Ramona Quimby Books

In order from Beezus and Ramona to Ramona's World

Beezus and Ramona
Ramona the Pest
Ramona the Brave
Ramona and Her Father
Ramona and Her Mother

Ramona Quimby Books in Order (8 books)

Year#TitleIllustratorPages
20131Beezus and RamonaJacqueline Rogers208
19682Ramona the PestJacqueline RogersLouis Darling192
19753Ramona the BraveJacqueline Rogers192
19774Ramona and Her FatherJacqueline Rogers208
19795Ramona and Her MotherJacqueline Rogers224
19816Ramona Quimby, Age 8Jacqueline Rogers208
19847Ramona ForeverAlan Tiegreen208
20138Ramona's WorldJacqueline Rogers208

The Creatives Behind the Books

Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Learn More
As low as $15.95 / month
Beezus and Ramona
Beezus and Ramona
Written by Beverly Cleary & illustrated by Jacqueline Rogers

Ramona Quimby is the youngest of all the famous characters in Mrs. Cleary’s wonderful Henry Huggins stories. She is also far and away the most deadly. Readers of the earlier books will remember that Ramona has always been a menace to Beezus, her older sister, to Henry, and to his dog Ribsy. It is not that Ramona deliberately sets out to make trouble for other people. She simply has more imagination than is healthy for any one person. In this book Ramona and her imagination really come into their own. Starting with a fairly mild encounter with the librarian, which is harder on Beezus than anyone else, Ramona goes from strength to strength, winding up by inviting her entire kindergarten class to a part at her home without mentioning it to her mother. The riot that ensues is probably the most hilarious episode in this extremely funny book, which proves that Mrs. Cleary’s imagination is almost as lively as Ramona’s.

Ramona is off to kindergarten, and it’s the greatest day of her life. So why is she sitting on the bench while the rest of the students play the game gray duck? Laughs and minor upsets abound in an enormously popular story starring the one and only Ramona Quimby!

Newbery Medal–winning author Beverly Cleary lovingly chronicles the ups and downs of elementary school woes. This is perfect for fans of Clementine. For a girl as enthusiastic about life as Ramona, starting the first grade should be easy! But with a teacher who doesn’t understand her, a tattletale classmate, and a scary dog who follows her on the walk home from school, Ramona has a hard time acting like the big girl everyone expects her to be. But when she shows up to school with a missing shoe, Ramona gets a fresh grip on her courage in order to make it through a mortifying situation.

Beverly Cleary’s Newbery Honor Book depicts an average middle-class family dealing with the realities of life. With the perfect mix of humor and warmth, Ramona Quimby shines as a spirited girl with her heart set on helping. Seven-year-old Ramona world is turned upside-down when her father unexpectedly loses his job. Things grow tense in the Quimby house, but Ramona resolves to help in any way she can—even downsizing her Christmas list. But with bills piling up and her parents constantly stressed, Ramona wonders if life will ever go back to normal.

Beverly Cleary has given books to each member of the Quimby household except Mrs. Quimby. Now she gets her turn at last in a story that hits the high and low points of a working mother’s life as seen from Ramona’s seven-and-a-half-year-old viewpoint. Inevitably domestic tensions, not without their amusing side, occasionally arise. Mr. and Mrs. Quimby sometimes forget who is to do what, as when the Crock-Pot is not plugged in and dinner remains uncooked. Beezus acquires a ludicrous teased hairdo at the student body shop while Ramona gets a becoming pixie haircut. Ramona, who feels unloved, takes to twitching her nose like a rabbit in a cozy picture book until her teacher becomes concerned that something is making her nervous. Yet Ramona is wrong. She is loved, and readers will rejoice with her when she discovers the wonderful truth. Few writers today are as skilled as Mrs. Cleary at showing families in the round, and here she is at the peak of her powers.

Ramona likes that she’s old enough to be counted on, but must everything depend on her? Mrs. Quimby has gone back to work so that Mr. Quimby can return to school, and Ramona is expected to be good for Mrs. Kemp while her parents are away, to be brave enough to ride the school bus by herself, and to put up with being teased by Danny the Yard Ape. In Ramona’s world, being eight isn’t easy, but it’s never dull!

Ramona Forever
Written by Beverly Cleary & illustrated by Alan Tiegreen

Newbery Medal winner Beverly Cleary continues to amuse readers with her wonderful, blunderful Ramona Quimby! Life can move pretty fast—especially when you’re in the third grade, your teenage sister’s moods drive you crazy, and your mom has a suspicious secret she just won’t share. Plus, Mr. Quimby’s new job offer could have the entire family relocating. It’s a lot to handle for Ramona. But whatever trial comes her way, Ramona can count on one thing for sure—she’ll always be Ramona…forever!

Newbery Medal–winning author Beverly Cleary’s final book in the Ramona series has all of the warmth, realism, and humor of its predecessors. Ramona Quimby can’t wait to start fourth grade. With a new baby sister to brag about, new calluses to show off, and a new best friend to get to know, everything’s going to be great! Or is it? When Ramona’s spelling is atrocious, her teacher, Mrs. Meacham, is firm about her needing to improve. Then a scary incident at a friend’s house leaves Ramona feeling at fault. Who knew growing up could be filled with such complicated situations?