City Under the City
City Under the City
4.0/5
Goodreads

City Under the City

Written and illustrated by Dan Yaccarino
Hardcover
$18.99
$17.97
4 - 8
Reading age
68
Page count
GN510L
Lexile measure
Nov 15, 2022
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

From acclaimed author-illustrator Dan Yaccarino comes an exhilarating adventure–set in a richly imagined alternate future–celebrating autonomy, community, and the power of reading, perfect for fans of The Rock From the Sky. Bix lives with her family in a city where people rarely talk or play together, and no longer read books. Instead, they stare at small portable screens, monitored by giant eyeballs. The Eyes are here to help! With everything. But Bix would like to do things for herself. Running from an Eye, she discovers another world: the City Under the City. There, she befriends a rat who leads her to a library and its treasure trove of books and knowledge. As she explores the abandoned city, she’s thrilled to learn about the people who lived there, with no Eyes. But she misses her family, and decides to head home, where, just maybe, she can help defeat the intrusive Eyes–and show her people how to think for themselves and enjoy each other’s company. Told through Dan Yaccarino’s stunning graphic style, this page-turning picture book/early reader crossover will spark a new appreciation of reading, books, independence, friendship, and family.

What Kind of Book is City Under the City

Topics

lonelinessreadingself-reliancebooks and librariesartificial intelligence

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Dan Yaccarino Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Dan Yaccarino know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books by Dan Yaccarino

      picture • 40 Pages
      Giant Tess
      5.5
      Dan Yaccarino
      board • 24 Pages
      Boy and Bot
      5.3
      Ame Dyckman, Dan Yaccarino
      picture • 40 Pages
      The Fantastic Undersea Life of Jacques Cousteau
      Dan Yaccarino
      picture • 16 Pages
      Five Little Pumpkins
      Public Domain, Dan Yaccarino
      picture • 40 Pages
      The Longest Storm
      Dan Yaccarino
      picture • 32 Pages
      Every Friday
      Dan Yaccarino
      picture • 32 Pages
      Smashy Town
      4.9
      Andrea Zimmerman, David Clemesha, Dan Yaccarino
      picture • 32 Pages
      Firefighter Flo!
      Andrea Zimmerman, Dan Yaccarino
      picture • 32 Pages
      An Octopus Followed Me Home
      Dan Yaccarino
      picture • 40 Pages
      Morris Mole
      4.7
      Dan Yaccarino
      board • 16 Pages
      Five Little Chicks
      4.6
      Dan Yaccarino
      picture • 32 Pages
      Trashy Town
      4.5
      Andrea Zimmerman, Dan Yaccarino, David Clemesha
      View more

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      picture • 64 Pages
      Spidey and His Amazing Friends Team Spidey Does It All!
      Graphic Nov.
      Disney Storybook Art Team
      chapter • 64 Pages
      Planetary-Yum
      #1 in Series
      Graphic Nov.
      Drew Brockington
      chapter • 64 Pages
      Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea
      5.8
      #1 in Series
      Graphic Nov.
      Ben Clanton
      picture • 72 Pages
      Green Eggs and Ham
      Dr. Seuss
      picture • 64 Pages
      Mouse Tales
      Arnold Lobel
      chapter • 63 Pages
      Little Bear
      Else Holmelund Minarik, Maurice Sendak
      chapter • 64 Pages
      Owl at Home
      Arnold Lobel
      picture • 64 Pages
      The Fire Cat
       
      chapter • 64 Pages
      Zack's Alligator
      Shirley Mozelle, James Watts
      picture • 64 Pages
      Poppleton
      Cynthia Rylant, Mark Teague

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781662650895
    Publication Date
    November 15, 2022
    Publisher
    Mineditionus
    Page Count
    68
    Reading Age
    4 - 8 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2021922647
    Lexile® Level
    GN510L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~N
    Est. ATOS® Book Level
    ~3.4

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 45%

    Still needs the basics.

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @elainethelibrarian
    5

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo