Ages 0-2Ages 3-6Ages 7-10Ages 9-12
Ages 9-12

Middle Grade Book Club

Books for kids ages 9-12
4.98
Cart price
$419.28
$323.28
Save $96!
Save up to 50% off retail price of books!

Our middle grade chapter book box comes with two books and is for readers ready for higher word counts, complex stories, and advanced vocabularies. The featured books typically have 300-400 pages, and each box includes an insert that highlights the books and offers discussion ideas.

How It Works

  1. 1.
    Pick a Plan. We offer 12-month, 6-month, 3-month, or monthly options.
  2. 2.
    Receive Monthly Book Deliveries. Our delightful book deliveries make books and reading exciting for your child.
  3. 3.
    Spend More Time Reading. Fresh reading material + more free time for reading = best decision ever.
Get a box
Flexible Delivery Schedule
Cancel Anytime
100% Satisfaction Guarantee

30,000+ Happy Readers!

Girl with chapter books

Absolutely love this subscription idea and attention to detail! The books coming wrapped is such a special touch and my daughter was so excited to open everything up.

Rebecca
Mom reading to two girls

The most important part of any children’s book of the month club type program is GOOD BOOKS. And I think Bookroo does a phenomenal job choosing interesting titles.

Janssen
Grandma reading to girl and baby boy

This is a fantastic book service, and the books are quality. Customer service is friendly, and delivery time is quick. Love it!

Dee

Why Choose Bookroo to Send You Books

500,000+
books delivered (and counting!)
20,000+
children’s books in our platform
$$$
Up to 50% less than retail
4.98 avg. rating on Reviews.io

How We Select
Children’s Books

Most people are only familiar with a small number of children’s books—classics from their own childhoods or a few top sellers. While these titles can be terrific, they’re also a very limited part of the wonderful universe of children’s books.

We wanted to find and send books beyond this small handful, so we created the world’s largest platform dedicated entirely to children’s books to discover amazing books by talented authors and illustrators that will become treasured favorites. We call these books our “hidden gems,” and we help families fill their bookcases with them.

Through our platform, we have access to thousands and thousands of children’s books. We combine this broad reach with in-depth reviews, ratings, and feedback from parents, kids, educators, and experts with decades of experience to finalize each month’s book selections.

Here are a few of our favorite books from past boxes to help you have confidence in our book curation and get a feel for the types of books you can expect to receive in your monthly deliveries.

Middle Grade Books We've Sent

For kids ages 9-12
Dragonfell
Dragonfell
Written by Sarah Prineas
  • middle grade Book

Fly with the dragons in this stunning fantasy from Sarah Prineas, author of the acclaimed Magic Thief series! Rafi Bywater is unlike anyone else. The people in his village don’t trust him because he spends too much time in an abandoned dragon lair. When a stranger, Mister Flitch, accuses Rafi of being “dragon-touched,” Rafi sets off to discover the truth about dragons—and about himself. On his journey, Rafi befriends a brilliant scientist, Maud, who has secrets of her own. Together they search for dragons while escaping from a dangerous dragon hunter, engaging in a steam-engine car chase, and figuring out what Mister Flitch really wants with Rafi. And, oh yes, they do find the dragons. Sarah Prineas delivers a sweeping adventure filled with glorious dragons of all kinds!

The Door at the End of the World
The Door at the End of the World
Written by Caroline Carlson
  • middle grade Book

An otherworldly middle grade story perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and Stranger Things from the author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series and the Agatha Award nominee The World’s Greatest Detective. What begins as a rather unremarkable Tuesday quickly turns to disaster when Lucy, the Gatekeeper’s deputy, discovers that her boss has vanished and the door connecting Lucy’s world to the next world over is broken—and it all might be Lucy’s fault. To save the Gatekeeper and set things right, Lucy must break the rules for the first time ever and journey with an otherworldly boy, a suspiciously sneaky girl, and a crew of magical bees into the seven worlds beyond her own. But Lucy isn’t the only one breaking the rules. As dangers gather around her, she learns she’s up against a sinister force that’s playing with the delicate fabric of time and space, no matter what the deadly costs or consequences. Lucy’s never had to save the world before—and now, somehow, she’s got to find a way to save eight of them.

Orange for the Sunsets
Orange for the Sunsets
Written and illustrated by Tina Athaide
  • middle grade Book

From debut author Tina Athaide comes a soaring tale of empathy, hope, and resilience, as two best friends living under Ugandan President Amin’s divisive rule must examine where—and who—they call home. Perfect for fans of Half from the East and Inside Out and Back Again. Asha and her best friend, Yesofu, never cared about the differences between them: Indian. African. Girl. Boy. Short. Tall. But when Idi Amin announces that Indians have ninety days to leave the country, suddenly those differences are the only things that people in Entebbe can see—not the shared after-school samosas or Asha cheering for Yesofu at every cricket game. Determined for her life to stay the same, Asha clings to her world tighter than ever before. But Yesofu is torn, pulled between his friends, his family, and a promise of a better future. Now as neighbors leave and soldiers line the streets, the two friends find that nothing seems sure—not even their friendship. Tensions between Indians and Africans intensify and the deadline to leave is fast approaching. Could the bravest thing of all be to let each other go?

Caterpillar Summer
Caterpillar Summer
Written by Gillian McDunn
  • middle grade Book

Cat and her brother Chicken have always had a very special bond. When Chicken has a “meltdown”, Cat’s the one who scratches his back and reads his favorite story. She’s always knows what he needs. Since their mom has had to work double-hard to keep their family afloat after their father passed away, Cat is the glue holding her family together. When a summer trip doesn’t go as planned, Cat and Chicken end up spending three weeks with grandparents they’ve never met. With their help, Cat can be a kid again for the first time in years, and the journey she takes shows that even the most broken relationships can be healed if people take the time to walk in one another’s shoes. Perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin, this special novel features an unforgettable voice and is brimming with heart.

9-12
Years Old
Middle Grade Chapter Book Club
Get started

Common Questions