Alaska: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about Alaska?

Isn’t Alaska an intriguing state? So much wonder and awe in the vastness and extreme latitude. It is the largest state in the United States. It has freezing temperatures, daylight is limited, and northern lights are seen. What amazing things that many of us miss from never having a chance to travel to this place. We hope to take you on a bit of an adventure through the books below!

If You Give a Moose a Muffin book
#1
If You Give a Moose a Muffin
Written by Laura Numeroff and illustrated by Felicia Bond
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5
Thoughts from Mom of Boys

The illustrations in this book are great. The story is a fun version of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie. As I read it, I feel like I am reliving a day with my little boys. One thing after another reminds them of something else fun to do, and eventually they remember what they were wanting in the first place.

If a big hungry moose comes to visit, you might give him a muffin to make him feel at home. If you give him a muffin, he’ll want some jam to go with it. When he’s eaten all your muffins, he’ll want to go to the store to get some more muffin mix. In this hilarious sequel to If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, the young host is again run ragged by a surprise guest. Young readers will delight in the comic complications that follow when a little boy entertains a gregarious moose.

Mama, Do You Love Me? book
#2
Mama, Do You Love Me?
Written by Barbara M. Joosse and illustrated by Barbara Lavallee
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2
Thoughts from The Goodfather

This is a classic tale of the unconditional love of a parent for a child. The illustrations by Barbara Lavallee are unique and memorable, and Barbara M. Joosse’s story introduces readers to authentic aspects of Inuit culture by including details like ptarmigan eggs and mukluks.

This beloved story of a child testing the limits of her independence, and a mother who reassuringly proves that a parents love is unconditional and everlasting is a perfect first book for toddlers.

Polar Bear Night book
#3
Polar Bear Night
Written by Lauren Thompson and illustrated by Stephen Savage
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

After wandering out at night to watch a magical star shower, a polar bear cub returns home to snuggle with her mother in their warm den.

Alaska ABC book
#4
Alaska ABC
Written and illustrated by Shannon Cartwright
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7
Thoughts from B is for Bookworm

An alphabet book all about Alaska, this read has a fun element of alliteration on almost every page. I felt like this made it a little more substantive than just a picture with the letter and one word starting with the letter.

This playful and humorous alphabet book inspires learning the ABCs and introduces young children to Alaskan flora, fauna, and culture. Meet a moose in mukluks, a reindeer in the rain, and salmon snowshoeing!

Togo book
#5
Togo
Written by Kate Klimo and illustrated by Tim Jessell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

“Sled dog Togo—the true hero of the 1925 Serum Run—narrates the story of his life working with musher Leonard Seppala”—

  1. I Would Tuck You in - Perfect for fans of The Runaway Bunny, this children’s bedtime story is filled with baby animals and their mothers: an otter tucks her little one into a kelp forest bed; a family of brown bears snuggle all through the winter; a humpback whale sings a song to soothe her calf. Lovingly illustrated and lyrically written, I Would Tuck You In is written and illustrated by husband-and-wife author and artist team Mitchell Watley and Sarah Asper-Smith.

  2. Sweetest Kulu - “This beautiful bedtime poem, written by acclaimed Inuit throat singer Celina Kalluk, describes the gifts given to a newborn baby by all the animals of the Arctic. Lyrically and tenderly told by a mother speaking to her own little “Kulu,” an Inuktitut term of endearment often bestowed upon babies and young children, this visually stunning book is infused with the traditional Inuit values of love and respect for the land and its animal inhabitants.”—

  3. Good Night Alaska - Good Night Alaska features Anchorage, Mount McKinley, Denali National Park, McNeil River, Kodiak Island, the Iditarod, glaciers, icebergs, polar bears, walruses, caribou, crab fishing, Eskimo culture, hiking, mountain climbing, trains, and more. North to Alaska! This soothing board book explores Alaska’s most scenic and treasured places. Don’t forget your mittens! This book is part of the bestselling Good Night Our World series, which includes hundreds of titles exploring iconic locations and exciting, child-friendly themes.

  4. Gentle Ben - Traces the friendship between a boy and a bear in the rugged Alaskan Territory.

The Year of Miss Agnes book
#10
The Year of Miss Agnes
Written by Kirkpatrick Hill
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A year they’ll never forget Ten-year-old Frederika (Fred for short) doesn’t have much faith that the new teacher in town will last very long. After all, they never do. Most teachers who come to their one-room schoolhouse in remote, Alaska leave at the first smell of fish, claiming that life there is just too hard. But Miss Agnes is different — she doesn’t get frustrated with her students, and she throws away old textbooks and reads Robin Hood instead! For the first time, Fred and her classmates begin to enjoy their lessons and learn to read and write — but will Miss Agnes be like all the rest and leave as quickly as she came?

