The Definitive Guide to

Over the Moon

Written by James Proimos & illustrated by Zoey Abbott
Published by Chronicle Books
1234567
4.33 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.4 / 5.0
$17.99
List Price
3-5
Target Age
44
Pages
Picture
Book Type
Add to list

What Does Bookroo Think of Over the Moon

“A little too odd to fully enjoy, yet somewhat humorous and refreshing.”

As a baby girl floats down a river in a basket, two wolves spot her and agree it’s best to save her, take her home, and raise her as their own (though one wolf was hoping to eat her, the other said they would nourish and teach her). One day, the girl spots other human children for the first time, sitting outside reading books. When she tells her wolf parents, they let her go to join the other kids at school, though the story ends with the reassurance that she’ll returns home at the end of each day. This existential story is lined with philosophic commentary through the different wolf parents—one thinking about right and wrong, the other thinking about dinner. With elements reminiscent of The Jungle Book and the Bible’s story of Moses, the refreshing oddity of Proimos’ tale veers to an unpredictable ending with the theme of growing up and going to school while successfully exhibiting the overarching thematic primal fears of children growing up and leaving their parents. Abbot’s illustrations are colorful and appealing, though somewhat simple, and wonderfully convey the child’s personality through her facial expressions. The distinguishing factor of humor and peculiarity are also what leave the book wanting, making it an interesting read that’s a little too unusual to become a favorite.

What's Over the Moon About

Publisher Summary

This sweet-natured bedtime book proves that a family is wherever you find love.

When two wolves see a baby floating down a river, what do they do? Why, they take the baby home. Over the moon with joy, they nourish and teach her. And when that baby grows into a child, she and the wolves know that she will be ready to make her way in the world. Because when a child is loved, she has everything she needs.

• A classic fairy-tale premise told with warmth and an inclusive sensibility for all types of families to enjoy • A touching read-aloud books for families, caregivers, and classroom storytime • James Proimos has written and/or illustrated over 20 critically lauded children’s books.

This gently humorous story shows that families come in many forms, and that love is about both holding on and letting go.

Fans of Finn’s Feather, Wild, and Wolfie the Bunnie will find Over the Moon a delightful tale for all ages.

What Kind of Book is Over the Moon

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following is a list of concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Potty Humor: One of the illustrations contains potty humor of the wolves teaching the child how to go to the bathroom against a tree by putting one leg up.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

Quotes from Over the Moon

  • “Suddenly, the ground feels like a river, / and the current takes her to a building.”
  • “When the first wolf says, ‘I love you, child,’ / and the second wolf says, / ‘I must admit you make a better girl / than you / would have made a meal,’ / the girl is happy.”

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • The girl ends up going to school by the end of the book. What part of school do you think she was most excited about? What are you most excited about when you get to start school, or what is your favorite part of school if you already attend?

  • This story shows that family means love, even if your family doesn’t look like everyone elses’. Why do you love your family?

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
4.25 / 7.0
Mom of Boys
Mom of three little boys who love books about dragons, whangdoodles and magic.
1234567
4.5 / 7.0
B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
4.25 / 7.0

Book Lists That Include Over the Moon

Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Over the Moon

author
James Proimos

James Proimos has yet to rescue a small human from a river, but he has written and illustrated many books for them. James splits his time between Los Angeles and Middleburg, Virginia.

View Author

Who Illustrated Over the Moon

illustrator
Zoey Abbott

Zoey Abbott lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband and kids. Her first two books, Finn’s Feather by Rachel Noble (Enchanted Lion Books) and Twindergarten by Nikki Ehrlich (Harper Collins) will publish in 2017. Zoey loves telling stories and making things with her hands. Visit her at www.zoeyink.com.

View Illustrator

What Has James Proimos Said About Over the Moon

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let James know that you want more details about Over the Moon!

What Has Zoey Abbott Said About Over the Moon

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Zoey know that you want more details about Over the Moon!

James Proimos's Book Dedication

To the river that brought me here

Zoey Abbott's Book Dedication

For my parents, all four of them. And for my wolf mothers Kuniko, Masako & Shihan

What Do Critics Say About Over the Moon

  • “In addition to being beautiful, the pictures are often hilarious: One spread shows the girl and one of the wolves lifting their legs next to trees in the forest, a goofy image sure to make children and adults laugh. The text is stark and lyrical, and Proimos is particularly adept at using poetic devices like repetition to make the words sing.”

    Read the full review

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Over the Moon

Book Details

ISBN:
9781452177151
Publication Date:
March 10, 2020
Text Details:
The illustrations in this book were rendered in gauche, colored pencil, and ink.
Illustration Details:
Typeset in Mr Eaves Modern, Prater Block, and Bizzle-Chizzle
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1452177155

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 55%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 34%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.