An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Amusement Parks: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about amusement parks?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to amusement parks. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about amusement parks.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about amusement parks, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Roller Coaster to popular sellers like One Day at Horrorland to some of our favorite hidden gems like B Is for Bulldozer.

We hope this list of kids books about amusement parks can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Add to list
A Ride to Remember: A Civil Rights Story
Written by Sharon Langley and Amy Nathan & illustrated by Floyd Cooper
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
**The true story of how a ride on a carousel made a powerful Civil Rights statement**   _A Ride to Remember_ tells how a community came together—both black and white—to make a change. When Sharon Langley was born in the early 1960s, many amusement parks were segregated, and African-American families were not allowed entry. This book reveals how in the summer of 1963, due to demonstrations and public protests, the Gwynn Oak Amusement Park in Maryland became desegregated and opened to all for the first time. Co-author Sharon Langley was the first African-American child to ride the carousel. This was on the same day of Martin Luther King Jr.’s March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom. Langley’s ride to remember demonstrated the possibilities of King’s dream. This book includes photos of Sharon on the carousel, authors’ notes, a timeline, and a bibliography.
Add to list
Carnival in a Fix
Written by Philip Reeve & illustrated by Sarah McIntyre
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
Funfair Moon, the outer space amusement park where Emily lives, has the highest roller coasters, the most dizzying Tilt-A-Whirls, and the scariest ghost train in the galaxy. Normally, Emily’s heroes Jinks and O’Hare keep it in tip-top shape. But the day the funfair inspector comes, everything goes wrong. Peeploid’s Merry-Go-Round and Fudge Shoppe is spinning out of control, gravity has reversed on the biggest slide, and there are strange little spiny black balls all over the place! Can Emily help fix the carnival before the inspector closes it for good?
Add to list
B Is for Bulldozer
Written by June Sobel & illustrated by Melissa Iwai
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3
Get ready for a ride through the alphabet at a busy construction site. There's a big yellow Bulldozer, a tall shiny Crane, a rusty red Dump truck--and the construction crew is hard at work. But what are they building?
Add to list
Roller Coaster
Written & illustrated by Marla Frazee
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7
Twelve people set aside their fears and ride a roller coaster, including one who has never done so before.
Add to list
Gator
Written & illustrated by Randy Cecil
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7
A carousel alligator goes on a courageous journey to find a place with real alligators--and a wonderful, familiar sound--in this moving and modest story. Full color.
Mr. Ferris and His Wheel book
Add to list
At the Boardwalk book
Add to list
Fun at the Fair book
Add to list
Monster Needs a Party book
Add to list
  • Mr. Ferris and His Wheel - Describes how the engineer George Ferris invented the famous carnival attraction for the renowned 1893 Chicago World’s Fair.

  • At the Boardwalk - From sunrise to sunset, the attractions of a beach boardwalk include popcorn, taffy, arcade games, and a dazzling amusement park.

  • Fun at the Fair - Toddlers will love exploring all the wonders of a day at the fair in this chunky, tactile board book. Little hands will thrill at flipping through the uniquely shaped, die-cut pages that overlap to reveal carousels, trains, rollercoasters and all the other fun-tastic sights and sounds of a bustling fairground. Delightfully petite, with light concept-based text and jubilant illustrations, Fun at the Fair is perfect for hands on play and bedtime reading alike. • The tactile, toylike quality makes Fun at the Fair an irresistible attention-grabber for toddlers. • Decorative and elegantly-designed, this book is ideal for both nursery display and hands-on learning. • Lovers of Scandinavian design will love Ingela Arrhenius’s beautiful, 1950s-inspired art. Fans of City Block, Main Street Magic, and Ingela Arrhenius’s Animals and Pop Up Things that Go! will love Fun at the Fair. • Board books for toddlers • Family read-aloud for ages 0–3 • Baby shower gift/home décor

  • Monster Needs a Party - Disappointed when none of his friends can attend his pirate birthday, Monster cheers up when he goes to a pirate theme park, instead.

