The Definitive Guide to

Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

Written & illustrated by Lina Maslo
Published by Balzer + Bray
1234567
4.38 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 5.0 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 24
$17.99
Retail Price
$15.29
Bookshop
$16.49
used $13.86
Amazon
May 5, 2020
Publication Date
48
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A lyrical nonfiction picture book about the inspired life of C. S. Lewis, the beloved author of the Chronicles of Narnia—from Free as a Bird author-illustrator Lina Maslo. Perfect for fans of The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown and Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White.

As a child, Clive Staples Lewis imagined many things . . .

heroic animals

and knights in armor

and a faraway land called Boxen.

He even thought of a new name for himself—at four years old, he decided he was more of a Jack.

As he grew up, though, Jack found that the real world was not as just as the one in his imagination. No magic could heal the sick or stop a war, and a bully’s words could pierce as sharply as a sword. So Jack withdrew into books and eventually became a well-known author for adults.

But he never forgot the epic tales of his boyhood, and one day a young girl’s question about an old family wardrobe inspired him to write a children’s story about a world hidden beyond its fur coats . . . a world of fauns and queens and a lion named Aslan. A world of battles between good and evil, where people learned courage and love and forgiveness.

A magical realm called Narnia.

And the books he would write about this kingdom would change his life and that of children the world over.

What Kind of Book is Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
4.5 / 7.0

As a major fan of C.S. Lewis, I loved reading this child-accessible and child-friendly look at his life that encourages reading and imagination, although I felt that neither the telling nor the illustration had a magical quality to it.

Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
1234567
4.25 / 7.0

I’m all for learning about authors’ experiences and the stories behind the stories we read, and this book does a nice job of exploring the life and motivations of C.S. Lewis. It’s a little wordy for a picture book, and would definitely be most interesting to kids who are old enough to already be acquainted with Narnia. That makse it a pass for me right now (my daughters are 4 and 2), but a good book to keep in mind for some day in the future!

Book Lists That Include Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

Book Topics › fantasy and magic
Children's Books About Fantasy And Magic
Book Topics › writing
Children's Books About Writing
Book Topics › Christian
Christian Children's Children's Books
Book Topics › nonfiction
Children's Books About Nonfiction
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

author & illustrator
Lina Maslo

<strong>Lina Maslo</strong> is the author and illustrator of <em>Free as a Bird: The Story of Malala </em>and <em>Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia</em>. She has a bachelor’s degree in art from New College of Florida and resides in South Carolina with her husband and children. She can be found online at www.linamaslo.com.

View Author

What Has Lina Maslo Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lina know that you want more details about Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia!

More Books by Lina Maslo

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062798565
Publication Date:
May 5, 2020
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062798561

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 51%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.