American as Paneer Pie
American as Paneer Pie
Goodreads4.3 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

American as Paneer Pie

Written by Supriya Kelkar
Published by Aladdin Paperbacks
Prices as of Aug 4

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina’s Voice. As the only Indian American kid in her small town, Lekha Divekar feels like she has two versions of herself: Home Lekha, who loves watching Bollywood movies and eating Indian food, and School Lekha, who pins her hair over her bindi birthmark and avoids confrontation at all costs, especially when someone teases her for being Indian. When a girl Lekha’s age moves in across the street, Lekha is excited to hear that her name is Avantika and she’s Desi, too! Finally, there will be someone else around who gets it. But as soon as Avantika speaks, Lekha realizes she has an accent. She’s new to this country, and not at all like Lekha. To Lekha’s surprise, Avantika does not feel the same way as Lekha about having two separate lives or about the bullying at school. Avantika doesn’t take the bullying quietly. And she proudly displays her culture no matter where she is: at home or at school. When a racist incident rocks Lekha’s community, Lekha realizes she must make a choice: continue to remain silent or find her voice before it’s too late.

What Kind of Book is American as Paneer Pie

Topics

Genres

Locations

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Supriya Kelkar Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Supriya Kelkar know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      Wonder
      6.5
      R. J. Palacio
      Way of the Warrior Kid: From Wimpy to Warrior the Navy Seal Way: A Novel
      5.5
      Jocko Willink, Jon Bozak
      Absolutely Almost
      5.3
      Lisa Graff
      Save Me a Seat
      Sarah Weeks
      Recess Rebels (Miranda and Maude #3)
      Emma Wunsch, Jessika von Innerebner
      The Prettiest
      Brigit Young
      Karma Khullar's Mustache
      Kristi Wientge
      About Average
      Andrew Clements, Mark Elliott
      Courage on Ice
      Jake Maddox
      Just Jaime
      Terri Libenson

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781534439382
    Publication Date
    June 9, 2020
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2019015822
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    1534439382
    Lexile® Level
    840L

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 62%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.