Add to list
Little Elliot, Big Fun
Written & illustrated by Mike Curato
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Elliot the little elephant is terrified when his friend Mouse introduces him to the carnival, but Mouse helps him to have fun.
Add to list
Monster Park!
Written & illustrated by Annie Bach
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5
"Monster play. Monster 'YAY!' Monster Park—come on, this way!" Monster's having a fun time at the park—swinging and sliding, swirling and twirling, and riding the whirly-whirl. When it's time to go, though, Monster says "NO!" But all's okay because Monster can return another day. A monstrous-ly enjoyable follow-up to Annie Bach's delightful Monster Party!
Add to list
Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus
Written by Dusti Bowling
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
Aven Green was born without arms--so when her dad takes a job running a dying western theme park in Arizona, she knows she'll become the center of unwanted attention at her new school. But she bonds with Connor, a classmate with his own disability to conquer. Then they discover a room at the park that holds bigger secrets than Aven ever could have imagined. Can Aven face her fears, solve a mystery, and help her friend, too?
Add to list
A Royal Ride
Written by Kristen Fulton & illustrated by Lucy Fleming
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Join Catherine the Great on a fun-filled ride as she schemes to invent the roller coaster in this inventive, STEM-based nonfiction picture book! Empress Catherine the Great, Queen of Russia loved her country, especially the snowy winters. Giant ice slides meant daring drops and thrilling rides for all! But every spring, warm weather melted the snow and the slides. What could Catherine the Great do to ensure fun all year round? With some ingenuity and some royal thinking, Catherine the Great would create her greatest invention!
Add to list
Road Trip with Max and His Mom
Written by Linda Urban & illustrated by Katie Kath
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
Third-grader Max is heading off on a road trip with Mom. With miles to travel, cousins to meet, and a tall roller coaster to ride (maybe), it will be an adventure! But Max always spends weekends with Dad; will Dad be okay if he’s left behind? And will Max be brave enough for all the new explorations ahead of him?
I Am Not Scared book
Add to list
One Day at Horrorland book
Add to list
Bringing Down the Mouse book
Add to list
Tick Tock Terror book
Add to list
  • I Am Not Scared - Two fuzzy friends go to an amusement park. They try to convince each other that there are much scarier things than the roller coaster. Hairy spiders! Aliens! Fried ants! They soon discover that sometimes being scared isn’t as “scary” as they thought. With expressive illustrations and simple text, this giggle-inducing tale about (not) being scared features the endearing characters from the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award­ winner You Are (Not) Small.

  • One Day at Horrorland - Getting lost on their way to Zoo Gardens Theme Park, the Morris family instead finds Horrorland, an amusement park with no crowds, no lines, and heart-stopping rides that go beyond creepy. Original.

  • Bringing Down the Mouse - Charlie Lewis goes on a roller coaster ride of risk, math, and gaming in this middle grade novel that parallels the New York Times bestselling Bringing Down the House, which inspired the movie 21 with Kevin Spacey. Charlie Lewis is a nerd. All he’s ever been good at is math—and he’s really good at math. So good that he’s recruited by a group of kids determined to game the system at the biggest theme park in the world—and win the grand prize. Soon Charlie is caught up in the excitement and thrill of using his math skills for awesomeness…but what’s at stake may be more than he’s willing to risk. How far will Charlie go for a chance at the ultimate reward?

  • Tick Tock Terror - Conor loves to climb. So when the crusty old manager of a thrill ride based on Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Pit and the Pendulum” challenges Conor to scale the ride in the dark of night and hide a package at the top, he foolishly accepts. But it isn’t long before he realizes that he is now involved in something far more dangerous. What is in the package, and what does it have to do with Edgar Allan Poe? And why is the town bully so terrified of the old man? The more Conor learns, the deeper in trouble he gets.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

Suggested Links