Rain Boy
Rain Boy
3.2/5
Goodreads

Rain Boy

Written by Dylan Glynn
Hardcover
$16.99
$15.80
3 - 5
Reading age
40
Page count
11
Words per page
570L
Lexile measure
Apr 21, 2020
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's Rain Boy About

Publisher Summary

A heartfelt picture book about differences, acceptance, and loving yourself for who you are. Wherever he goes, Rain Boy brings wet–which means he’s not very popular. Sun Kidd brings sunshine everywhere she goes, so everyone loves her. Only Sun Kidd sees what’s special about Rain Boy. But when she invites him to her birthday party, disaster strikes, and Rain Boy storms. Now the world is nothing but rain. Will the other kids ever love Rain Boy for being himself? And. more importantly, can Rain Boy learn to love his rain? Debut author and illustrator Dylan Glynn’s colorful and evocative illustrations color this story with all the emotions of the rainbow in this universal story of reaching out to those who look different from you, making new friends, and learning to love yourself. - Important lessons on acceptance, bullying, self-reliance and empathy told in a beautifully illustrated, accessible story- A great read-aloud book for families of children struggling to fit in and find their self-confidence- Perfect book for educators, caregivers, and librarians to help with lessons on bullying, kindness, LGBQT themes, and friendship Fans of One, The Big Umbrella, and Be Kind will find Rain Boy’s striking artwork and positive message an important addition to their bookshelf. - Read-aloud books for kids age 3-5- #ownvoices- Kindness books for kids Dylan Glynn studied animation at Sheridan College in Oakville, Ontario, and La Poudrière in Valence, France. Dylan’s work has been recognized by and exhibited in Society of Illustrators, American Illustration, Somerset House, and the Canadian Screen Awards. He is based in Toronto.

What Kind of Book is Rain Boy

Topics

Genres

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include Rain Boy

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Dylan Glynn Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Dylan Glynn know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books by Dylan Glynn

      picture • 40 Pages
      Be Amazing: A History of Pride
      Desmond Napoles, Dylan Glynn
      View more

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Rain Boy

      picture • 32 Pages
      Brown Sugar Babe
      picture • 32 Pages
      Honeysmoke: A Story of Finding Your Color
      Monique Fields, Yesenia Moises
      picture • 32 Pages
      Extraordinary Ordinary Ella
      Luciana Navarro Powell
      picture • 40 Pages
      Cuckoo!
      5.3
      Fiona Roberton
      picture • 40 Pages
      Mostly Monsterly
      Tammi Sauer, Scott Magoon
      picture • 40 Pages
      Unstinky
      Andy Rash
      picture • 32 Pages
      Cyril and Pat
      4.5
      Emily Gravett
      picture • 48 Pages
      Nothing Rhymes with Orange
      3.0
      Adam Rex
      picture • 40 Pages
      Les & Ronnie Step Out
      5.5
      Andrew Kolb
      picture • 32 Pages
      You're All Kinds of Wonderful
      5.4
      Nancy Tillman

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781452172804
    Publication Date
    April 21, 2020
    Publisher
    Chronicle Books
    Page Count
    40
    Words Per Page
    11.175
    Audience
    Picture
    Reading Age
    3 - 5 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2019008756
    Lexile® Level
    570L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~O
    ATOS® Book Level
    2.5
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    0.5
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    508722
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    LG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 90%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo