5 Children's Books About Wizard

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone book
#1
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
Written by J. K. Rowling
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Rescued from the outrageous neglect of his aunt and uncle, a young boy with a great destiny proves his worth while attending Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry.

Worse, Worser, Wurst book
#2
Worse, Worser, Wurst
Written by Nancy Krulik and illustrated by Ben Balistreri
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

There's trouble in the kingdom of Salamistonia! Lester the jester has been kidnapped by an evil wizard. Now Princess Pulverizer has the perfect opportunity to complete the next good deed on her Quest of Kindness: a rescue mission! Illustrations.

Prince Not-So Charming: Toad You So! book
#3
Prince Not-So Charming: Toad You So!
Written by Roy L Hinuss
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

The fifth chapter book in the Prince Not-So Charming series features Prince Carlos being turned into a toad. Prince Carlos Charles Charming is finally figuring out how to be both a prince and a court jester. But then a mixed-up wizard transforms Carlos into a toad who eats bugs and croaks instead of speaks. Unfortunately, the wizard doesn’t have a spell for reversing it. Even more unfortunately, “Toad Surprise” is on the menu for today’s lunch at Fancy Castle! Can Carlos escape the kitchen and leap back into his normal life—warts and all? Perfect for middle school readers and filled with adorable illustrations, Prince Not-So Charming: Toad You So shows it’s hard to live up to the fairy tale—but the first step is letting your true self show through.

Ta-Da! book
#4
Ta-Da!
Written by Kathy Ellen Davis and illustrated by Kaylani Juanita
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

What makes a good story? One little girl thinks it's a princess with magical powers that can—ta-da!—overcome any obstacle. Her friend thinks it's—dun dun duh!—a combination of dragons, pirates, and fire that cause total chaos. But as their stories intertwine, these two young storytellers soon learn that a good story needs both conflict—dun dun duh!—and resolution—ta-da! An irresistible celebration of imaginary play, storytelling, and the joys of collaboration, this gorgeous picture book features two strong voices throughout, making it the perfect read-aloud.

Marty Pants #3: How to Defeat a Wizard book
#5
Marty Pants #3: How to Defeat a Wizard
Written by Mark Parisi
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Marty Pants returns to face his archenemy Simon, the so-called school artist, in his third adventure! How is Simon turning their classmates, teachers, and even the mayor against Marty—could it be magic? Is Simon literally a charmer who is charming people with magic charms? With Simon using magical powers to turn everyone against him, it will be up to Marty to stop this madness before Simon controls the whole world and maybe even the space-time continuum! The third book in the Marty Pants series from the award-winning cartoonist behind the “Off the Mark” strip, Mark Parisi, is perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Big Nate, and laughing a lot.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected]!