The Definitive Guide to

Backhoe Joe

Written by Lori Alexander and illustrated by Craig Cameron
Published by HarperCollins
Goodreads Rating - 3.8 / 5.0
$15.99
List Price
4-8
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's Backhoe Joe About

Publisher Summary

Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night? by Brianna Caplan Sayres, and Kate McMullan will be thrilled by this celebrated and endearing picture book about a young boy with a dream of owning the perfect pet.

When Nolan finds a stray backhoe in the street, he can’t wait to adopt it. But this backhoe is not very well behaved. As Nolan tries to train his new pet truck, he learns that maybe this backhoe already has a home…

This delightful story of a boy and his construction vehicle is brought to life with Craig Cameron’s vibrant illustrations, making this the perfect addition to every young reader’s library.

What Kind of Book is Backhoe Joe

Book Lists That Include Backhoe Joe

Book Topics › construction
Cool Children's Books About Construction
Book Topics › trucks
Toddler Children's Books About Trucks
Book Topics › transportation
Children's Books About Transportation
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Backhoe Joe

author
Lori Alexander

Lori Alexander is the author of picture books BACKHOE JOE (Harper, 2014) and FAMOUSLY PHOEBE (Sterling, 2017) as well as the FUTURE BABY board book series (Scholastic, 2019). She also writes non-fiction for older readers. ALL IN A DROP, a chapter book biography of scientist Antony van Leuwenhoek releases in fall 2019 from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, followed by A SPORTING CHANCE, a biography of Ludwig Guttmann, the founder of the Paralympic Games, in 2020, also from HMH. Visit her at lorialexanderbooks.com and follow her on Twitter @LoriJAlexander.

View Author

Who Illustrated Backhoe Joe

What Has Lori Alexander Said About Backhoe Joe

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lori know that you want more details about Backhoe Joe! Try tweeting Lori on twitter (@lorijalexander).

What Has Craig Cameron Said About Backhoe Joe

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Craig know that you want more details about Backhoe Joe!

More Books From These Creatives

Future Engineer book
Lori Alexander, Allison Black
Board book

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Backhoe Joe

Baby's First Bank Heist book
Jim Whalley, Stephen Collins
Picture book
6.5
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep book
Eric Barclay
Picture book
6.1
Charlotte and the Rock book
Stephen W. Martin, Samantha Cotterill
Picture book
5.9
If I Had a Gryphon book
Vikki VanSickle, Cale Atkinson
Picture book
5.8
Antoinette book
Kelly DiPucchio, Christian Robinson
Picture book
5.8
Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site book
Sherri Duskey Rinker, Tom Lichtenheld
Picture book
5.8
Sparky! book
Jenny Offill, Chris Appelhans
Picture book
5.8

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0062250159
ISBN 13:
9780062250155
Publication Date:
September 16, 2014

Suggested Links