Discover

Company

25 Best Kids Books About Balls

Updated Apr. 9, 2019

Aren't balls fun? Whether it is just to bounce around or to play a friendly game or a competitive sport, balls bring happiness to us all. We hope you enjoy this collection of stories about balls and ball games.

Top 10 Balls Books

Hit the Ball Duck book
#1
Hit the Ball Duck
Written and illustrated by Jez Alborough
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When Duck hits the ball into a tree during a friendly game of baseball, he and his animal friends try to work together to get it back.

Ballshark: A Baseball Adventure book
#2
Ballshark: A Baseball Adventure
Written and illustrated by Randy Floyd
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

The BallShark™ Select Baseball Series is a baseball adventure for young players, their families and fans of all ages! Why? Because anyone who has participated in the youth baseball experience knows how it can utterly consume a family.

Players in Pigtails book
#3
Players in Pigtails
Written by Shana Corey and illustrated by Rebecca Gibbon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Katie Casey, a fictional character, helps start the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League, which gave women the opportunity to play professional baseball while America was involved in World War II.

Charlie Plays Ball book
#4
Charlie Plays Ball
Written by Ree Drummond and illustrated by Diane DeGroat
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Thoughts from Mom of Boys

This was a cute story about a farm dog that likes to be a part of each farm activity. He works and then he plays. It was fun to see the different farm and also the different types of ball they'd play as well. Very cute story and fun illustrations.

Charlie the Ranch Dog trades in nap time for game time in this sporty adventure by Ree Drummond—#1 New York Times bestselling author, Food Network star, and The Pioneer Woman herself. With expressive illustrations by Diane deGroat, a new delicious recipe from Ree Drummond, and the hilarious antics of Charlie, this picture book is a slam dunk! Life on the ranch means lots of time outside, either helping out with the cattle or tossing around a ball with the family. From football to soccer to basketball, Charlie’s ready to jump into the game and take his team to victory. But Charlie’s favorite part of sports comes after the winning goal when everyone breaks for a postgame meal. He may be more of a benchwarmer when it comes to athletics, but Charlie will always be the MVP of dinnertime!

Winners Never Quit! book
#5
Winners Never Quit!
Written by Mia Hamm and illustrated by Carol Thompson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Thoughts from The Goodfather

This is an inspiring short story from soccer star Mia Hamm. I think it's always inspiring to learn about how accomplished people learned to overcome opposition. This story, which seems to be autobiographical in nature and based on Mia's own experience, teaches important lessons about being a team member and choosing to enjoy the game no matter the outcome. Any young readers who love balls will love seeing so much activity centered around a soccer ball.

Free Mia Hamm photo inside! Mia loves playing soccer. That is, until she has trouble scoring a goal when her team is about to lose. Before she can lose, she quits. Fed up with her attitude, Mia's brothers and sisters will not let her play with them anymore. Will Mia learn that beinga team player is more important than winning or losing the game? This wonderful and motivating story from America's soccer champion shows kids that: Winners Never Quit!

ABCs of Balls book
#6
ABCs of Balls
Written and illustrated by Nina Snyder
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

"ABCs of Balls," an alphabet book for preschool children, makes learning ABCs fun for sports fans. From baseball to football, the alphabet book scores with both boys and girls with a lively color scheme, as well as photos of animals and sports equipment. "One of my son's first words was 'ball,' and I wrote the book to make learning his ABCs fun for him," said author Nina Snyder. U.S. edition. Do you think the World Cup is a soccer game? Then this is the edition for you! If not, look for "ABCs of Balls: U.K. Edition" with a blue cover.

J Is for Jump Shot book
#7
J Is for Jump Shot
Written by Michael Ulmer and illustrated by Mark Braught
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-10

"From A to Z basketball's history, famous players, and the game's basics such as dribble, pass, and zone are explained using simple rhymes for each letter topic and expository text filled with details"--Provided by publisher.

A Ball for Daisy book
#8
A Ball for Daisy
Written and illustrated by Chris Raschka
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A wordless picture book shows the fun a dog has with her ball, and what happens when it is lost.

Dino-Basketball book
#9
Dino-Basketball
Written by Lisa Wheeler and illustrated by Barry Gott
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Plant-eating dinosaurs face meat-eating dinosaurs in a basketball game at Mastadon Square Garden.

New Kid book
#10
New Kid
Written and illustrated by Tim Green
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

New York Times bestselling author and former NFL defensive end Tim Green delivers another baseball tale that will keep kids on the edge of their seats. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman's Baseball Card Adventure series. Tommy's the new kid in town, like he's been so many times before. Now he goes by the name Brock, and he's having a hard time fitting in, especially when his new friend is the bully from the wrong side of the tracks. Thanks to a prank gone wrong, the baseball coach notices Brock and offers him a place on his failing baseball team. But can Brock prove himself on and off the field before he becomes a new kid…again?

Table of Contents
  1. Top 10 Balls Books
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More