Discover

Company

Transportation and Trucks: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about transportation is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life! From McToad Mows Tiny Island to Vehicles there's something here for everyone's tastes. Do you have a favorite book about transportation? Let us know!

McToad Mows Tiny Island book
#1
McToad Mows Tiny Island
Written by Tom Angleberger and illustrated by John Hendrix
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Every Thursday, as a break from mowing Big Island, McToad and his tractor make their way to Tiny Island, using various modes of transportation and types of machinery to get there and back.

Red Truck book
#2
Red Truck
Written and illustrated by Kersten Hamilton
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

The perfect board book for toddlers who love trucks! Can Red Truck make it up the hill? Red Truck can! Red Truck will! ZOOOOM! This simply told read-aloud tells the story of Red Truck saving a school bus from a mud puddle. Toddlers fascinated by vehicles will love following the candy-colored illustrations, mimicking Red Truck’s sounds ("ZOOOOM!" "VROOOOOM!"), and hearing this favorite book read to them over and over again.

Planes, Trains, and Animobiles book
#3
Planes, Trains, and Animobiles
Written and illustrated by Lizzy Doyle
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-4

Soar in a BEARplane, take a ride in a taxiCRAB, and enjoy more animal and vehicle puns in Planes, Trains, and Animobiles!

TouchThinkLearn: Vehicles book
#4
TouchThinkLearn: Vehicles
Written and illustrated by Xavier Deneux
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Featuring spreads each with raised shaped objects that fit into scooped cutouts on their opposite page, these two new TouchThinkLearn books offer the youngest learners an irresistible opportunity to explore their universe in a hands-on, multisensory way. Seeing the image, tracing its shape, saying its name: these modes of perception combine in a dynamic way to stimulate understanding of essential concepts. Discover—and experience a train by tracing the raised railcar on one side and feeling the excavated shape of the track on the other! Clusters of related words on each spread offer parents and children a springboard for further conversations to encourage the language skills so crucial to later successful learning. In a format unlike any other, these groundbreaking books translate abstract thought into tangible knowledge.

Ready, Set, Build! book
#5
Ready, Set, Build!
Written by Meg Fleming and illustrated by Jarvis
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Grab your hard hat and get ready for a day of construction fun with a busy builder and his friend! Grab your hard hat, tie your boots. Pack your lunch. Ready? Scoot! Sketch a dream. Post a chart. Hatch the plan before you start. Get ready for a day full of construction fun! Children can follow a busy dog builder as he sketches and plans his dream, clears rubble to make space, and gets to work digging, lifting, and sawing. He builds a house for himself and his bird friend, and satisfied after a hard day's work, they takes in all they've done and look forward to the next day of building!

  1. Cars Galore - Black car, green car, nice car, mean car. Near car, far car. Whoa! Bizarre car! Ready to hit the road? Gear up for a nonstop parade of shapes, sizes, sounds, and even smells in a wild array of cars packed with big personalities, awesome features, and eccentric passengers. Driven by Peter Stein’s bouncing verse, Bob Staake’s high-powered artwork merges vibrant color and crisp, dynamic design with humor, warmth, and whimsy. This rousing excursion is sure to thrill all fans of things that go, as well as aficionados of the illustrator’s signature style.

  2. I'm a Truck - Preschoolers will be thrilled by the highway adventures of Big Blue Bill! With its high-octane artwork and shiny, colorful pages, this board book – featuring the bright and bold artwork of award-winning illustrator Bob Staake - makes a perfect gift for any child who loves trucks.

  3. Backhoe Joe - Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night? by Brianna Caplan Sayres, and Kate McMullan will be thrilled by this celebrated and endearing picture book about a young boy with a dream of owning the perfect pet. When Nolan finds a stray backhoe in the street, he can't wait to adopt it. But this backhoe is not very well behaved. As Nolan tries to train his new pet truck, he learns that maybe this backhoe already has a home… This delightful story of a boy and his construction vehicle is brought to life with Craig Cameron's vibrant illustrations, making this the perfect addition to every young reader's library.

  4. Vehicles - Hop into the driver's seat with your little driver! The Kids' Picture Show books, inspired by the hugely popular YouTube channel, introduce young readers to first words in cool 8-bit style. This sturdy board book, packed with images of vehicles, is the perfect introduction to things that zoom, fly, and rumble for babies and toddlers. The 8-bit illustration style makes the book even more fun and accessible for young children, and it will also appeal to parents, grandparents, and anyone who has played classic video arcade games.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!