The Definitive Guide to

Catch the Sky: Playful Poems on the Air We Share

Written by Robert Heidbreder & illustrated by Emily Dove
Published by Greystone Kids
1234567
5.08 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 3.7 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Apr 22
$17.95
Retail Price
$15.26
Bookshop
$16.29
used $5.91
Amazon
Sep 29, 2020
Publication Date
40
Pages
3-8
Target Age

What Does Bookroo Think of This Book

“Approachable poems and illustrations will inspire young poets.”

This collection of poems focuses on the sky, from the “rosy, red arms” of sunrise that “caress the sky,” to the “pulsing hues” of the northern lights that “charge the nights.” As the day progresses, the poems also seamlessly transition through seasons, settings, and activities, celebrating myriad elements of the sky. Tall sunflower plants and fireworks fill summer skies. Palm trees and clouds adorn blue tropic skies. Lightning flashes in stormy skies. Helicopters and hot air balloons rise, while snow “flows down” and “buries towns deep . . . in silent sleep.” The poems are brief—almost all consist of four short lines with an ABCB rhyming pattern—making it a particularly user friendly introduction to poetry for young readers. But even in the brevity Heidbreder’s love of poetry is easy to see, with thoughtful lines, unique rhymes, and emotion in each poem. Dove’s simple, digital illustrations are two page spreads that tie together the separate poems on each page in a connected setting and context. For example, on pages with poems about kites and balloons, Dove’s urban skyline setting provides a shared background for both. These relatable, realistic settings and depictions further support the collection’s approachability.

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

In the vein of Jack Prelutsky and Dennis Lee comes a celebration of the sky with thirty zippy poems that will lift your spirits and let your imagination soar.

Award-winning children’s poet Robert Heidbreder captures the magic and beauty of all the things kids around the world observe when looking up, from birds and balloons to snow and shooting stars. These pocket-sized poems are perfect for sharing the natural world, and the bright, joyful images by Emily Dove depict the delight of children from all cultures, cheering and connecting with the sky we all share.

What Kind of Book is Catch the Sky: Playful Poems on the Air We Share

Where Does This Book Stand Out

Rhyme Time

The “Rhyme Time” badge is awarded to books with exceptional poetry.

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Mom of Boys
Mom of three little boys who love books about dragons, whangdoodles and magic.
1234567
5.0 / 7.0
The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
4.75 / 7.0
The Goodfather
Favorite pastime? Reading with my kids. Just finished Nana Cracks the Case!
1234567
5.5 / 7.0

Beautiful tribute to the sky and could really spark an interest in poetry in a young reader.

Book Lists That Include Catch the Sky: Playful Poems on the Air We Share

Book Topics › the sky
Children's Books About The Sky
Book Topics › rhyming
Children's Books About Rhyming
Book Topics › imagination and play
Children's Books About Imagination And Play
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Catch the Sky: Playful Poems on the Air We Share

Who Illustrated Catch the Sky: Playful Poems on the Air We Share

illustrator
Emily Dove

Emily Dove is an illustrator and author who lives in Cleveland, Ohio, where the winding rivers and fall foliage never cease to inspire her. As a certified naturalist, she uses illustration as a tool to educate and inspire others about the natural world. About her debut picture book <i>Wendell the Narwhal</i>, <i>Kirkus Reviews</i> said “children will find a lot to like in little Wendell.” She also illustrated <i>Spencer and Vincent, the Jellyfish Brothers</i> by Tony Johnston.

View Illustrator

What Has Robert Heidbreder Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Robert know that you want more details about Catch the Sky: Playful Poems on the Air We Share!

What Has Emily Dove Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Emily know that you want more details about Catch the Sky: Playful Poems on the Air We Share!

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Catch the Sky: Playful Poems on the Air We Share

Book Details

ISBN:
9781771646314
Publication Date:
September 29, 2020
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1771646314

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 55%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 21%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.