Discover

Company

Wizard: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about wizard is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life! From Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone to Worse, Worser, Wurst there's something here for everyone's tastes. Do you have a favorite book about wizard? Let us know!

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone book
#1
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
Written by J. K. Rowling
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Rescued from the outrageous neglect of his aunt and uncle, a young boy with a great destiny proves his worth while attending Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix book
#2
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Written by J. K. Rowling
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

A special new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, with a stunning new cover illustration by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick. There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it's haunting Harry Potter's dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror? It's not just the upcoming O.W.L. exams; a new teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a venomous, disgruntled house-elf; or even the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts. Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice. This gorgeous new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone features a newly designed cover illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick, as well as the beloved original interior decorations by Mary GrandPré.

The Lost Stone book
#3
The Lost Stone
Written by Jordan Quinn and illustrated by Robert McPhillips
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Welcome to the Kingdom of Wrenly—a new chapter book series full of fantasy and adventure. Meet Lucas, the eight year-old prince, and Clara, the daughter of the queen’s seamstress. Lucas is an only child who longs to make friends and go on adventures. Clara knows the kingdom well, so she and Lucas team up and explore the lands of Wrenly! In The Lost Stone, Lucas and Clara search for Queen Tasha’s missing emerald. On their exciting adventure, they travel to all the main attractions of Wrenly: Primlox (the island of fairies), Burth (the island of trolls), Crestwood (the island of dragons), Hobsgrove (the island of wizards), and the beautiful Mermaid’s Cove. King Caleb has promised to reward the person who finds the precious stone, and Lucas and Clara are determined to search the entire kingdom until they find it! With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, The Kingdom of Wrenly chapter books are perfect for beginning readers.

Ta-Da! book
#4
Ta-Da!
Written by Kathy Ellen Davis and illustrated by Kaylani Juanita
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

What makes a good story? One little girl thinks it's a princess with magical powers that can—ta-da!—overcome any obstacle. Her friend thinks it's—dun dun duh!—a combination of dragons, pirates, and fire that cause total chaos. But as their stories intertwine, these two young storytellers soon learn that a good story needs both conflict—dun dun duh!—and resolution—ta-da! An irresistible celebration of imaginary play, storytelling, and the joys of collaboration, this gorgeous picture book features two strong voices throughout, making it the perfect read-aloud.

The Scarlet Dragon book
#5
The Scarlet Dragon
Written by Jordan Quinn and illustrated by Robert McPhillips
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

In this second Kingdom of Wrenly chapter book, Lucas and Clara search for special berries that will cure the scarlet dragon. In this second book in The Kingdom of Wrenly series, an unusual egg has been found on Crestwood, the land of dragons. When the egg starts to hatch, the king, queen, and Prince Lucas are there to see what emerges. It’s…a scarlet dragon! Everyone is amazed to see the creature, which they have only heard about in tall tales. King Caleb declares that the special dragon will belong to an overjoyed Prince Lucas, who vows to keep his dragon safe. But when the scarlet dragon gets sick, the only cure is a potion made with vixberries that grow deep in the forest of Burth (the land of trolls). Lucas and Clara set out to find these special berries, but the task is harder than they expected. Will they be able to find the berries and save the scarlet dragon? With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, The Kingdom of Wrenly chapter books are perfect for beginning readers.

  1. The Kingdom of Wrenly - 4 Books in 1! - Journey to the magical Kingdom of Wrenly with this fanastical four-book collection! Join Prince Lucas and his best friend, Clara, as they search for the queen’s lost necklace, save a scarlet dragon, tame a sea monster, and stop an evil curse from destroying the kingdom’s crops in this enchanting four-book collection. With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Kingdom of Wrenly chapter books are perfect for beginning readers. This adventurous four-book collection includes: The Lost Stone, The Scarlet Dragon, Sea Monster!, and The Witch’s Curse.

  2. Marty Pants #3: How to Defeat a Wizard - Marty Pants returns to face his archenemy Simon, the so-called school artist, in his third adventure! How is Simon turning their classmates, teachers, and even the mayor against Marty—could it be magic? Is Simon literally a charmer who is charming people with magic charms? With Simon using magical powers to turn everyone against him, it will be up to Marty to stop this madness before Simon controls the whole world and maybe even the space-time continuum! The third book in the Marty Pants series from the award-winning cartoonist behind the “Off the Mark” strip, Mark Parisi, is perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Big Nate, and laughing a lot.

  3. Prince Not-So Charming: Toad You So! - The fifth chapter book in the Prince Not-So Charming series features Prince Carlos being turned into a toad. Prince Carlos Charles Charming is finally figuring out how to be both a prince and a court jester. But then a mixed-up wizard transforms Carlos into a toad who eats bugs and croaks instead of speaks. Unfortunately, the wizard doesn’t have a spell for reversing it. Even more unfortunately, “Toad Surprise” is on the menu for today’s lunch at Fancy Castle! Can Carlos escape the kitchen and leap back into his normal life—warts and all? Perfect for middle school readers and filled with adorable illustrations, Prince Not-So Charming: Toad You So shows it’s hard to live up to the fairy tale—but the first step is letting your true self show through.

  4. Worse, Worser, Wurst - There's trouble in the kingdom of Salamistonia! Lester the jester has been kidnapped by an evil wizard. Now Princess Pulverizer has the perfect opportunity to complete the next good deed on her Quest of Kindness: a rescue mission! Illustrations.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!