An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Admitting You Are Wrong: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about admitting you are wrong?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to admitting you are wrong. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about admitting you are wrong.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about admitting you are wrong, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Big Lie to popular sellers like The Poky Little Puppy to some of our favorite hidden gems like That’s Not How You Do It!.

We hope this list of kids books about admitting you are wrong can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Add to list
That's Not How You Do It!
Written & illustrated by Ariane Hofmann-Maniyar
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7
Lucy knows how to do everything. All her friends ask her for help if they need to know the right way to do something. When Toshi arrives, Lucy thinks he can't do anything properly at all. She can barely hide her frustration. When she finally tries to teach Toshi the right way to do things, she learns a very important lesson herself.
Add to list
Chamelia and the New Kid in Class
Written & illustrated by Ethan Long
Thoughts from Lemony Snickers
Chamelia and the New Kid in Class is a cute story about learning to overcome jealousy. Chamelia is alarmed when she loses attention she is used to receiving because of a new student in her class. She learns an important lesson--that putting others down to make herself look better doesn't feel good. It's a valuable and important lesson for children to learn.
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6
Chamelia is a chameleon who loves to stand out in a crowd. She's always the star of the show, especially at school. But when a new kid in class becomes the center of attention, Chamelia feels left out. Can she figure out how to beat her competition? Or will she learn to share the spotlight and make a new best friend? Join the fabulous Chamelia in this funny and charming story about friendship, school, and the true meaning of being a star!
Add to list
Good Job, Athena!
Written by Joan Holub & illustrated by Leslie Patricelli
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-3
After Athena ties Arachne's shoes for her, Arachne takes the credit for Athena's hard work. But when their friends ask Arachne to teach them how to tie their shoes, Arachne must admit the truth. So Athena comes to the rescue and teaches everybody this important skill. All is forgiven, and the girls are friends again. Conceived and crafted by Greek-mythology expert Joan Holub and illustrated by the bestselling Leslie Patricelli, this book also includes a summary of the original Arachne myth.
Add to list
Poppy's Best Paper
Written by Susan Eaddy & illustrated by Rosalinde Bonnet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8
Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams—and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!
Add to list
Grape!
Written by Gabriel Arquilevich
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12
Grape is in trouble again! He punched Miss Roof in the arm! Now he's suspended for two weeks, and Principal Clarkson has threatened to send him to Riverwash, a school for problem kids. But he has one last chance. Grape must spend an hour a day writing about his history of trouble, and there's a lot of trouble to choose from... Grape's best friend Lou is by his side, and even though Grape drives his parents crazy, they're pulling for him all the way. But will Grape make sense of it all? Will it be enough to keep him out of Riverwash?
The Poky Little Puppy book
Add to list
The Octopuppy book
Add to list
Someday is Now book
Add to list
The Big Lie book
Add to list
  • The Poky Little Puppy - Five little puppies dug a hole under the fence and went for a walk in the wide, wide world… . The Poky Little Puppy was one of the original twelve Little Golden Books published in 1942, and went on to become the bestselling picture book of all time. The story of a curious puppy, who digs holes under fences and who has to go to bed without any strawberry shortcake, has delighted families for generations. it is, quite simply, an icon. Delightful to read aloud, The Poky Little Puppy is a cherished story that every child should know.

  • The Octopuppy - Can the OCTOPUPPY be the perfect pet? Edgar wanted a dog. Instead, he got an octopus named Jarvis. Jarvis is brilliant and does his best to act like the dog Edgar wants, but nothing he does is good enough to please Edgar. Ultimately, Edgar recognizes that while Jarvis might not be the dog he wanted, he is special in his own endearing way.

  • Someday is Now - Someday Is Now tells the inspirational story of the celebrated civil rights leader, Clara Luper, who led one of the first lunch-counter sit-ins in America. How will you stand against something you know is wrong? One way is to follow the lessons of bravery taught by civil rights pioneers like Clara Luper. As a child, Clara saw how segregation affected her life. Her journey famously led her to Oklahoma, where she and her students desegregated stores and restaurants that were closed to African-Americans. With courage and conviction, Clara Luper led young people to “do what had to be done.” This moving title includes additional information on Clara Luper’s extraordinary life, her lessons of nonviolent resistance, and a glossary of key civil rights people and terms.

  • The Big Lie - Jake’s new toy plane is missing. No one knows where it is, except Katie Woo. But Katie wants to keep the plane. What should she do?

Add to list
Mini Myths: Be Patient, Pandora!
Written by Joan Holub & illustrated by Leslie Patricelli
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5
When Pandora is warned by her mother not to open a box, her spirited curiosity trumps her obedience. Pandora harmlessly touches the box, innocently leans on the box, and eventually, albeit accidentally, bursts the box open! The cupcakes that were hidden inside are ruined, except for one last vestige, which Pandora presents in the hope that her mother still loves her. Leslie Patricelli’s depictions of this physical comedy bring a lively narrative to Joan Holub’s carefully crafted text. Includes a summary of the original Pandora’s Box myth at the end.
Add to list
Ladybug Girl and the Bug Squad
Written by Jacky Davis & illustrated by David Soman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5
The Bug Squad is back in a story about playing together, problem solving, and saying you’re sorry in this hardcover picture book from the New York Times bestselling Ladybug Girl series. This book was a Jumpstart Read for the Record Book. The Bug Squad – Bumblebee Boy, Dragonfly Girl, and Butterfly Girl – are coming to Lulu’s house for a play date and she know exactly what they are going to do all day. They use their big imaginations to create their own fun games right in Lulu’s backyard. But when some things don’t go just the way Lulu planned, Dragonfly Girl’s feelings get hurt. This is a job for Ladybug Girl! When Lulu is Ladybug Girl, she knows that even if it isn’t easy, it is important to apologize. For fans of Fancy Nancy and Betty Bunny, the Ladybug Girl series honors individuality, friendship, and a love of nature!
Add to list
Terrible, Awful, Horrible Manners!
Written by Beth Bracken & illustrated by Richard Watson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6
Pete is terribly rude, but when his family begins acting just like him, he begins to realize that manners are important.
Add to list
Freddie Ramos Hears It All
Written by Jacqueline Jules & illustrated by Miguel Benitez
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
Freddie Ramos loves his new Zapato Power—super hearing! He can listen in on conversations and find hero jobs. But soon Freddie realizes the temptation to eavesdrop on everyone is too great. Can Freddie find a way to use his super hearing without snooping?
Add to list
Hello, Goodbye, and a Very Little Lie
Written by Christianne C. Jones & illustrated by Christine Battuz
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6
Larry lies about practically everything until he meets a girl who outsmarts him.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links