The Definitive Guide to

The Best Man

Written by Richard Peck
Published by Puffin Books
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 29
$8.99
Retail Price
$7.64
Bookshop
$8.49
used $1.99
Amazon
Sep 5, 2017
Publication Date
256
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's The Best Man About

Publisher Summary

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn’t see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he’s the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there’s a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

What Kind of Book is The Best Man

Book Lists That Include The Best Man

Book Topics › marriage
Children's Books About Marriage
Book Topics › role models
Children's Books About Role Models
Book Topics › Boston Globe-Horn Book Award
Children's Books About Boston Globe-horn Book Award
Book Topics › family life
Children's Books About Family Life
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Best Man

author
Richard Peck

RICHARD PECK (1934-2018) was born in Decatur, Illinois and lived in New York City for nearly 50 years. The acclaimed author of 35 novels for children and young adults, he won the Newbery Medal for<i> A Year Down Yonder</i>, a Newbery Honor for <i>A Long Way from Chicago</i>, the Scott O’Dell Award for <i>The River Between Us</i>, the Edgar Allen Poe Award for <i>Are You in the House Alone?</i>, a <i>Boston Globe-Horn Book</i>Award Honor for <i>The Best Man</i>, and the Christopher Medal for <i>The Teacher’s Funeral</i>. He was the first children’s author ever to have been awarded a National Humanities Medal, and was twice a National Book Award Finalist.

View Author

What Has Richard Peck Said About The Best Man

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Richard know that you want more details about The Best Man!

Did The Best Man Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books by Richard Peck

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Best Man

Book Details

ISBN:
9780147515797
Publication Date:
September 5, 2017
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0147515793

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 55%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.
Top Contributors
#1
@thegoodfather
5