Mariana and Her Familia
Mariana and Her Familia
4.5/7
Bookroo
4.4/5
Goodreads

Mariana and Her Familia

Written by Mónica Mancillas & illustrated by Erika Meza
Hardcover
$17.99
$16.97
4 - 8
Reading age
32
Page count
Oct 4, 2022
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A heartwarming picture book about a young girl on her first trip to visit family in Mexico, who learns there is no language barrier when it comes to love–from debut author Mónica Mancillas and rising star illustrator Erika Meza. Perfect for fans of Where Are You From? and Mango, Abuela, and Me.Mariana is visiting her abuelita and extended family in Mexico for the first time. Her tummy does a flip as she and Mami cross the frontera.There are all new sights, smells, and sounds. And at Abuelita’s house, Mariana is overwhelmed by new faces and Spanish phrases she doesn’t understand.But with a story, some kindness, and a few new words from Abuelita, Mariana discovers that the love of family knows no cultural divide.

What Kind of Book is Mariana and Her Familia

Topics

culturefeelings and emotionsgrandmagrandparentsimmigration and emigrationMexicofamilyplaces and regionssocial themesmultigenerational

Genres

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creatives Behind the Book

What Has Erika Meza Said About This Book

Nothing yet! Let Erika Meza know that you want to hear from them about their book.

What Has Mónica Mancillas Said About This Book

Nothing yet! Let Mónica Mancillas know that you want to hear from them about their book.

More Books From These Creatives

    picture • 32 Pages
    Balloons for Papa: A Story of Hope and Empathy
    Elizabeth Gilbert Bedia, Erika Meza
    picture • 40 Pages
    My Two Border Towns
    David Bowles, Erika Meza
    picture • 32 Pages
    Salsa Lullaby
    5.1
    Jen Arena, Erika Meza
    picture • 32 Pages
    Pumpkin Day!
    Series
    Candice Ransom, Erika Meza
    picture • 32 Pages
    Snow Day!
    Candice Ransom, Erika Meza
    picture • 40 Pages
    The Mystery of the Monarchs
    Barb Rosenstock, Erika Meza
    picture • 32 Pages
    Tío Time
    Erika Meza
    picture • 32 Pages
    Sandy Weekend
    Erika Meza
    picture • 32 Pages
    Big Rain
    Erika Meza
    picture • 32 Pages
    Yummy Mistake
    Erika Meza
    View more

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    chapter • 32 Pages
    My Diary from Here to There / Mi Diario de Aqui Hasta Allá
    Maya Christina González, Amada Irma Pérez
    picture • 38 Pages
    A Gift from Abuela
    Cecilia Ruiz
    picture • 36 Pages
    Just a Minute: A Trickster Tale and Counting Book
    5.6
    Nancy Luenn, Robert Chapman, Yuyi Morales
    picture • 32 Pages
    From North to South / del Norte Al Sur
    Joe Cepeda
    picture • 32 Pages
    Bird House
    Blanca Gomez
    picture • 32 Pages
    Bella's Recipe for Success
    Geraldine Rodriguez, Ana Siqueira
    picture • 32 Pages
    Thunder Cake
    5.7
    Patricia Polacco
    picture • 32 Pages
    Mango Moon
    Diane De Anda, Sue Cornelison
    picture • 32 Pages
    Ten Beautiful Things
    Molly Beth Griffin, Maribel Lechuga
    picture • 32 Pages
    Joy
    Corrinne Averiss, Isabelle Follath

Book Details

ISBN
9780062962461
Publication Date
October 4, 2022
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Page Count
32
Audience
Picture
Reading Age
4 - 8 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2021939621

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 40%

Still needs the basics.

Depth Score - 15%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@elainethelibrarian
5

Bookroo

Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo