The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams
The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams
Goodreads3.7 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams

Written by Jenny Lundquist
Published by Aladdin Books
Prices as of Oct 24

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

In the tradition of Wishtree and You May Already Be a Winner, this hopeful middle grade novel tells the story of three former friends who must come together at their annual town carnival to heal and reconnect after a tragedy. The small town of Clarkville has seen better days. Ever since the Cohen factory burned down a few years ago, jobs are scarce and unemployment is high. But each year for one night the Carnival of Wishes and Dreams comes to town and everyone gets to indulge in a little wonder and delight. And for three girls who each receive notes asking them to meet the anonymous sender at midnight at the Ferris Wheel, it’s an evening that promises to be truly magical. Audrey McKinley can’t believe someone would ask her to ride the Ferris Wheel. Everyone in town knows she’s afraid of heights; the last time she rode the Ferris Wheel it ended with her having a panic attack. But ever since her dad lost his job after the Cohen factory burned down he’s been working too little. The carnival gives him a chance for some seasonal work, and she plans to spend the evening checking up on him and making sure he does his job. Maybe she’ll face her fears tonight, after all. Grace Chang isn’t supposed to go to the carnival. It’s too close to the burned remains of the old Cohen factory—the place where her firefighter father lost his life. And they always rode the Ferris Wheel together, so that’s also something Grace isn’t supposed to do. But since her mom just announced they’ll be moving away from Clarkville the day after the carnival, Grace is sick of only doing things she’s supposed to do. She’ll be at the carnival. And she is definitely riding that Ferris Wheel. Harlow Cohen is surprised anyone would want to ride the Ferris Wheel with her. Harlow used to be popular. But ever since her grandparents’ old factory burned down and so many people lost their jobs, many of the kids at school blame her—and her rich family—for their own parents’ worsening economic situations. Harlow can never resist a dare, but when a note arrives asking her to meet an anonymous person at the Ferris Wheel at midnight, she’s far from certain it will be a friend waiting for her. Can these three girls put their differences aside long enough for their wishes to come true? And is it possible to save a friendship that once seemed lost for good?

What Kind of Book is The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Jenny Lundquist Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Jenny Lundquist know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      Hundred Percent
      Goodbye Stranger
      Rebecca Stead
      Karma Khullar's Mustache
      Kristi Wientge
      Judy Moody, Mood Martian
      Megan McDonald, Peter H. Reynolds
      Room 555
      Cristy Watson
      Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
      Kashmira Sheth, Jenn Kocsmiersky
      Out of Bounds
      Andrea Montalbano
      If I Were You
      Leslie Margolis
      Judy Moody and the Bad Luck Charm
      Megan McDonald, Peter H. Reynolds
      Anne of Green Gables
      6.5
      L.M. Montgomery

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781534416925
    Publication Date
    February 12, 2019
    Page Count
    304
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2018015961
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    1534416927
    Lexile® Level
    750L

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 59%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.