The Definitive Guide to

The Best Man

Written by Richard Peck
Published by Puffin Books
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$8.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
256
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's The Best Man About

Publisher Summary

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn’t see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he’s the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there’s a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

What Kind of Book is The Best Man

Book Lists That Include The Best Man

Book Lists › Boston Globe-Horn Book Award
Children's Books About Boston Globe-horn Book Award

Who Wrote The Best Man

author
Richard Peck

Coming soon!

View Author

What Has Richard Peck Said About The Best Man

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Richard Peck know that we want more details from them about The Best Man!

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Best Man

Josephine book
5.5
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award · Coretta Scott King Award Winners · diversity · war · World War 2 · dance · history · civil rights movement · historical figures
Josephine
A Different Pond book
5.0
culture · Boston Globe-Horn Book Award · immigration · feelings and emotions · family
A Different Pond
Dreamers book
5.0
reading · libraries · immigration · diversity · Boston Globe-Horn Book Award
Dreamers
Wolf in the Snow book
4.5
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award · snow · wolves · friendship · imagination
Wolf in the Snow
It's Only Stanley book
4.5
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award · dogs · sleep · bedtime
It's Only Stanley
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award · community · Native Americans · vocabulary
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga
They Say Blue book
4.3
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award · seasons · colors
They Say Blue

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0147515793
ISBN 13:
9780147515797
Publication Date:
September 5, 2017