The Definitive Guide to

Over the Moon

Written by James Proimos and illustrated by Zoey Abbott
Published by Chronicle Books
$17.99
List Price
3-5
Target Age
44
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's Over the Moon About

Publisher Summary

This sweet-natured bedtime book proves that a family is wherever you find love.

When two wolves see a baby floating down a river, what do they do? Why, they take the baby home. Over the moon with joy, they nourish and teach her. And when that baby grows into a child, she and the wolves know that she will be ready to make her way in the world. Because when a child is loved, she has everything she needs.

• A classic fairy-tale premise told with warmth and an inclusive sensibility for all types of families to enjoy • A touching read-aloud books for families, caregivers, and classroom storytime • James Proimos has written and/or illustrated over 20 critically lauded children’s books.

This gently humorous story shows that families come in many forms, and that love is about both holding on and letting go.

Fans of Finn’s Feather, Wild, and Wolfie the Bunnie will find Over the Moon a delightful tale for all ages.

What Kind of Book is Over the Moon

Book Lists That Include Over the Moon

Book Lists › belonging
Children's Books About Belonging
Book Lists › growing up
Children's Books About Growing Up

Who Wrote Over the Moon

author
James Proimos

James Proimos has yet to rescue a small human from a river, but he has written and illustrated many books for them. James splits his time between Los Angeles and Middleburg, Virginia.

View Author

Who Illustrated Over the Moon

illustrator
Zoey Abbott

Coming soon!

View Illustrator

What Has James Proimos Said About Over the Moon

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let James Proimos know that we want more details from them about Over the Moon!

What Has Zoey Abbott Said About Over the Moon

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Zoey Abbott know that we want more details from them about Over the Moon!

James Proimos's Book Dedication

To the river that brought me here

Zoey Abbott's Book Dedication

For my parents, all four of them. And for my wolf mothers Kuniko, Masako & Shihan

More Books From These Creatives

death · bereavement · siblings · loneliness · coping with death
Finn's Feather

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Over the Moon

Little Elliot, Big Family book
6.3
mice · elephants · family · belonging
Little Elliot, Big Family
The Rag Coat book
6.1
bullying · friendship · love · family
The Rag Coat
The Clown of God book
6.0
talents · homelessness · belonging · Christmas
The Clown of God
The Remember Balloons book
6.0
dementia and Alzheimer's · sharing · grandpa · family · death
The Remember Balloons
Three Little Words book
6.0
Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · love · valentines · family · feelings and emotions · friendship
Three Little Words
The Wonderful Things You Will Be book
5.9
following your dreams · Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · bravery · innovation · growing up
The Wonderful Things You Will Be
I Heart You book
5.8
love · trying new things · parenting · family · valentines · holidays
I Heart You
Famously Phoebe book
5.8
family · babies · sisters · new sibling · friendship · belonging · love · sharing · new babies · siblings · being different · being famous
Famously Phoebe

Book Details

ISBN 10:
1452177155
ISBN 13:
9781452177151
Publication Date:
March 10, 2020
Text Details:
The illustrations in this book were rendered in gauche, colored pencil, and ink.
Illustration Details:
Typeset in Mr Eaves Modern, Prater Block, and Bizzle-Chizzle