The Definitive Guide to

Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

Written by Mireille Messier and illustrated by Kass Reich
Published by Tundra Books
$17.99
List Price
4-8
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A delightful tale inspired by the true story of a brave goat war hero. Perfect for fans of Finding Winnie and Rescue and Jessica.

During World War I, a goat named Billy was adopted by a platoon of soldiers and made his way across the ocean to be part of the war effort.

Billy . . . • Trained with the soldiers • Was smuggled across the ocean • Got snuck into the frontlines in a box of oranges • Ate some secret documents and was arrested for treason • Got trench foot • Head-butted soldiers into a trench and saved them from a shell • Came back home a decorated war hero

This charming true story follows Sergeant Billy from his small prairie town to the trenches of World War I and back, through harrowing moments, sad moments, moments of camaraderie and moments of celebration. This unforgettable goat and the platoon that loved him will capture your heart!

What Kind of Book is Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

Categories:
based on a true story
Themes:
war

Book Lists That Include Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

Book Lists › war
Children's Books About War
Book Lists › based on a true story
Children's Books About Based On A True Story
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

Who Illustrated Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

illustrator
Kass Reich

Kass Reich was born in Montreal Canada. She works as an artist and educator and has spent a majority of the last decade traveling and living abroad. Kass graduated with a degree in Art Education from Concordia University then picked up and moved to Beijing where she worked as an early childhood educator for nearly three years. Working with the little ones inspired her to start making picture books for very young learners. After Beijing she lived in Hong Kong, London England and Melbourne Australia. She now finds herself back in Canada but this time in Toronto.

View Illustrator

What Has Mireille Messier Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Mireille Messier know that we want more details from them about Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War!

What Has Kass Reich Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kass Reich know that we want more details from them about Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War!

More Books From These Creatives

This Little Hamster book
6.1
animals · colors
This Little Hamster
Hamsters Holding Hands book
5.0
numbers · counting
Hamsters Holding Hands
explorers · siblings
Treasure
chapter book
Megabat

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

Trombone Shorty book
6.5
Coretta Scott King Award Winners · music
Trombone Shorty
The House That Jane Built book
6.0
female role models · activism · community helpers · community · building things · home
The House That Jane Built
Ida, Always book
5.9
bears · bereavement · coping with death · death · losing · the zoo
Ida, Always
Thank You, Mr. Falker book
5.9
disabilities · teachers · bullying
Thank You, Mr. Falker
Freedom Bird: A Tale of Hope and Courage book
5.6
freedom · birds · civil rights movement · war
Freedom Bird: A Tale of Hope and Courage
Winnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-Pooh book
5.5
bears · inspired by classic literature
Winnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-Pooh
The Day War Came book
5.5
refugees · war · losing · bravery
The Day War Came
Cloth Lullaby book
5.5
artists · art · female role models · moms
Cloth Lullaby

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0735264422
ISBN 13:
9780735264427
Publication Date:
September 17, 2019