Best Kids Books About Tractor

12 Kids Books About Tractor

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Little Excavator book
#1
Little Excavator
Written and illustrated by Anna Dewdney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

From New York Times bestselling author-illustrator of the Llama Llama books comes a new character ready to dig his way into your heart! Here come the BIG RIGS rolling down the street. Thumpa-thumpa bumpa-bumpa BEEP! BEEP! BEEP! There’s Loader and Dump Truck, Backhoe and Crane. They’re ready to transform a vacant lot into a neighborhood park. And who wants to help most of all? Little Excavator! But are there any jobs for someone so small? Anna Dewdney’s signature rhyming text and inviting illustrations make this a perfect read aloud for for fans of things that go!

Tractor Mac Builds a Barn book
#2
Tractor Mac Builds a Barn
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Tractor Mac and friends celebrate autumn festivals in this paperback edition which includes two pages of stickers!

Tractor Mac Worth the Wait book
#3
Tractor Mac Worth the Wait
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Tractor Mac: Worth the Wait stars the lovable pigs, Pete and Paul, as they learn the importance of patience when they try (unsuccessfully) to speed along the growth of Farmer Bill's prize watermelons.

Construction Kitties book
#4
Construction Kitties
Written by Judy Sue Goodwin Sturges and illustrated by Shari Halpern
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Wearing their hats, Construction Kitties use heavy equipment to dig, move, push, and smooth the dirt.

Dalmatian in a Digger book
#5
Dalmatian in a Digger
Written and illustrated by Rebecca Elliott
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Construction Zoo book
#6
Construction Zoo
Written by Jennifer Thorne and illustrated by Susie Hammer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

It’s a quiet morning at the zoo, until some strange new creatures roll in—trucks and bulldozers and wrecking balls! They’re tumbling, digging, and roaring alongside the animals. Giraffe, rhino, the monkeys, and the tigers watch the new creatures and, soon, are playing with their new friends. It's party time at the Construction Zoo! But…what happens when the construction is over? Will the party be over, too? The clever rhyming text and simple, bold art will appeal to both kids and their parents.

Backhoe Joe book
#7
Backhoe Joe
Written by Lori Alexander and illustrated by Craig Cameron
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night? by Brianna Caplan Sayres, and Kate McMullan will be thrilled by this celebrated and endearing picture book about a young boy with a dream of owning the perfect pet. When Nolan finds a stray backhoe in the street, he can't wait to adopt it. But this backhoe is not very well behaved. As Nolan tries to train his new pet truck, he learns that maybe this backhoe already has a home… This delightful story of a boy and his construction vehicle is brought to life with Craig Cameron's vibrant illustrations, making this the perfect addition to every young reader's library.

Farmer John's Tractor book
#8
Farmer John's Tractor
Written by Sally Sutton and illustrated by Robyn Belton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

When the river floods and a family is trapped in their car, will Farmer John's rusty, trusty tractor save the day?

Construction Site on Christmas Night book
#9
Construction Site on Christmas Night
Written by Sherri Duskey Rinker and illustrated by A.G. Ford
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

VROOM and ZOOM into the holidays with this new Christmas classic from the author of the #1 New York Times bestsellers Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Mighty, Mighty, Construction Site! The trucks are gearing up for Christmas by building a special gift! But, there's a surprise waiting for each of them, too! Presents await for Excavator, Bulldozer, Crane, Dump Truck, and Cement Mixer as each finishes their part of this big, important job and rolls off to a sweet and sleepy goodnight. Playful rhyming text from the bestselling author of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and vibrant illustrations from the acclaimed artist AG Ford make this a perfect gift for construction fans everywhere.

Tractor Mac Teamwork book
#10
Tractor Mac Teamwork
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

All the vehicles and animals on Stonybrook Farm are enlisted to help build a new swimming hole for their town's residents. It is a big job, but Tractor Mac and his pals are willing to lend a hand. But a tractor named Deke thinks he can do it all by himself--and do it better than everyone else. He soon learns that a complex job is done best when each member of a team does his or her part.

Tractor Mac Plane Jane's Journey book
#11
Tractor Mac Plane Jane's Journey
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Plane Jane soars over clouds and mountains in this original Tractor Mac board book.

Tractor Mac: Autumn Is Here book
#12
Tractor Mac: Autumn Is Here
Written and illustrated by Billy Steers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Tractor Mac and his vehicle and animal friends return in a jacketed hardcover about the seasonal changes of autumn. Fergie the calf does not like change, so when his pleasant routine on Stony Meadow Farm begins to change as summer turns to autumn. Fergie is not happy. Luckily his pals on the farm help him acclimate to, and even embrace, the change of seasons.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.