Shine!
Shine!
5.5/7
Bookroo
4.2/5
Goodreads

Shine!

Written by Chris Grabenstein
Hardcover
$16.99
$15.80
8 - 12
Reading age
224
Page count
650L
Lexile measure
Nov 5, 2019
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's Shine! About

Publisher Summary

Inspirational, commonsensical, and a whole lot of fun. –James Patterson Everyone deserves to shine in this sparkling new book from the New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, Chris Grabenstein, and coauthor J.J. Grabenstein–just right for fans of Word of Mouse and The Fourteenth Goldfish. Who do you want to be? asks Mr. Van Deusen. And not when you grow up. Right here, right now. Shine on! might be the catchphrase of twelve-year-old Piper’s hero–astronaut, astronomer, and television host Nellie Dumont Frisse–but Piper knows the truth: some people are born to shine, and she’s just not one of them. That fact has never been clearer than now, since her dad’s new job has landed them both at Chumley Prep, a posh private school where everyone seems to be the best at something and where Piper definitely doesn’t fit in. Bursting with humor, heart, science, possibilities, and big questions, Shine! is a story about finding your place in the universe–a story about figuring out who you are and who you want to be.

What Kind of Book is Shine!

Topics

Genres

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following are concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

Reviews

Book Lists That Include Shine!

The Creative Behind the Book

What Has Chris Grabenstein Said About This Book

Nothing yet! Let Chris Grabenstein know that you want to hear from them about their book.

More Books by Chris Grabenstein

    chapter • 336 Pages
    Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library
    6.3
    #1 in Series
    Chris Grabenstein
    chapter • 336 Pages
    House of Robots
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein, Juliana Neufeld
    chapter • 304 Pages
    The Smartest Kid in the Universe
    Chris Grabenstein
    chapter • 240 Pages
    Jacky Ha-Ha: A Graphic Novel
    Graphic Nov.
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein
    chapter • 352 Pages
    The Genius Experiment
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein
    chapter • 336 Pages
    The Plunder Down Under
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein, Juliana Neufeld
    chapter • 336 Pages
    Katt vs. Dogg
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein
    chapter • 320 Pages
    I Funny: A Middle School Story
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein, Laura Park
    chapter • 384 Pages
    Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
    Chris Grabenstein, Stuart Gibbs, Lamar Giles, Bruce Hale, Peter Lerangis, Kate Milford, Tyler Whitesides
    chapter • 304 Pages
    Laugh Out Loud
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein, Jeffrey Ebbeler
    chapter • 320 Pages
    Word of Mouse
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein, Joe Sutphin
    chapter • 304 Pages
    Home Sweet Motel
    Chris Grabenstein
    View more

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Shine!

    chapter • 256 Pages
    Squint
    Graphic Nov.
    chapter • 192 Pages
    From Wimpy to Warrior the Navy Seal Way
    5.5
    #1 in Series
    Jocko Willink, Jon Bozak
    chapter • 240 Pages
    Nat Enough
    #1 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
    chapter • 208 Pages
    The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade
    chapter • 192 Pages
    Invisible Emmie
    #1 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
    Terri Libenson
    chapter • 240 Pages
    One Kid's Trash
    Jamie Sumner
    chapter • 240 Pages
    Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom
    Graphic Nov.
    chapter • 256 Pages
    New Kid
    5.8
    #1 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
    Jerry Craft
    chapter • 256 Pages
    Restart
    Gordon Korman
    chapter • 256 Pages
    Ban This Book
    Alan Gratz

Book Details

ISBN
9781524717667
Publication Date
November 5, 2019
Publisher
Random House Books for Young Readers
Page Count
224
Audience
Middle Grade
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2017022751
Lexile® Level
650L
Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
~P
Est. ATOS® Book Level
~4.2

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 80%

This page is starting to look fantastic!

Depth Score - 21%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@bisforbookworm
5

Bookroo

Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo