and he won't let them down! Little readers can count along from 1 to 10 as Excavator revs into action on the construction site. Ready? 1, 2, 3 . . . GO!

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.