Sweet Home Alaska book
#11
Sweet Home Alaska
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-10

In 1934, eleven-year-old Trip’s father signs up for President Roosevelt’s Palmer Colony project, uprooting the family from Wisconsin to become pioneers in Alaska, where Terpsichore refuses to let rough conditions and first impressions get in the way of her grand adventure.

Alaska's Three Bears book
#12
Alaska's Three Bears
Written by Shelley Gill and illustrated by Shannon Cartwright
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

The polar bear, the black bear, and the grizzly travel across America’s last wilderness to find perfect homes in a story complemented by bear facts

Balto and the Great Race book
#13
Balto and the Great Race
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Recounts how the sled dog Balto saved Nome, Alaska, in 1925 from a diphtheria epidemic by delivering medicine through a raging snowstorm. Simultaneous.

The Alaska Mother Goose and Other North Country Nursery Rhymes book
#14
The Alaska Mother Goose and Other North Country Nursery Rhymes
Written by Shelley Gill and illustrated by Shannon Cartwright
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A collection of nursery rhymes with a northern flair includes a glossary of facts about each animal mentioned

  1. Berry Magic - When the old women complain about having only dry, tasteless crowberries to use for the fall feast, Anana, a Yupik Eskimo girl, uses a little magic to provide luscious cranberries, blueberries, raspberries, and salmonberries.

  2. A Totem Tale - One night, a totem pole comes to life, but when morning comes and they must rearrange themselves to form the pole, they fight over who gets the top—the place of honor—until they realize that each plays their own special part.

  3. Alaska's Three Pigs - Three pig brothers go to Alaska to build themselves new homes—with familiar results.

  4. Kiana's Iditarod - Kiana, the lead dog on one of the sleds, takes part in the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race.

Julie of the Wolves book
#19
Julie of the Wolves
Written by Jean Craighead George and illustrated by John Schoenherr
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

Lost on the Tundra To her small Eskimo village, she is known as Miyax; to her friend in San Francisco, she is Julie. When the village is no longer safe for her, Miyax runs away. But she soon finds herself lost in the Alaskan wilderness, without food, without even a compass to guide her. Slowly she is accepted by a pack of Arctic wolves, Mid she grows to love them as though they were family. With their help, and drawing on her father’s teachings, Miyax struggles day by clay to survive. But the time comes when she must leave the wilderness and choose between the old ways an(] the new. Which will she choose? For she is Miyax of the Eskimos—but Julie of the Wolves. Faced with the prospect of a disagreeable arranged marriage or a journey acoss the barren Alaskan tundra, 13-year-old Miyax chooses the tundra. She finds herself caught between the traditional Eskimo ways and the modern ways of the whites. Miyax, or Julie as her pen pal Amy calls her, sets out alone to visit Amy in San Francisco, a world far away from Eskimo culture and the frozen land of Alaska. During her long and arduous journey, Miyax comes to appreciate the value of her Eskimo heritage, learns about herself, and wins the friednship of a pack of wolves. After learning the language of the wolves and slowly earning their trust, Julie becomes a member of the pack. Since its first publication, Julie of The Wolves,winner of thr 1973 Newbery Medal, has found its way into the hearts of millions of readers.

Under Alaska's Midnight Sun book
#20
Under Alaska's Midnight Sun
Written by Deb Vanasse and illustrated by Jeremiah Trammell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

On the longest day of the year, a young Alaskan girl stays up late and enjoys the midnight sun.

The Salmon Princess book
#21
The Salmon Princess
Written and illustrated by Mindy Dwyer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Loosely based on “Cinderella,” this story is set in Alaska, the fairy godmother is an eagle, and the hero, the son of a cannery owner, finds his true love through her Sitka slipper, a heavy rubber boot she left at the Silver Salmon Festival.

Raven book
#22
Raven
Written and illustrated by Gerald McDermott
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Raven, the trickster, wants to give people the gift of light. But can he find out where Sky Chief keeps it? And if he does, will he be able to escape without being discovered? His dream seems impossible, but if anyone can find a way to bring light to the world, wise and clever Raven can!

Big-enough Anna book
#23
Big-enough Anna
Written by Ann Dixon and Pam Flowers and illustrated by Bill Farnsworth
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Describes how a small dog became the lead dog as her musher, Pam Flowers, prepared for and made her historic journey alone across the North American Arctic.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!