The Definitive Guide to

Backhoe Joe

Written by Lori Alexander & illustrated by Craig Cameron
Published by HarperCollins
Goodreads Rating - 3.8 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 31
$15.99
Retail Price
$13.59
Bookshop
$15.99
used $15.99
Amazon
Sep 16, 2014
Publication Date
40
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What's Backhoe Joe About

Publisher Summary

Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night? by Brianna Caplan Sayres, and Kate McMullan will be thrilled by this celebrated and endearing picture book about a young boy with a dream of owning the perfect pet.

When Nolan finds a stray backhoe in the street, he can’t wait to adopt it. But this backhoe is not very well behaved. As Nolan tries to train his new pet truck, he learns that maybe this backhoe already has a home…

This delightful story of a boy and his construction vehicle is brought to life with Craig Cameron’s vibrant illustrations, making this the perfect addition to every young reader’s library.

What Kind of Book is Backhoe Joe

Book Lists That Include Backhoe Joe

Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Backhoe Joe

author
Lori Alexander

Lori Alexander is the author of picture books BACKHOE JOE (Harper, 2014) and FAMOUSLY PHOEBE (Sterling, 2017) as well as the FUTURE BABY board book series (Scholastic, 2019). She also writes non-fiction for older readers. ALL IN A DROP, a chapter book biography of scientist Antony van Leuwenhoek releases in fall 2019 from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, followed by A SPORTING CHANCE, a biography of Ludwig Guttmann, the founder of the Paralympic Games, in 2020, also from HMH. Visit her at lorialexanderbooks.com and follow her on Twitter @LoriJAlexander.

View Author

Who Illustrated Backhoe Joe

illustrator
Craig Cameron

<p>Craig Cameron is from Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland. Over the last decade, Craig has worked on many exciting projects with book publishers in both the UK and US and has created illustrations for licensed characters, magazines, greeting cards, and product packaging. He currently lives in Manchester, UK, with his wife, Annette, and their three children, Ellie, Lewis, and . . . Joe!</p>

View Illustrator

What Has Lori Alexander Said About Backhoe Joe

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lori know that you want more details about Backhoe Joe! Try tweeting Lori on twitter (@lorijalexander).

What Has Craig Cameron Said About Backhoe Joe

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Craig know that you want more details about Backhoe Joe!

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Backhoe Joe

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062250155
Publication Date:
September 16, 2014
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2013037269
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062250159
Lexile® Level:
AD500L
ATOS® Book Level:
2.4
Accelerated Reader® Points:
0.5
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
182011
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.