The Definitive Guide to

Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

Written and illustrated by Lina Maslo
Published by Balzer + Bray
1234567
4.38
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 5.0 / 5.0
$17.99
List Price
4-8
Target Age
48
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A lyrical nonfiction picture book about the inspired life of C. S. Lewis, the beloved author of the Chronicles of Narnia—from Free as a Bird author-illustrator Lina Maslo. Perfect for fans of The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown and Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White.

As a child, Clive Staples Lewis imagined many things . . .

heroic animals

and knights in armor

and a faraway land called Boxen.

He even thought of a new name for himself—at four years old, he decided he was more of a Jack.

As he grew up, though, Jack found that the real world was not as just as the one in his imagination. No magic could heal the sick or stop a war, and a bully’s words could pierce as sharply as a sword. So Jack withdrew into books and eventually became a well-known author for adults.

But he never forgot the epic tales of his boyhood, and one day a young girl’s question about an old family wardrobe inspired him to write a children’s story about a world hidden beyond its fur coats . . . a world of fauns and queens and a lion named Aslan. A world of battles between good and evil, where people learned courage and love and forgiveness.

A magical realm called Narnia.

And the books he would write about this kingdom would change his life and that of children the world over.

What Kind of Book is Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

Categories:
fantasy
Themes:
writing

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Book Snob Mom
Mom, Avid Reader, Austen Fangirl
1234567
4.5

As a major fan of C.S. Lewis, I loved reading this child-accessible and child-friendly look at his life that encourages reading and imagination, although I felt that neither the telling nor the illustration had a magical quality to it.

Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
1234567
4.25

I’m all for learning about authors’ experiences and the stories behind the stories we read, and this book does a nice job of exploring the life and motivations of C.S. Lewis. It’s a little wordy for a picture book, and would definitely be most interesting to kids who are old enough to already be acquainted with Narnia. That makse it a pass for me right now (my daughters are 4 and 2), but a good book to keep in mind for some day in the future!

Book Lists That Include Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

Book Topics › fantasy
Children's Books About Fantasy
Book Topics › writing
Children's Books About Writing
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

author & illustrator
Lina Maslo View Author

What Has Lina Maslo Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lina know that you want more details about Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia!

More Books From These Creatives

Free as a Bird book
Lina Maslo
Picture book

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0062798561
ISBN 13:
9780062798565
Publication Date:
May 5, 2020

Suggested Links