The Definitive Guide to

The Whole Hole Story

Written by Vivian McInerny & illustrated by Ken Lamug
Published by Versify
1234567
4.92 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
$17.99
List Price
4-7
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type
Add to list

What Does Bookroo Think of This Book

“An endless amount of fun and imagination, all stemming from a girl with a hole in her pocket.”

Imagination is the name of the game in this playful story about a girl named Zia who has a hole in her pocket. The hole gets bigger and bigger with the use of her visionary skills, until she falls right through! Zia’s thoughts are entertainingly employed to guide her journey—she isn’t afraid of falling through the giant hole because “this was only an imaginary hole, so it could only be as scary as she allowed.” As she explores what she can do with a hole, Zia turns the hole into a variety of different things, from a fishing hole to a drain at the bottom of a watering hole. There’s no shortage of adventure as Zia uses the hole to travel to India and later to create an ice skating rink. Eventually she climbs a tree and notices the hole looks a whole lot smaller from that height, “so small, in fact . . . Zia thought she could fit the whole thing in her pocket.” While devoting two pages to trapping Zia underneath the hole felt a bit lowbrow compared to the rest of the book’s ingenuity, McInerny skillfully packs her author debut full of wonder and creativity, circling back to the initial hole in Zia’s pocket for a polished conclusion. Lamug’s illustrations playfully portray the whimsical nature of the story with a fun use of color and detail that fit superbly with the story’s wonderful sense of possibility.

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

In Vivian McInerny’s playful debut, readers will fall in love with wonder again as Zia imagines what might happen if the hole in her pocket became big enough to fall right through. The Whole Hole Story is perfect for readers looking for a fresh take on the classic Harold and the Purple Crayon.

Zia is used to the hole in her pocket—she frequently fills it with frogs and other objects. And as it gets bigger and bigger, she starts to wonder what might happen . . . if she fell right through. Would she cover it with a blanket to catch an elephant, or dig a tunnel to the other side of the world? The possibilities are endless, and readers will love following Zia’s adventurous imagination from beginning to end.

With hilarious wordplay paired with Ken Lamug’s bright and colorful illustrations, The Whole Hole Story will appeal to kids’ divine sense of silliness. Perfect for fans of Du Iz Tak?, and They All Saw a Cat.

What Kind of Book is The Whole Hole Story

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Goodfather
Favorite pastime? Reading with my kids. Just finished Nana Cracks the Case!
1234567
5.0 / 7.0

Loved the creativity of Zia’s adventures and the designs of the animals she encounters.

B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
5.25 / 7.0

I love the word play and fantastic imagination contained in this roundabout story. Less of a story and more of a tagging along to Vivian’s imaginative play, this is an entertaining and cute read allowing for some chuckles from puns and enjoyment of the random ideas.

The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
4.5 / 7.0

Book Lists That Include The Whole Hole Story

Book Topics › diversity
Children's Books About Diversity
Book Topics › funny and humorous
Hilarious Children's Books Filled With Humor
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Whole Hole Story

Who Illustrated The Whole Hole Story

illustrator
Ken Lamug

Ken Lamug made comics and books from scraps of used copy paper as a boy. He returned to his creative roots as an adult and has been having loads of fun making books and comics for all ages. He lives in Nevada.

View Illustrator

What Has Vivian McInerny Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Vivian know that you want more details about The Whole Hole Story! Try tweeting Vivian on twitter (@VivianMac) or messaging Vivian on instagram (@VivianMac).

What Has Ken Lamug Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Ken know that you want more details about The Whole Hole Story! Try tweeting Ken on twitter (@rabbleboy) or messaging Ken on instagram (@rabbleboy).

Vivian McInerny's Book Dedication

To tellers of stories, which is not the same as fibbers. But close.

Ken Lamug's Book Dedication

To Keichi, Nikko, and Ian. Dream big, imagine endlessly, and create with conviction.

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Whole Hole Story

Book Details

ISBN:
9780358128816
Publication Date:
January 12, 2021
Text Details:
The text was set in Brandon Grotesque.
Illustration Details:
The art for this book was created with imagination, pencil, paper, and some computer magic.
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2019042923
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0358128811

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.