The Train of Lost Things
The Train of Lost Things
Bookroo5.3 / 7Goodreads4.0 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

The Train of Lost Things

Written by Ammi-Joan Paquette
Published by Philomel Books
Prices as of Aug 2

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A magical story about a boy’s love for his dying father and his journey to the mythic Train of Lost Things, where beloved lost objects are rescued and protected until they can be returned. Perfect for fans of The Phantom Tollbooth, The Bridge to Terabithia, and Lost in the Sun. Marty cherishes the extra-special birthday present his dad gave him – a jean jacket on which he’s afixed numerous buttons – because it’s a tie to his father, who is sick and doesn’t have much time left. So when his jacket goes missing, Marty is devastated. When his dad tells him the story of the Train of Lost Things, a magical train that flies through the air collecting objects lost by kids, Marty is sure that the train must be real, and that if he can just find the train and get his jacket back, he can make his dad better as well. It turns out that the train is real – and it’s gone out of control! Instead of just collecting things that have been accidentally lost, the train has been stealing things. Along with Dina and Star, the girls he meets aboard the train, Marty needs to figure out what’s going on and help set it right. As he searches for his jacket, and for a way to fix the train, Marty begins to wonder whether he’s looking for the right things after all. And he realizes that sometimes you need to escape reality in order to let it sink in. In this achingly beautiful adventure, it is the power of memories, and the love between a father and son, that ultimately save the day. Praise for The Train of Lost Things “Paquette writes with compassion and a childlike sense of belief, and Marty’s journey–both personal and fantastic–will speak to readers on many levels.” –Booklist “Marty’s inner dialogue will appeal to readers of Gordon Korman, Jeff Kinney, and Dav Pilkey.” –School Library Journal “Marty’s pain at the imminent loss of his father is keenly felt, and Paquette deftly balances the emotional weight of his fear and grief with his fantasy journey on a train flying through the universe.” –Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books “Kids everywhere can relate to the sorrow of losing a cherished item, giving this narrated adventure story a wide appeal [and] readers will connect with the unconditional love and hope that exists between parent and child.” –School Library Connection

What Kind of Book is The Train of Lost Things

Topics

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • Marty’s father has cancer and is dying, which adds a level of sadness and heartache to this meaningful story. How does this aspect help you have more empathy for Marty and other friends or family members who have lost loved ones?
  • Marty collects buttons for his jacket that represent fun times he and his father have. If you had a similar jacket to put buttons on, what might your buttons be and what memories would they represent?

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creative Behind the Book

What Has Ammi-Joan Paquette Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Ammi-Joan Paquette know that you want to hear from them about their book.

Where did Dina's mom send her and Dina's father to live?
  1. A
    With Dina's uncle
  2. B
    With Dina's grandma
  3. C
    With Dina's aunt
Take the book quiz!

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    The Girl and the Witch's Garden
    Erin Bowman
    Upside-Down Cake
    The Land of Yesterday
    K. A. Reynolds
    The Silver Arrow
    6.3
    Lev Grossman
    It's the End of the World as I Know It
    6.0
    Matthew Landis
    Beginners Welcome
    5.0
    Cindy Baldwin
    Race to the Bottom of the Sea
    Lindsay Eagar
    The Garden of Eve
    K. L. Going
    The Key to Every Thing
    Pat Schmatz
    The Girl with More Than One Heart
    Laura Geringer Bass

Book Details

ISBN
9781524739393
Publication Date
March 20, 2018
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2017014969
ASIN/ISBN 10
1524739391
Lexile® Level
670L

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 62%

More than halfway there—keep going!

Depth Score - 25%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@booksnobmom
10
02
@bisforbookworm
10