The Definitive Guide to

Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

Written by Mireille Messier & illustrated by Kass Reich
Published by Tundra Books
Goodreads Rating - 4.3 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 25
$17.99
Retail Price
$15.29
Bookshop
$12.79
used $12.78
Amazon
Sep 17, 2019
Publication Date
40
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A delightful tale inspired by the true story of a brave goat war hero. Perfect for fans of Finding Winnie and Rescue and Jessica.

During World War I, a goat named Billy was adopted by a platoon of soldiers and made his way across the ocean to be part of the war effort.

Billy . . . • Trained with the soldiers • Was smuggled across the ocean • Got snuck into the frontlines in a box of oranges • Ate some secret documents and was arrested for treason • Got trench foot • Head-butted soldiers into a trench and saved them from a shell • Came back home a decorated war hero

This charming true story follows Sergeant Billy from his small prairie town to the trenches of World War I and back, through harrowing moments, sad moments, moments of camaraderie and moments of celebration. This unforgettable goat and the platoon that loved him will capture your heart!

What Kind of Book is Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

Book Lists That Include Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

Book Topics › nonfiction
Children's Books About Nonfiction
Book Topics › goats
Children's Books About Goats
Book Topics › World War I
Children's Books about World War I
Book Topics › based on a true story
Children's Books About Based On A True Story
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

author
Mireille Messier

<strong>Mireille Messier</strong> is a Montreal-born, Ottawa-raised and now Toronto-based award-winning children’s writer with a background in broadcasting and theater. Before becoming an author, Mireille worked as a television and radio host, a scriptwriter, a book reviewer and a voice actress. Sometimes she still does those things. Mireille has published over twenty books, some in French, others in English, for children of all ages. <i>The Branch</i> was nominated for Shining Willow, Blue Spruce and Governor General’s Awards. Mireille lives in Toronto with her husband, two wonderful daughters, three fluffy cats and over a hundred goldfish.

View Author

Who Illustrated Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

illustrator
Kass Reich

Kass Reich was born in Montreal Canada. She works as an artist and educator and has spent a majority of the last decade traveling and living abroad. Kass graduated with a degree in Art Education from Concordia University then picked up and moved to Beijing where she worked as an early childhood educator for nearly three years. Working with the little ones inspired her to start making picture books for very young learners. After Beijing she lived in Hong Kong, London England and Melbourne Australia. She now finds herself back in Canada but this time in Toronto.

View Illustrator

What Has Mireille Messier Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Mireille know that you want more details about Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War!

What Has Kass Reich Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kass know that you want more details about Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War!

More Books From These Creatives

Linda Bailey, Kass Reich
Picture book
Add to list
Anna Humphrey, Kass Reich
Chapter book
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Sergeant Billy: The True Story of the Goat Who Went to War

Book Details

ISBN:
9780735264427
Publication Date:
September 17, 2019
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0735264422

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 51%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.