Discover

Company
The Dreamway Book
The Dreamway Book
A BookrooView of

The Dreamway

Written by Lisa Papademetriou

Published by HarperCollins

Publisher's Summary

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Papademetriou delivers her most fantastical, emotional story yet in this tale of a young girl’s journey into her dreams to save her brother from the darkness that surrounds him. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time, The Phantom Tollbooth, and Echo. Every night, your sleeping body stays in your bed, while the you of you travels deep beneath the earth to ride the complex rails of the Dreamway.... Stella Clay thought it was just another ordinary day at her drab gray school. Then her twin brother, Cole, is attacked by a shadowy creature on their way home, and Stella’s world turns positively peculiar. Suddenly, her brother seems different, almost dimmer, like a candle about to flicker out. And then a talking mouse shows up in her bedroom. Stella discovers that the real Cole has been taken prisoner in the Dreamway. Determined to find him, she sets out with the “help” of a stuck-up rodent, a nervous dragonfly, and a mysterious pirate, and finds her way to the darkest edge of the Dreamway to bring her brother home…before he's trapped forever. In this allegorical exploration of childhood depression, with a moving author note that follows, Lisa Papademetriou gently and safely illustrates for her readers the emotional effects of anger, anxiety, and insecurity—and illuminates a pathway to hope and recovery.

Topics in The Dreamway

Details

  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Pages: 304
  • Book Type: chapter
  • Publication Date: October 30, 2018
  • ISBN: 0062371118
  • ISBN 13: 9780062371119
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More
BOOKROOVIEWERS

Looks like we don't have any reviews for The Dreamway yet!

author
Lisa Papademetriou

Lisa Papademetriou spends most of her time in the Dreamway, even when she’s awake. She is the author of Apartment 1986 and A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic and lives in Massachusetts with her family.

View Author
Lisa Papademetriou

More books like The Dreamway

This Little Explorer book
6.9
Age 2 · explorers · biography · Best Children's Books by Age · travel · adventure · female role models · journeys · Native Americans · diversity
This Little Explorer
Wolf Won't Bite book
6.0
2019 Picture Book Summer Reading List · fractured fairy tales · adventure · wolves · pigs
Wolf Won't Bite
Giddy Up, Li'l Buckaroos book
5.5
cowboys and cowgirls · farm · adventure
Giddy Up, Li'l Buckaroos
Russell and the Lost Treasure book
5.5
sleuthing · detectives · opposites · adventure
Russell and the Lost Treasure
Ahoy, Li'l Buccaneers! book
5.5
boats · pirates · rhyming · adventure
Ahoy, Li'l Buccaneers!
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland book
5.3
adventure · imagination · inspired by classic literature
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Lit for Little Hands: Peter Pan book
5.3
adventure · imagination · inspired by classic literature
Lit for Little Hands: Peter Pan
My Pet Penguins book
5.0
pets · penguins · adventure
My Pet Penguins

More books from these creatives

mental illness · rescue · adventure · twins · dreams
The Dreamway