Book Series

Jake Brigance Books

In order from A Time to Kill to A Time for Mercy
A Time to Kill
Sycamore Row
A Time for Mercy
A Time to Kill
Sycamore Row
chapter • 496 Pages
A Time to Kill
#1 in Series
Book #1

A Time to Kill

Written by John Grisham
Page count
Words per page
Nov 1, 1993
Publication date


John Grisham has become, in less than three years, America’s most popular author. While The Firm first put him on bestseller lists across the country, and The Pelican Brief and The Client confirmed his status as the master of the legal thriller, it was A Time to Kill that launched his writing career. Originally published in a small print-run in 1989, and for years unavailable in hardcover, Doubleday is proud to publish a new trade hardcover edition of this gripping courtroom drama. Near the rural town of Clanton, Mississippi, little Tonya Hailey is brutally raped, beaten, and left for dead by two drunken and remorseless men. The rapists are almost immediately caught in a road side bar, where they have been bragging of their exploits. When the men appear in court days later, Tonya’s father Carl bursts out of the courthouse basement, and executes them with an assault rifle. Murder or executions? Justice or revenge? Carl trusts his life to only one man in town - local criminal lawyer Jake Brigance, who dreams of famous cases, headlines, and the big time. Jake is about to face the fight of his life, and he knows it. Not only is he up against Rufus Buckley - a tough, ambitious district attorney who realizes that a murder conviction could help him gain higher office - but he has a much bigger problem: the rapists are white, the judge is white - and Carl is black. This is a trial sure to change forever the lives of everyone involved. A Time to Kill is a riveting novel that challenges everything we think we know about justice and equality.

Primary Tags

deathviolencelaw and legislationrace relations

Jake Brigance Series

Published from 1993 - 2020
3 books
chapter • 496 Pages
A Time to Kill
chapter • 464 Pages
Sycamore Row
#2 in Series
chapter • 480 Pages
A Time for Mercy
#3 in Series
19931A Time to Kill496
20132Sycamore Row464
20203A Time for Mercy480

The Creative Behind the Books

Similar Series

    The Lincoln Lawyer
    Mickey Haller
    Angela's Ashes
    Frank McCourt
    The Good Earth
    House of Earth
    Divine Secrets of the YA-YA Sisterhood
    Ya Yas
    The Name of the Wind
    The Kingkiller Chronicle
    All Creatures Great and Small
    All Creatures Great and Small
    Lonesome Dove
    Lonesome Dove
    Fall of Giants
    The Century Trilogy


Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo