The Definitive Guide to

The Dreamway

Published by HarperCollins
Goodreads Rating - 3.7 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
304
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's The Dreamway About

Publisher Summary

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Papademetriou delivers her most fantastical, emotional story yet in this tale of a young girl’s journey into her dreams to save her brother from the darkness that surrounds him. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time, The Phantom Tollbooth, and Echo. Every night, your sleeping body stays in your bed, while the you of you travels deep beneath the earth to ride the complex rails of the Dreamway…. Stella Clay thought it was just another ordinary day at her drab gray school. Then her twin brother, Cole, is attacked by a shadowy creature on their way home, and Stella’s world turns positively peculiar. Suddenly, her brother seems different, almost dimmer, like a candle about to flicker out. And then a talking mouse shows up in her bedroom. Stella discovers that the real Cole has been taken prisoner in the Dreamway. Determined to find him, she sets out with the “help” of a stuck-up rodent, a nervous dragonfly, and a mysterious pirate, and finds her way to the darkest edge of the Dreamway to bring her brother home…before he’s trapped forever. In this allegorical exploration of childhood depression, with a moving author note that follows, Lisa Papademetriou gently and safely illustrates for her readers the emotional effects of anger, anxiety, and insecurity—and illuminates a pathway to hope and recovery.

What Kind of Book is The Dreamway

Book Lists That Include The Dreamway

Book Lists › mental illness
Children's Books About Mental Illness
Book Lists › rescue
Children's Books About Rescue
Book Lists › adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Dreamway

author
Lisa Papademetriou

Lisa Papademetriou spends most of her time in the Dreamway, even when she’s awake. She is the author of Apartment 1986 and A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic and lives in Massachusetts with her family.

View Author

What Has Lisa Papademetriou Said About The Dreamway

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lisa Papademetriou know that we want more details from them about The Dreamway!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Dreamway

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix book
6.9
adventure · wizards · magic · brothers · twins
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Appleblossom the Possum book
6.8
animals · teamwork · dance · trying new things · problem solving · baby animals · siblings · rescue
Appleblossom the Possum
Always Neverland book
6.5
family history · adventure · stars
Always Neverland
Stuart Little book
6.5
animals · friendship · sleuthing · New York · mice · adventure
Stuart Little
Ruby Holler book
6.0
trees · nature · twins
Ruby Holler
Half Upon a Time book
6.0
family history · adventure
Half Upon a Time
The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles book
5.9
teamwork · facing fears · imagination · flowers · adventure · courage · family · siblings · perseverance
The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles
The Best Bear in All the World book
5.8
seasons · friendship · stuffed animal friends · bears · choosing cheeriness · happiness · adventure
The Best Bear in All the World

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0062371118
ISBN 13:
9780062371119
Publication Date:
October 30, 2018